Wanzek Construction Employee Reviews

Showing all 61 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and fun place to work for. Everyone was positive.
Laborer (Former Employee) –  East Grand Forks, MNMay 20, 2018
I loved working for these guys for the 4-1/2 months I’ve worked there. The management was amazing; whatever we needed to get the job done it was there in an instant. One time we didn’t have ladders, lights and our manager got the tools and equipment within the hour.
Pros
Very good hours 60 a week, Weekends off. And during overtime the supervisor bought pizza, Paid breaks every 2 hours.
Cons
Dirty work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place to work
Western ND Regional Manager (Former Employee) –  Fargo, NDMay 8, 2018
They give get plenty of opportunity to make decisions on your own. You can advance if you are working in the wind division but the industrial/mechanical division is being phased out.
Pros
Training to help improve yourself at company expense
Cons
If you are not working in wind they don't care about you
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management
Operator (Former Employee) –  Country wideJuly 11, 2018
Started out as a good place to work but then the management started hiring their friends and everything went downhill from there. Lots of people quit because there was no respect for the workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Lead Technician (Former Employee) –  Fargo, NDJune 24, 2018
for the short time period i was there i have no complaints. As long as you show up for work and do your job properly everything will be fine. Safety is real big with this company which is a plus.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Reinforcement iron worker foreman (Former Employee) –  OklahomaMay 15, 2018
Reinforcement iron worker foreman. Great place to work. Great people and there culture. They stick to there values. They have a good saftey record. They transfer you to other job location's.
Pros
Yes
Cons
No
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work experience
Superintendent (Current Employee) –  Fargo, NDMay 12, 2018
Great opportunity to branch out and learn about the renewable services industry, pre-planning, heavy civil, and much more. Must be willing to travel all over the country.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed them.
Pipefitter/Pipewelder (Former Employee) –  Laddonia, MOMarch 26, 2018
I only worked the one job with them. They were quick to get you what you needed when you needed it. They are a great company. They take smaller jobs which means smaller crews and less pressure to work your rear off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive work, proper training, equal opportunity
Installation Technician - tower climber (Former Employee) –  Post, TXJanuary 8, 2018
100% safety first. Quality product. Long hours. Fast paced. Decent benefits. Proper training given. Idealistic expectations of daily work. Decent communication from upper management to field employees
Pros
Overtime/ perdium/ job specific training
Cons
Not steady year round work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team work
Top-Off Lead Man (Former Employee) –  Fargo, NDApril 2, 2018
lots of team work and friendly environtment and safe the foreman take good care of there workers. safety lunch every month with fre prises they have a wooden nikle safety award
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible workplace
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Fargo, NDDecember 8, 2017
Terrible company that has the mindset that any employee is replaceable. Low pay compared to other wind companies. Management is terrible considering numerous management is married to one another creating a very hostile workplace.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Foreman/carpenter (Former Employee) –  West Fargo, NDFebruary 6, 2018
Working with this company gave me a strong work ethic and drive to complete projects. We worked long days and it was very physical work yet very rewarding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was fun traveling and meeting new people
Field Engineer (Former Employee) –  Fargo, NDJune 28, 2017
Climbing wind towers, completing inspections, completing safety audits.
I learned different stages of the building process: making roads, working with the concrete companies, testing of the roads and the concrete. Learned a lot about safety.
Workplace was great. Went to a lot of different parts of the country. Met and worked with a lot of good people.
Hardest part of the day was the actual climbing of the tower.
Pros
Traveling, learned a lot, meeting new people
Cons
Not home as much as I wanted to be
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace in a laid back environment
Truck/Forklift Driver (Current Employee) –  Bound Brook, NJSeptember 2, 2017
A very neat and clean workplace to work at.
Managers and Supervisors were always helpful
Very quiet environment to work at and not crazy busy
Majority of the coworkers all got along with one another.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
no benefits because it was a temporay position
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
vary productive and safe enviorment to work in.
Tower hand (Former Employee) –  West Fargo, NDSeptember 21, 2017
I enjoyed working with everyone at the job, everyone had a great attitude twords working hard and safe! i would highly recommend this cooperation to a friend.
Pros
no rushing! take your time and get it right the first time
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Place to work
Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  West Fargo, NDMarch 6, 2017
They treat you like a human being everyone works together and get along pay is great insurance is great and the job sites are always safe and productive they make sure that their employees are satisfied with what they are doing great insurance and health ,dental,eye exams 401k, life insurance short and long term disability they are a great company to work for its like family.
Pros
Lots of picnics for the team woth no lost time
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coworkers were great to work with alot of teamwork involved.
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Fargo, NDJuly 1, 2017
It was a good company to work with. I gained alot of knowledge from another more experienced dozer operator that enabled me to be the kind of operator that I am.
Pros
Good pay and benefits
Cons
Traveled too much and was not home to much during the working season.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience in wind farms!
Electrical Engineering Technician trainee (Current Employee) –  North CarolinaFebruary 7, 2017
A work day was between 10- 14 hours working on quality control of already erected towers. The foreman built a good team environment and I knew my role in helping the team be successful. The hardest part was being away from home for months on end. I love construction because you get to see a project start and end. It feels like I helped accomplish something.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved this place
Intern (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCNovember 1, 2016
Wanzek Inc was a taste of end-game as an inspiring graphic designer. The opportunity to work for a multi-million dollar company and the inside view on how aforementioned company operates was priceless.

The company utilized my skills as a designer as well as a conouter technician to the fullest challenging me with a heavy but fair work load. The skills I picked up here were extremely beneficial to my career.
Pros
Great work enviroment!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wind Company erecting Pipeline Terminal
Warehouse Manager (Former Employee) –  Cushing, OKSeptember 7, 2016
This Company is excellent in Wind Turbines but they lacked the knowledge and experience needed for this high profile Government regulated Pipeline Terminal project, We needed better qualified Piping Engineers, They also lacked the skills in other areas because of friends and family hiring in just for a job instead of getting the most qualified personnel to do the job.
Pros
Great people to work with, alot of skilled employees, dedicated personnel
Cons
Lack of knowledge from Key Management personnel
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional workplace
Tower Hand (Former Employee) –  Sebastian, TXApril 2, 2015
a day with wanzek would start off with "stretch and flex" then get our company vehicle gassed and ready. once headed to the site automatically inspect the front end loader and start work. Starting off by building a crane pad for the next site over then heading back and topping out the tower the crew is working on once released I start moving all the rigging and equipment used for top out and move on to the next site.
Pros
free lunches, good pay, learning experience
Cons
no breaks, eat as you go.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Wanzek Construction. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 61 reviews
522
425
39
23
12

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

3.1Personal Development

1.5Career Opportunities

3.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight