Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority Employee Reviews

Showing all 168 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work
Bus Operator (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCFebruary 21, 2019
Dealing with different types of customers and showing excellent customer service, providing customers with information they need to get them to their destination.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could do better
Junior Network Administrator (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCFebruary 3, 2019
Management does not take in to account the ideas of subordinates. Could do better with work life balance. Also, Metro does need to do better with accommodating individuals with families as company policy does not protect individuals with family in regards to extended leave.
Pros
Great Pay and Benefits
Cons
Work-life Balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Personnel Administrator (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 24, 2019
Metro is a very diverse company. Good place to work. Great benefits. Great job advancement. Management invest a lot in employee training, development and education.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Structure
CAPITAL PROGRAM ANALYST (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCDecember 15, 2018
A typical day at work was very productive and informative. My time at the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority I improved on time management, reliability, responsibility and staying focus I respected the management team, I enjoyed working with and learning from my co workers and team leaders. The hardest part about my job as a Bus Operator was learning to operate a 40,000 pound vehicle. The most enjoyable part is working with the public.
Pros
The opportunities to grow and excel.
Cons
As a Bus Operator, short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission-driven organization which requires flexibility and dedication
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 28, 2018
I work with a small team that is responsible for issuing alerts and engaging customers on social media. The team also posts information updates on the website. We are positioned in a fast-paced operations control center that's dedicated to monitoring bus service and problem solving for the bus system. The hardest part of the job is keeping track of all the moving parts and accurately reporting out to the public. The job is rewarding when we know our customers have received the information we share and are able to navigate a situation with that information to successfully get to their destination in a relatively timely manner.
Pros
The experience of working with professionals from all aspects of the industry.
Cons
Work hours can often extend beyond the requirement including late hours and weekends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transportation Agency
PROJECT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 23, 2018
This is a good place for a career.
There salary & benefitsare good.
Office environment needs improvements.
Excessive meetings.
Very political environment.
Pros
work schedule
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it a job
Utility Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 20, 2018
everyone deserves a good place to work. a typical day is face paced and a bit stressful. you are allowed adequate time to do you job on a good day. sometimes things can get rocky.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Real communication breakdown from Top Management to the bottom worker
Quality Assurance Associate (Former Employee) –  Landover, MDSeptember 17, 2018
Most of the time throughout the system upper management does not police the middle and lower management for disseminating important service bulletins or changes that will affect workers and customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and talented group
Business Planning Analyst (Former Employee) –  GreSeptember 11, 2018
Was able to implement programs, and use skills. Continual changes in organization. Good people, challenging work and learning that made difference. Would like to work again for this organizations. Worked in Quality Assurance and Warranty, now QICO. Open to working with other departments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cover your own butt
Special Police Officer (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 9, 2018
Work is very slow but can can get a lot done if you are in school, management is strict on punishment ,not much work incentive or positive recognition, seniority based, rare to no weekends off so family or social life is difficult to maintain.
Pros
free transportation
Cons
mangement, no weekends, depressing
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Bus Operator (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 5, 2018
Besides Honeywell this is one of the best jobs I ever had good money good benifits good retirement and best manegment I ever works for they care of there employees you can move up in this company I was there less than a year I was making 22 dollars a hour love it
Pros
Good money good benifits good mangement
Cons
Working different shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (WMATA) has diverse components that allow for career advancement.
Supply Chain Analyst (Current Employee) –  Landover, MDAugust 29, 2018
From an employment point of view, WMATA has many departments, job functions and levels that allow for career advancement. The company also provides for career training which includes tuition reimbursement, in-house classes and courses and certification modules.

The environment and atmosphere is professional, safety sensitive and customer service oriented.
Pros
Great employees (co-workers, managers).
Cons
Difficult employees (co-workers, managers). Combative patrons.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 28, 2018
Very fast paced, must have one common goal, very busy(always have something to do) must know how to think outside the box. Must have great customer service skills with such a huge company.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Facilities Maintenance Clerk (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 19, 2018
WMATA is a great place to work with excellent benefits.
There's room to grow.
I was constantly learning.
I received proper training on Microsoft Office products.
I highly recommend employment with WMATA.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy work environment
Network Engineer (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 21, 2018
Always plenty to do in WMATA
Learn new technology
Work under very peasant management
Multi-cultural environment
Had the most enjoyable work place with them
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Before coming to WMATA I hoped to retire from a company that cared about their employees.
Metrobus Operator (Current Employee) –  Washington, DC 20001July 21, 2018
Make sure to join the union. Go to as many union members as possible and work safe. You can only fire yourself. Take advantage of the benefits that are offered at the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
metro pays the bills and thats all
Bus Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Landover, MDJuly 17, 2018
good job to pay the bills , very stressful atmosphere, typical day consist of working to help with the next day fleet. I would like to say the benefits are nice but the rate the general manager is going, in the next year or so you wouldn't be eligible for any benefits. (retirement,401k,&pentions)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
HVAC Technician (Current Employee) –  Gaithersburg, MDJuly 3, 2018
A typical day consisted of the employees either being given assignments to fix either hvac, mechanical or electrical problems with the railcars, moving trains in and out of the shop or clean-up the shop. During the course of 7 years I learned how to use hand, electrical, and pneumatic tools extensively. Management is decent to poor in most cases. The best part about the job is the people you work with. Management is what hurts the experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job
Revenue Processing Tech II (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, VAJune 28, 2018
It is ok
Good people
Good hours
No stress
I don't understand why I have to answer this question if I don't want to.
I don't have any more to say about this company please stop asking me
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great place to work
General Supply Specialist (Current Employee) –  Washington City, DCJune 27, 2018
Not much advancement opportunities
Hours are based off of seniority which makes it hard sometimes
Great benefits and salary
Union based
Great policies
Cons
Not much advancement opportunities, Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 168 reviews
557
449
340
216
16

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
4.2Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.3Culture

Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority Reviews by Location