Walmart Employee Reviews for Sales Associate

Found 11,602 reviews matching the search See all 156,594 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with customers
Sales Associate, stocker (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALOctober 20, 2018
The day at work is enjoyable when u make someone day by making them smile,the hardest part of the day is working with people who doesn't want to work that day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walmart
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Salisbury, MDOctober 20, 2018
The job wasn't bad but the management wasn't top shape They didn't handle the customer issues properly. When issues arise we would have to solve them ourselves.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is what it is. Management can hurt you.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Florence, ALOctober 20, 2018
Working at Walmart can be a very different experience depending on what department you are in. In my case, it was mostly enjoyable. I would, however, warn that one hand rarely knows what the other is doing. Your workload can increase in a moments notice if you happen upon the wrong manager. Likewise, you can be pulled from given tasks to other tasks with little warning.
Pros
Employee discount, Seasonal discount
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent and a good way to learn how customer service and retail works.
Former CAP2 Associate, Current ACC Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Woodbury, MNOctober 19, 2018
Typical work day. clock in and get to work right away. I learned a lot of things that helped me take care of myself and satisfy the customers. Management is good, they tell us what to do and know how to help out when we were stuck on what to do. Hardest part of the job was the amount of staffs we'd have. So we'd have to learn almost everything around the store just to keep the store going. And getting overwhelmed by customers when you're alone. Aside from the hard parts, things were easy to learn and everyone there was very friendly and understandable. I love everyone I work with here.
Pros
long breaks, flexible hours, friendly employees and managers
Cons
short staffed, not enough compensation and acknowledgement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
walmart
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Fairfield, OHOctober 19, 2018
Walmart was a great store to work at the oppertunities where great and they helped and walked me through every step that i needed to know to work retail
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  ArkansasOctober 19, 2018
You help customers find items, donprice checks, cashier, work freight and set mods. Friendly and fun atmosphere to work in. A perfect part time job for anyone.
Pros
Employee discount after 90 days
Cons
No full time hours unless you want to climb up to dept mgr.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice and friendly
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Conway, AROctober 19, 2018
managers was nice. customers was not so much. Great place to gain experience. Advancement was prominent from within. Nice atmosphere and cool place to work.
Pros
friendly
Cons
managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided a busy work style in various departments
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Anaheim, CAOctober 19, 2018
I worked here for over 9 years. I learned a lot of things from this company. I worked in various departments and also worked on special projects. Used the hand held and set mods.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Hermitage, PAOctober 18, 2018
Managers were always around to help if you needed anything or had any questions about anything. The employees were always able to help with anything you might need or help you find something for a customer.
Pros
Nice employee's
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eh
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHOctober 18, 2018
The was ok to work with but advancement was not easy they don’t tell you if you got the job or not then they stated cutting your hours it was terrible and how do they expect you to pay your bills if you don’t get any hours and management doesn’t care
Pros
Eh
Cons
Eh
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
experience at walmart
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Wallace, NCOctober 18, 2018
Working for Walmart is very stressful and at times lacks in proper leadership. Very casual atmosphere. Unprofessional and no accountability held for work not done.
Pros
better pay than any where else.
Cons
bad leadership lack of professionalism.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & safe workplace
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAOctober 18, 2018
A nice general workplace that created many opportunities as well as great benefits. A great place to learn new things like how to be productive & to get things done in a timely manner.
Pros
Clean safe workplace, benefits
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NOt bad company but they could do more for their employees.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  market place, txOctober 18, 2018
In general WM is not a bad company to work with, even though in which I am working now, they don't value much their associates also Its an stressful job.
Pros
Associates have discounts
Cons
Its very hard they approve the associates vacations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for me
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Camdenton, MOOctober 18, 2018
I found walmart or rather some of the department mangers difficult to get along with. we were told to do one thing then would be in trouble for doing what we were told.

I personally wasn't happy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelente lugar para trabajar
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Guayama Municipio, PROctober 17, 2018
Mis evaluaciones han sido unas muy satisfactorias.Laa enseñanzas hab sido muy buenas para un futuro.
Pros
Seguro medico, 401k
Cons
No hay contras
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy work good to pay
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, KSOctober 17, 2018
you will probably never do the job they hired you to do and from my experience, you'll spend time fixing other peoples mistakes but it's easy and good pay so can't complain too much
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bluffton, SCOctober 17, 2018
A typical day at work for me was working in the stationary department assisting customers. Working in the stationary department, I learned about the different types of fabrics.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked only 6 mos. at Wal-mart some years ago, due to getting married
Sales Associate (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Weatherford, TXOctober 16, 2018
Enjoyed working at Wal-Mart some years ago but stopped work at that time to remarry. see above review. I was given the part time job in sales in the fabric dept.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is fine
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAOctober 16, 2018
The company itself is great, the management is what makes it so difficult to go to work everyday. They don't care about the associates. Its not WHAT you know in. Wal-Mart anymore, it's WHO you know. Theres a "Zero tolerance" for harrassment but I was Harrassed several times and nothing was done about it, even after I followed the Open Door Policy.
Pros
Discounts, benefits, bonuses
Cons
Poor management, unfair policies and work practicies, difficult to move up
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
experience
Sales associated (Former Employee) –  Green Bay, WIOctober 16, 2018
i love working here the only bad thing is the personal some of them bean rude with some associated because i am Hispanic and they have some of them that don't feel comfortable with me because my nationality .
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Walmart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 156,618 reviews
542.4K
444.7K
342.6K
214.7K
112.3K

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture

Diversity score

65out of 100

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Walmart.

Powered by Comparably