Wartsila North America, Inc Employee Reviews

Found 40 reviews matching the search See all 371 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Assistant Controller (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 14, 2018
Wonderful place to work. I learned a lot and this company invested in its employees. They believed in furthering your education as it related to your position. They maintained a high standard for benefits in order to retain good employees
Pros
Company beleived in their employees
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very nice place to work
Accounts Payable Administrator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 23, 2018
Process all invoices, credit memos, negotiate late fee charges. Code expenses. Handled all accounting duties for Puerto Rico and Dominican Republic. Translate from Spanish to English.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Team Lead (Current Employee) –  IndianaSeptember 25, 2018
This is a very good company. I learnt many things from this company. Company culture is good. Give equal priority to Women which is very good now-a-days.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
SERVICE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 3, 2018
Worked there for 17 years and grew with the company which was known as Gerhardt's Inc. They later sold the company to Wartsilla after being in business for over 60 years.
Pros
Took care of their employees (Gerhartdt's Inc)
Cons
Selling the company to Wartsilla
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I learned
Senior Account Executive/Project Controller (Former Employee) –  Annapolis, MDAugust 18, 2018
My time Wartsilla was short due to the energy business moving from regulated to unregulated. GE was in a better position in the US market compared to the Finnish company. The decline in business meant the closure and relocation of the North American headquarter from Annapolis to Houston
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like living out of a suite case
Field service engineer/Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 14, 2018
Excellent training; long days, labor intensive; many different cultures and personalities to communicate with; high demand for quick completion of work
Pros
interesting places, lots of frequent flyer/hotel rewards
Cons
always away from home
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with.
Field Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Chesapeake, VAMarch 9, 2018
Great people to work with. Managers don't understand stresses on field technicians. Great travel and opportunities to make connections. Fellow technicians are absolute professionals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Winterthur, ZHOctober 16, 2017
Wärtsilä is a fun place to work, you make it happen with your team. There is a good culture, where people help each other. There is place for growth..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work/life balance
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 28, 2017
not much to be said regarding work/life balance. would have liked to see more of this supported by upper management. not enough support towards growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job culture is good
Field Service Engineer (Former Employee) –  LagunaAugust 31, 2017
A good company branch. Workplace culture is good. A good place to start a career in mechanical/electrical engineering. Co-workers are fun to be with and very supportive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience in power generation industry
Shift Supervisor - O&M Betano Power Plant (Current Employee) –  BetanoAugust 31, 2017
A good place to develop/learn your technical skills & career in Oil & Gas / Power generation industry. But, the unexpected change in management truly affected employee's compensation/benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary:
Credit Controller (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLAugust 17, 2017
Wartsila North America was a great place to work. Supervisors were very knowledgeable and a pleasure to work for. Co-workers were fun to work with. I would confidently recommend this place to work. A typical day at work can be described as very busy as I was in charge of very important business accounts.
A major part of my day was collecting on past due accounts and reconciling invoices, processing credits, debits, etc.

This was a temporary contract that ended in July, 2017.
Pros
Meeting people from all over the world.
Cons
A longer commute.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place if one work for a network directly
Coordinator (Former Employee) –  WNA Ft LauderdaleAugust 9, 2017
Being a global company, Warsila has many virtual organizations and even if one report to someone at the US network level , one ends up with various dotted lines to report to these other virtual organizations
Pros
Great Medical Insurance (PPO, Cadillac type insurance..very rare on today's corporations
Cons
Many dotted lines among the organization...not great job work/ life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the better employers in S. Florida
MANAGER, HUMAN RESOURCES (Current Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLJuly 27, 2017
Wartsila is a good place to work. Very Friendly, employee oriented and meaningful jobs. Pay is competitive for S. Florida and managment team is competent.
Pros
Good employee culture
Cons
European office configuration
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prefer not to answer
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 24, 2017
Very stressful. I would prefer not to go into lengthy detail. Culture is very unique and ever changing. The organization is not very stable and uncertain.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
chef and chef admin (Former Employee) –  floridaDecember 10, 2016
It was a good experience while working for RCCL for more than five contract. i find there is good job culture and management very supportive. in future i would like for the same company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Shift Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Betano Power PlantDecember 8, 2016
I started date on 17th June 2015, I worked 44 hours for a week, leading the team operation and monitoring the plant, manage team for controlling all of the parameter engine we are enjoyable with our shift rolling every day.
Pros
1 hour
Cons
12 hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leading edge company in the large bore Diesel industry
Senior Service Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLNovember 15, 2016
Wartsila has a very large, interconnected organization with the latest and greatest technology in the industry. It is a very exciting, challenging and rewarding career in the the field service sector. If you're willing to put forth the effort, one will be graciously rewarded.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I have learned at Wartsila
Senior Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLSeptember 21, 2016
I have learned to work on the world largest engine. I have been able to expand my knowledge of marine Diesel Mechanics. Learn more about having the right team to do certain jobs. I have been able to travel abroad and learn about new cultures as well as new Diesel technologies.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and Enthusiastic
Field Service Engineer (Electrical) (Current Employee) –  Laguna, CAMay 5, 2016
Working in Wartsila is the best job that I had been. Co workers are supportive and cooperative. Management is supportive technically and administratively. Learning is a never ending task.
Pros
Daily Allowances
Cons
Away From Home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Wartsila North America, Inc. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 371 reviews
5155
4145
353
213
15

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture

Wartsila North America, Inc Reviews by Location