Walmart Employee Reviews for Sales Associate

3.6
Overall rating
Based on 149,923 reviews
Ratings breakdown
540.7K
442.9K
340.7K
214K
111.6K
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 11,214 reviews matching the search See all 149,916 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the company I work for
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Lumberton, NCAugust 18, 2018
I hope to stay for at least 30 years. Within six months I had advance to a new position. If you work hard it does payoff. And advancement is easy with a great work ethic.
Pros
Room to advance & find a "fit" for you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace is fine enough
sales associate (Former Employee) –  Floresville, TXAugust 18, 2018
My overall work experience was fine, however I had several issues with a member of management trying to impress her superiors and overworking the members of my department
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College Job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, ILAugust 18, 2018
Walmart was my college job, I enjoyed the tasking, and interacting with customers in specific departments. There were a lot of supervisory roles that made it hard. Too many people telling too little people what to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comments
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Kokomo, IN 46901August 18, 2018
enjoy serving customers,
how to be more patient with customers,
poor management,
some of the coworkers I respect and enjoy working with while others make it difficult,
answering telephones,
assisting with customers and greeting them.
Pros
close to home
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This should be a last resort
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Greenville, TXAugust 17, 2018
The culture is very bad, management largely makes decisions based on whether they like you or not. The only good thing I can say is they offered the most hours I've ever received for a part time position. They treat vendors even worse than associates.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walmart is a great company to work for.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Dublin, GAAugust 17, 2018
Walmart is a great company and has great statue. It gives a lot to people opportunities to start a career. They have flexible hours and great customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Somerset, PAAugust 17, 2018
A typical day at work would be making sure the shelves are stocked and kept tidy while helping customers find everything they could possibly need. Walmart is a very good place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want respect, don't work here
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Dallas, GAAugust 17, 2018
I worked extra hard for a year and got my hours cut, wrote me up for the littlest of things, including not working hard enough. They don't care about their employees.
Pros
Better that minimum wage
Cons
No respect, no praise, only criticism
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Gadsden, ALAugust 17, 2018
Walmart was a great place of employment. I left due to a career change that greatly grew my salary and expanded my opertunity to branch out to a different field
Pros
Strong Values
Cons
Low wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a ok place to work as a starter or temp job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Henderson, KYAugust 17, 2018
Wal mart was a fine place to work as my first job. but relatively poor pay rate and no hours flexibility leaves a lot to be desired. management wasn't very effective
Pros
Employee discount
Cons
poor pay and benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced And Production
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Cicero, ILAugust 17, 2018
Walmart is a wonderful company to work for and I will recommend them to everyone. They Help you build and grow for your future by offering retirement benefits and 401 K.
Pros
Learning skills
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They were a fair employer
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Robinson Township, PAAugust 17, 2018
There were a lot of pros and cons to working at Walmart. My coworkers were very kind and friendly however management was very spiteful to the team and often gave strikes to many for the actions of one.
Pros
Fair hours and schelduling
Cons
Unfair as to disciplining
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a very open environment with lots of good people
Sales Associate- 22Sep2016 (Former Employee) –  Floresville, TXAugust 16, 2018
While working in the Walmart community, I was able to learn a lot of things that would help me later on in a different work force such as customer assistance, material handling and different computer programs.
Pros
learning opportunities
Cons
lack of communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is not good
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Butler, PAAugust 16, 2018
Not much training. You have to learn on your own. Promotions are given to those who they want and not the qualified associates.Poor training methods. Watch videos and learn on your own.
Pros
Associates are nice and friendly and easy to get along with.
Cons
No family life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, yet unstable
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Wenatchee, WAAugust 16, 2018
Keep a better eye on management. Some are quite rude. Hours are reasonable, job is simple. Pay is pretty good. More positive actions from managers would help immensely.
Pros
Discount
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Decatur, GAAugust 16, 2018
Walmart is a great organization with good hours, benefits, bonuses, stocks. The enviroment can be stressful at times but all in all it is a fun work enviroment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Stocker/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Hammond, LAAugust 16, 2018
Stay busy the whole time you are on the clock... Just need all the Chiefs to stay on the same page more....Instead of treating employee like yoyo's...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its ok
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 16, 2018
I liked my co workers but some of the managers where unfair and to hard to work for. The scheduling was flexible so that was nice while attending school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Lawton, OKAugust 16, 2018
It's a decent workplace as long as you do your work without any slack. Some days are more stressful than others depending on management staff. Most coworkers are what makes the day go faster and better than most. Usually every quarter there is a decent bonus, but then again sometimes there isn't one.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working at Walmart it’s a fun and stress free workplace.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Union, NJAugust 16, 2018
I give Walmart 5 stars, for there effectiveness in getting their customers in and out quickly, and making sure they have a wonderful experience. And I’m a couponer so shopping here helps me save money.
Pros
Walmart always have enough merchandise for its customers.
Cons
The Celine leaks when it rains.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport