Washtenaw Community College Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience. Working here puts your knowledge to work and to help remember and understand the theory and components better.
Lab Technician (Current Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIAugust 31, 2018
Helping students operate/ troubleshoot furnaces and ac's. Maintain and set up equipment for students. Clean up the lab in between classes, check that equipment is functioning.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful place to work
English Composition Instructor (Current Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIAugust 23, 2018
1.) easy in and out (I teach two classes back-to-back)
2.) it's fun to do something I love and know it is helping others
3.) I have complete autonomy
4.) very relaxed
5.) having to give students who think they deserve better an F
6.) sharing knowledge and wisdom, knowing it is helping them!
Pros
Autonomy
Cons
Part-time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Lab Technician (Current Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIAugust 14, 2018
Being part time, I only work about 5 months a year. The ability to help teach students in the Motorcycle Service field is very rewarding.
Many lasting friendships have been made.
Pros
Great facility
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work as a team
Automotive Classified Faculty (Current Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIJune 22, 2018
Daily interactions with the students and other facility building one off custom vehicles was definitely a pro.

I have worked with the dyno classes, introduction into automotive, body shop, and motorcycle program. I'd love to have the opportunity for full time employment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part time Instructor
Adjunct Professor Humanities Department (Current Employee) –  MichiganJune 16, 2018
The college has a few hundred part time instructors, they pay well but do not provide vacation of benefits to the adjunct instructor. Overall a nice place to work with the potential for growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was Okay.
TALENT DEVELOPMENT SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Ypsilanti, MIMay 29, 2018
I worked for WCC for over a year. My job was so-so, benefits were great, but management over my position was terrible. They played favorites, talked about other employees to you and disclosed information that should have been privileged all while telling you they never did such a thing. I was fortunate to have great coworkers who talked and made sure we were all knowing what was going on.
Pros
benefits
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Administrator (Current Employee) –  Ann Arbor MIMay 26, 2018
Great place to work with great people. The students, faculty and staff are all terrific. It's a wonderful environment with beautiful grounds and caring staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like any other school
Aide (Former Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIMay 5, 2018
The work wasn't thrilling but it wasn't boring either. It engaged you with whatever it may have been that you were hired for, but that was pretty much it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!
Student Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIApril 29, 2018
Everyone there is awesome i love every second here. They treat you kindly and fairly. If you ever have a problem it can be solved in seconds. Work there if you can!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome School
Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIFebruary 3, 2018
I love Washtenaw community college.
I started off as a student and a instructor came up to me one day and asked me if I would like to work their. I was so happy and surprises. I worked there for 3 years while finishing my degree.
Best time of my life.
Pros
Events, eperience, new people, opportunity
Cons
Pay, no benefits, no advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Washtenaw Community College?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Learning Environment
Duplicating Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIJanuary 29, 2018
I learned many skills their that I would used and developed more in my future employments at other jobs. It was my first introduction to the College Environments in the Ann Arbor / Ypsilanti Areas.
Pros
Learn many skills.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy my role working with student-athletes
Sport Coach (Current Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIJanuary 16, 2018
Washtenaw Community College is an excellent supporter of continued education and involvement in extracurricular activities. I really enjoyed having the chance to meet the student-athletes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Draconian administration
Full-time Instructor (Former Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIJanuary 3, 2018
Too many administrators. Too many make-work games played. Harassment in the workplace is not penalized. It is amazing that the place still has employees given the horrible leadership.
Pros
Benefits, working with students
Cons
Politics, Harassment allowed
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work study is easy
Work Study Student (Former Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIDecember 30, 2017
At the time, I worked the community room, otherwise known as the game room and the job was super relaxed and calm. It mostly consisted of interacting with fellow students and getting games and supplies out for them to play and relax with. During slow, down times we were even sometimes encouraged to play with the guests to encourage more people to come in and play!! There were video games, board games, table games. It was great.
Pros
Calm, relaxed, Work with friends
Cons
Temporary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience at WCC
Computer Commons help desk (Former Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIDecember 21, 2017
I enjoyed my co-workers and my boss and also the environment.
The patrons are nice people and hard workers, my job was to help them to the best of my ability.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wcc
Worker Bee (Current Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MINovember 7, 2017
A very good place to work, Career advancement opportunities abound. The work environment is challenging in a good way. You would not regret working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WCC is my favorite place to work
Computer desck (Former Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MINovember 4, 2017
It was work study program so I am only allowed to work no more than 24 hours, but I enjoyed working with people from different nationality. We are all students, we make our own work schedules, that was my favorite part.
Pros
we are allowed to do homework right there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clinical instructor
Mental Health Clinical Instructor (Current Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIOctober 13, 2017
Run groups with students, therapeutic communication skills.
Arrive at 8 am go to report with staff, run morning DBT groups with students. Spend time developing therapeutic communication with clients.
Pros
wonderful staff
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Lab Tech/ Warehouse Aide (Former Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIOctober 3, 2017
I go t Fair wages for a seasonal position and I would gladly do it again. I enjoyed the people and atmosphere immensely and if the position was not a temporary one the benefits would have been even better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best community college
Instructor, English 111 (Former Employee) –  Ann Arbor, MIAugust 18, 2017
WCC is a student focused community college that strives to help every student succeed. The college is a reflection of the diversity that exists in the community it serves.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Washtenaw Community College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 82 reviews
546
424
39
22
11

See reviews about

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
4.2Culture

Washtenaw Community College Reviews by Location