Washington State Department of Transportation

Washington State Department of Transportation Employee Reviews for Transportation Technician

Found 9 reviews matching the search See all 95 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Group of Professionals to Work & Learn with
Transportation Technician (Former Employee) –  Yakima, WANovember 6, 2017
Work started early in the morning and worked more than a typical 8 hour day. Wrote reports, surveyed employee production, worked with several different professionals in the field. Enjoyed being outside. Management was available and enjoyable.
Pros
Sense of Pride in work being done
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Averga day at Washignton Dept. of transportation
Transportation Technician 2 (Former Employee) –  Yakima, WANovember 2, 2017
Arrive at work at 0600. Check any emails,and finish daily reports..
After morning meeting head to the construction site and oversee contractors. Ensure the material,product and equipment being used is to contract specs.
Pros
Great personel from bottom to the top. being out of the office most of the day.
Cons
being away from family
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Illuminating, stressful, and good work ethic
Transportation Technician (Current Employee) –  Fife, WAJune 24, 2017
Older coworkers and management are very knowledgeable and try to pass that on. Most employees care about the work they do as civil servants for the public. Parts of job are high risk like construction positions - safety is a top concern and it is not just lip service. Finally, there is a camaraderie between workers and sometimes even departments that is refreshing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Transportation Planning Technician (Former Employee) –  olympia waSeptember 28, 2016
interesting place to work. Management needs to take some more initiative. Lots of opportunities for training and job growth. Salary and benefits are below those offered by other agencies.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Asks for a lot, delivers very little in return
Transportation Systems Technician D (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAJanuary 28, 2016
The Transportation System Techs have a huge scope of work.
Think of them as a
Licensed Electrician plus
Certified Electronic Tech plus
Radio Communications Tech plus
Computer Tech with
Commercial Driver's License and a
Traffic Control Certification and
a few more certifications thrown in here and there.

For bringing all this to the table, the state wants to
Pay you about 80% or less of what a commercial electrician makes
(Which will only happen after several years of step raises and three competitive promotions, lucky you)
Have you constantly carry a pager and/or state cell phone at all times and promise to always answer it.
Have you spend most of your time working in or next to live high speed traffic
Make a gardener, truck driver, janitor, etc. your boss
Station you at a remote site where the next closest qualified electrical person might be thirty miles down the road
Make you work for middle managers you might not talk to three times in 10 years.

If you are a top performer person with this sort of qualifications, couldn't you do better than this?
Pros
Secure, but advancement is problematic at best
Cons
Excessive on-call demands, bad/no leadership, no way to build teamwork
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Transportation Technician (Former Employee) –  Vancouver WAOctober 23, 2015
Worked for 7 1/2 years. Loved it just no work and was laid off. Its a state job so very political. Would work there again but moved on.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a great job and I hope someday to become full time.
Transportation Technician (Former Employee) –  Everett, WADecember 29, 2014
A typical day at work was usually always something new and I literally learned new things every single day. I learned several skills here, to this day it was the best job I've ever had. My management here was pretty awesome I always got along with them and they appreciated all my hard work and willingness to learn. My coworkers here were mostly pretty great always willing to help me or teach me anything I wanted to know. The hardest part of this job was working long overnight shifts. And sometimes being in dangerous situations on the highway. The most enjoyable part of this job was learning so many different engineer office and clerical skills. This is the job where I learned the most. The pay was awesome as well.
Pros
Great pay, some benefits for being a temp
Cons
long overnight shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 9Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Transportation Technician 3 (Current Employee) –  Everett, WANovember 25, 2013
Enjoyed coming to work everyday and looked forward to coming back to work the next day.
Pros
Great People
Cons
No permanent job availabilities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Washington State Department of Transportation reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Washington State Department of Transportation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 95 reviews
536
429
318
27
15

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

3.0InHerSight Score

2.9Personal Development

3.1Career Opportunities

3.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Washington State Department of Transportation Reviews by Location