Walmart Employee Reviews for Cashier

Found 17,823 reviews matching the search See all 153,464 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 21, 2018
This was my first job. Although i had some issues with the previous manager, all in all it was a great work experience. I made new friends and of course learned new things. It was a great first job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Spring Branch, TXSeptember 21, 2018
Productive work place. Great job and life balance. management is great. breaks are generous. Paid vacations and 401k is really great. Co-workers are very nice and easy to work with.
Pros
Paid 15 min breaks
Cons
Management isn't great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours for part timers
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Pflugerville, TXSeptember 21, 2018
Busy checking out customers, can be learned even if you've never operated a cash register, friendly environment, just be mindful of how you handle cash to avoid being short and receiving fake coupons. Making friends with the employees and customers is the best part of the job.
Pros
flexible scheduling and discounts
Cons
could pay better or at least start workers at 8.50 an hour.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Stressful Environment
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Fairmont, WVSeptember 21, 2018
They don't pay enough, they don't give enough hours for their employees, especially the cashiers. Cashiers have one of the hardiest jobs there and they only get less than 32 hours a week. I wouldn't recommend a job to anyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work if Management was better
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Palm Desert, CASeptember 21, 2018
Long stays at the register. If you need a bathroom break, Supervisors will make you wait for another teller to come from their break, instead of jumping in to help. I learned how to cash W.I.C checks. Management has favorites, and its not a team player work place. The hardest part of the job was putting up with favoritism. The most enjoyable part was meeting new people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer helpful
Cashier/overnight zoner (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILSeptember 21, 2018
This was a job that enabled you to have first hand contact with your customers and this could be very rewarding in most instances..it also allowed you to get feedback directly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to get your job done, fairly kind-hearted employees
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKSeptember 21, 2018
The job was a place to go and earn you paycheck, regardless of the cut hours. The associates are kind for the most part. Should've received the same energy.
Pros
Easy to get on everyone's good side--Just be friendly and productive!
Cons
Too many members of management trying to play "boss" against each other.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a part time job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Abington, MASeptember 21, 2018
I worked there while in high school and the year I took waiting to Join active duty Air Force. I made minimum wage and lived with my parents. It was fine while in High School but no as an adult.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LASeptember 21, 2018
The company was entirely too big. They did not care about their employees. Overworked and underpaid. Just like any other big corporations. Discounts were a joke.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  ArizonaSeptember 20, 2018
Nothing too difficult to complete, basic skills needed to successfully do the job. Running the cash register and customer interaction are the main focus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Nice palace To Work But Management Is rude and They Show Favortisiom To family Memebers That Work There . hours Are Good Pay Is Good just Have Rude
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Gulfport, MSSeptember 20, 2018
When it’s busy management starts to get aggravating and takes it out on you They Listen and go by wat one person say they never take both side to the situation
Pros
Free food Thursday
Cons
Need longer breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Greer, SCSeptember 20, 2018
They are a good company but some of the employees don't have the best attitude but the managers and other staff were very kind. They have a wonderful work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZSeptember 20, 2018
Working for the Walmart company has help me to improve on my people and communication skills. It has helped me build my customer service skills. I recommend working here. It is great.
Pros
discount card
Cons
takes a long time to move up in the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and jokey customers
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Moncks Corner, SCSeptember 20, 2018
I loved workin at Walmart because I got to meet new people became friends with the customers and got the job done enjoyed the mangers and making sure my line was always clear to take care of the next customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
walmart
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Deptford, NJSeptember 20, 2018
Cashier, bagged items, customer service, cleaning, returns, stocked
The company is a great place to work while in high school and has some advancements.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Wichita Falls, TXSeptember 20, 2018
Love Walmart it's where everyone gets to shop and see alot of familiar faces... Also buy all things at one time and not have to travel store to store ...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace schedule was inconsistent bur job culture is amazing.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Quincy, FLSeptember 20, 2018
Working at Walmart doesn't cater to the flexibility for a single parent. There are not enough sick days. When short staffed it becomes very difficult.
Pros
Meeting different people.
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work enviroment
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Evanston, WYSeptember 20, 2018
I really enjoyed my coworkers, and the customers. My bosses, and people above me were very nice, and treated everyone fairly. The hardest part of the job I think was dealing with situations according to costumers needs.
Pros
Social
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and enjoyable
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hondo, TXSeptember 19, 2018
i love working for walmart; enjoy talking with customers and meeting new people; always enough cashier supervisors to assist when needed; pay is low and hours vary
Pros
fun environment
Cons
hours are not a set time/vary
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed yet professional place to work
cashier (Former Employee) –  Greenville, PASeptember 19, 2018
staff and customers were very friendly. guaranteed hours of labor. pay and benefits were good as well for the hired position. management was attentive to customer and staffs' needs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Walmart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 153,481 reviews
541.6K
443.9K
341.7K
214.4K
112K

See reviews about

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

2.4InHerSight Score

2.1Personal Development

3.0Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight