Walmart Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well paid
Hardware Associate (Former Employee) –  Clarksville, ARApril 24, 2018
I love working at Walmart you get paid well and it’s a fun environment as well the o my reason I had to leave was because I moved towns for college but it was one of my favorite jobs
Pros
Pay
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
strict
Personal Shopper (Former Employee) –  Spring Hill, TNApril 24, 2018
I enjoyed that the people above the store manager were so hands on with the associates, but I felt like the management team was always at odds with one another and that made my experience poor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here
Cap team 2 (Current Employee) –  Gordonsville, VAApril 24, 2018
Filled with lies broken laws and horriable people and and mangers that try to take advantage of you. Do not work here unless you have no other choice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a nice job know going down hill. 47% turn over rate.
Loader/Unloader Lift Driver (Current Employee) –  Williamsburg, VAApril 24, 2018
Wal-Mart was a fun, productive, good values where people enjoyed coming to work. We had sick time, holiday pay, personal time, 5 minute window to clock in, and the little things they did to show their appreciation. Now all of that is gone. We barley get our hours and they change the rules every week. A lot of associates left and are still leaving. A 47% turn over for a billion dollar company is bad. We did our job but management is failing us.
Pros
It's a job, pay is ok if you get the hours
Cons
No sick time, all perks taking away, they don't really care about there associates.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team work
La- Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  OpelousasApril 24, 2018
I love Walmart! I don’t have many tips. They do good by their employees for the most part. They offer a lot of things that other employers don’t. I’d like to make walmart a career
Pros
Great work environment
Cons
Pay can be better
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun place
Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Plainfield, INApril 24, 2018
the people there are friendly, productive. the staff care about your well being. they are willing to help you achieve your goals. they pay well, but not enough for living costs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stocker/truck unloader
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDApril 24, 2018
I go clock in and get my uniform on and i head to recieving and start unloading the truck by hand each box onto there correct pallets by department. When the truck is done we put the boxes on a cart or l-cart and take them to there departments and stock the shelves and when we get back from lunch we move all pallets to there right departments and when thats finshed we work them untill 11. when 11 rolls around we all clock out and leave.
Pros
good work out and good skills
Cons
Stressful and pressuered
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, very fun
Sporting Goods Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Schererville, INApril 24, 2018
I loved working here great environment great people not hard at all very team orientated its a great job to have in general it may not be the pay to live off of but the job makes up for it
Pros
Discounts, team involvment
Cons
holidays get busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Pharmacy Technician Trainee (Former Employee) –  Elkins, WVApril 24, 2018
I enjoyed working at walmart and learning new things. I was always on my feet and staying busy. Mangement didn't let me go back and do my training as much as I should
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Department Manager (Current Employee) –  Crestwood, ILApril 24, 2018
Management are very unappreciative and have no respect for the employees, they hide equipment in their office unless corporate is coming in than they want you to try to work a Miracle
Pros
Hour Lunch
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment and easy work
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Marshall, ILApril 24, 2018
The average day as a front end clerk (cashier) consists of interacting with customers, checking them out, lifting items, and cleaning as necessary. My managers in Illinois were great, I cannot say that all of them are. The hardest part is dealing with irritating customers who always think they are right.
Pros
Easy to move up, benefits after 90 days
Cons
Working with customers who think they know more
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honestly one of the worst companies I've worked for
Customer Host (Current Employee) –  South Jordan, UTApril 24, 2018
I love my specific position because of the interaction with customers etc, if I could work for a different company (like Costco) and do the same job I would in a heart beat.
Even though they gave a pay raise the company itself is where a lot of the issues lie.

I think management is everything and it starts there and trickles down. The main store manager plays favorites and was caught in a couple outright lies.

I hate their scheduling system they act as if people should be there full time or you don't get scheduled. My situation makes it so I can only work so many hours a month but I also have to get a certain amount of hours to cover monthly living expenses.
They raised pay but cut hours....doesn't make sense and definitely NOT a company I would recommend working for unless you're desperate. They don't ultimately care for their associates.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Specialist III (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCApril 24, 2018
I enjoyed working at Walmart. A typical day would be to get signed on to your computer and begin to work. You would get 2 15 minute breaks and a 30 minute or 1 hour lunch you prefer. The most enjoyable part of the job was that it was on flextime. You could come into work as early as 6 am and leave out by 76 pm. They only requested to put in a 40 hour week.
Pros
Flexible time
Cons
No holiday pay was offered.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alright
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAApril 24, 2018
Had to deal with rude dustomers 24/7 , reshop was a disaster , overtime was not allowed whatsoever ; or we would get in trouble . It was just too much for just little pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Company Ever!
Support Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 24, 2018
I loved Walmart. I had so much going for me in that company. They care for the employees so much. I'm currently am trying to get back into management with this company. I enjoyed my time with them. Awesome company to work for.
Pros
Pay and Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Truck Unloader/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Quakertown, PA 18951April 24, 2018
its a good job stay moving and busy some people treat you nice and others you got to learn how to work around them because they will try to get you caught up
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Decent job for college or temporary needs
Produce Associate (Former Employee) –  Ephraim, UTApril 24, 2018
I was a single student in college and a newlywed at one point. It was an ok job when needing to pay tuition but it was understaffed and the shifts conflicted with suandays and worked almost every sunday and could not get my shifts covered. Also expected to work thanksgiving when my time off request had been approved
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Warren, MIApril 24, 2018
It was fun working with people from different ethnic backgrounds. Working with the public is very interesting. The break area was fun for us associates got an opportunity to get to know one another
Pros
Discounts
Cons
The pay at the time wasn't enough
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very pleasant environment to work at.. I enjoyed a lot of my former coworkers.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Saint Petersburg, FLApril 24, 2018
Typical day at Walmarts is too make sure you smile and greet each customer who comes to your lane for checkout. I learned a very valuable and costly lesson and if given an opportunity to speak on behalf of those who engage in stealing, please I would tell them not to even think on doing it, it is not worth getting a record and not being able to find another job. The hardest part is to admit to one's mistakes and accept the consequences for one's actions... The most enjoyable part is meeting all different nationalities and learning new things about the job, your co-workers, and the company itself, whether you agreed with their policies or not....
Pros
We were treated to free lunches and even had cook outs in the back...
Cons
times, some assignments were not so pleasant to do but we did it....
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work, Salary is about right for the job
Maintenance Associate (Former Employee) –  Marshall, TXApril 24, 2018
This was a very good place to work & I would not have left except I thought I had a better opportunity. Wal-mart treats it's employees as good as any place I've ever worked.
Pros
Steady work with Job security
Cons
They don't hire full time unless you are management, No benefits for spouse only employee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Walmart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 137,309 reviews
537.4K
439.4K
337.3K
212.8K
110.4K

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture

Women's ratings

Powered by Fairygodboss

3.0Fairygodboss Score

57%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

47%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.