Walmart Employee Reviews

Found 132,387 reviews matching the search See all 153,375 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a great productive place to work.
Stocker/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Raeford, NCSeptember 21, 2018
Management in the store I worked at needs to fully reevaluated. I've never worked for a company in which you'll get retaliated against just for calling home office. They will write you up or find some reason to fire you. I feel as though if you have to do that then you know you're wrong somewhere
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work
Walmart Stocker (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCSeptember 21, 2018
But the management wont hitting on nothing they aint know what they was doing half the time but it was a great job to have much to do at Wal-Mart they have doing alot if they like you and know u gone work hard.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not terrible
Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Stillwater, OKSeptember 21, 2018
Pay and benefits are great and quick advancement opportunities. Poor policies and not a look of room for understanding when it comes to caring for your family.
Pros
Freedom, breaks, opportunity
Cons
Management, delegation, policies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walmart is to stressful
deli /bakery (Former Employee) –  Post Falls, IDSeptember 21, 2018
To much stress schedule hard on me and to many mixed hours. Managers purposely added more occurances than I actually took the workers stand around and play on their phones while I do all the work and managers are never helping and managers always take off and take 2 and 3 hour breaks managers make workers come in when they are sick and work with food also workers sexually harass women and managers do nothing about it.
Pros
Made money and do what i have to do
Cons
Poor company stressful mixed hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall ok
Service Desk Associate (Former Employee) –  Barbourville, KYSeptember 21, 2018
Mainly at Walmart the jobs are alright! Enjoyable part about the job is you meet new people. You are always busy which makes time go by fast. Downfall at most locations is the Bosses.
Pros
Easy fast work enviroment
Cons
The schedule is always moving around
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Associate (Former Employee) –  Murphy, TXSeptember 21, 2018
This was a great place to work. Really easy to work at, You get plenty of breaks to compensate for the work you do. You get two 15 minute breaks each day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Elkton, MDSeptember 21, 2018
I've worked for Walmart for 8 years. There's a lot of multitasking..filling, bagging prescriptions, inputting...waiting on customers.. looking for better pay.
Pros
Helping and meeting new people.
Cons
Patients getting upset when insurance doesn't cover medication.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor place to work
Top Stocker (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, WASeptember 21, 2018
Bad management, treats employees like they’re nothing, and there were a lot of bad smells. They had a designated break area but that was the only perk. No benefits and never gave me extra hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It paid my bills at the time.
Wal-Mart Associate (Former Employee) –  Aurora, INSeptember 21, 2018
I enjoy working in the customer service areas. I learned much during my time there. I enjoyed helping out patrons. I learned how to use the telzon to scan the items and to do inventory.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first time job
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Chilton, WISeptember 21, 2018
I liked it until I transferred to another Walmart and the management was rude. You do a lot of running around and making sure that the shelves are full for the shoppers. Some of the workers that work there should not have a job like some cashiers are very rude n dress sloppy. I can never go shopping without a worker following me around and it makes me uncomfortable.
Pros
Good pay insurance
Cons
Rude management and coworkers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walmart
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Mansfield, TXSeptember 21, 2018
Pros:
Semi-flexible hours, dress code, breaks, pay increase,

Cons:
Management micro manages and are unorganized, long hours on your feet, the attendance policy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LASeptember 21, 2018
The company was entirely too big. They did not care about their employees. Overworked and underpaid. Just like any other big corporations. Discounts were a joke.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work its exciting and fun
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Potosi, MOSeptember 21, 2018
I loved working at Wal-Mart. I was comfortable and their pay is great. Its a family atmosphere and they care about their customers and employees. I would recommend Wal-Mart to anyone.
Pros
Breaks are given on time. Hours are flexible and its a great working atmosphere
Cons
Lunch could be longer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendliness and courtesy
Cart Attendant (Former Employee) –  Rohnert Park, CASeptember 21, 2018
I was a cart pusher whether it was raining or not, parking lot safety and visible gear was a top priority, customer assistance is very important to this company, there are a lot of cars that could get damaged.
Pros
Discount
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hours, Horrible management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Hattiesburg, MSSeptember 20, 2018
The hours and money are good. Management needs to communicate more effectively. Some of the managers through they were too good to talk to you or help you. I’ve never worked at at Walmart that was as bad at #916. The communication was awful and nobody knew what they were doing.
Pros
Discount card and PTO
Cons
Management - Employee Communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Walmart customer service (Current Employee) –  Carthage, MOSeptember 20, 2018
Walmart can be stressful at times. The job teaches you how to keep cool under pressure and how to work with angry customers. Walmart has great employees and everyone is like family.
Pros
Teaches alot of neccary skills
Cons
Hard to get a hold of some managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walmart
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Corbin, KYSeptember 20, 2018
It was fun and great at first. Everything was amazing, the work, the customers, just everything. Then my department manager just treated her employees poorly. To be honest she talked smack about everybody who worked in electronics about how no one knows how to do their job even if you’re doing your very best.
Pros
You get a discount card after 3 months
Cons
Your managers are rude.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  ArizonaSeptember 20, 2018
Nothing too difficult to complete, basic skills needed to successfully do the job. Running the cash register and customer interaction are the main focus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs improvement
Stocker (Current Employee) –  United StatesSeptember 20, 2018
Walmart should focus on giving better wages and training the right people for the job. They need better mangment and be more flexible on schedules. They should also bring back the holiday pays.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
parties
Cap team 2 (Former Employee) –  Redlands, CASeptember 20, 2018
there was never a dull moment at walmart i learned alot there my manager was very understanding when it came down to my personal life it was hard to finish undoing all of the carts before time was out going home was the best part
Pros
it was a lot of moving it kept me busy
Cons
i got off a little late
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Walmart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 153,420 reviews
541.6K
443.8K
341.7K
214.4K
111.9K

See reviews about

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture

Diversity score

65out of 100

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Walmart.

Powered by Comparably