Watermark Retirement Communities Employee Reviews

3.2
Overall rating
Based on 77 reviews
Ratings breakdown
517
421
314
27
118
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 77 reviews
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low paying, unorganized, poorly ran community
Server (Former Employee) –  Independence, MOJuly 15, 2018
The only real joy in this job was helping the residents. Most of them are very sweet and will show their appreciation for you. Management seems to just make decisions on the fly, without thinking about what's needed or even actually possible. Pay raises and advancement opportunities are meager at best. If you start at $10 an hour, after 1 full year you have an opportunity to get up to a 2.5% raise (25 cents). This will only happen if you actually have a review and ace it, and then if hr actually processes that raise.
Pros
Free meals
Cons
Raises capped at 2.5%, terrible management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Caregiver/CNA (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJune 26, 2018
Not a hard job. The residents are fair and some are not. Coworker are always gossiping and the management could be better. Better job than my previous but could be a lot better.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Management, coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Place to Work
Concierge/Front Desk Management (Former Employee) –  Southfield, MIJune 13, 2018
If you enjoy working with and serving senior citizens, then this is the most appropriate and enjoyable place to apply. The staff works cooperatively to help meet company goals and objectives, in order to meet the overall needs of the residents and their families, and all internal/external clients.
Pros
Flexible hours - Great for College Students or for earning extra income
Cons
Benefits are nearly non-existent or either too expensive for PT employees, Low salary--not commensurate to inflation/increases and constantly changing economic trends
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Meet Elderly People and Make Friends and learn things from people Who were Before You
Oklahoma Paratransit Driver (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKMay 21, 2018
Promotes strong support of the company's mission and vision Gives consistent recognition to employees....Excels in facilitating group discussions.....
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management
Associate (Former Employee) –  Trinity, FLMay 5, 2018
Directors play favorites, backstabbing, two faced towards staff and families. Care staff always short. Some directors rarely step out of their office but act like they're best friends with the residents when public events occur. Work environment and low pay is not worth it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Dietary Aide (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAApril 20, 2018
it was a ok job to work as for a part time job and the peers you work with , you have to watch what you say around peers because it will feel like high school again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management doesn't care about employees.
Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Trinity, FL 34655April 9, 2018
Management doesn't care about employees. The longer you stay the more it feels like a corporation. No promotions from within. The directors would rather give new positions to outsiders.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Good
Medical Administrative Assistant, Externship (Current Employee) –  Denver, COApril 8, 2018
Externship site job was not to good, they site had no specific job for me, I continuously asked do do more but had no response back to me, the room I was told to work in had the temperature set at 85 degrees and it was very hard to do anything in that heat.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Experience
Clinical Nurse Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bridgeport, CTApril 4, 2018
They pay was great but when it comes to management horrible. The services they had to offer to the patients and employees were alright because there were pto and health benefits but no comfort or concern for emergency situations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
CNA/NAYA (Former Employee) –  Waterbury, CTMarch 29, 2018
the company was great,the environment very friendly and happy going, the management was nice too. The job was easy going and slow paced which made the work more enjoyable.
Pros
great environment
Cons
not enough oppotunity
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Management- cut throat
Concierge/house keeper (Former Employee) –  Henrietta, NYMarch 27, 2018
Actual position I was hired for was great. However, one day you come in and find out you’re put in a completely different position without reason. Then your hours slowly decline so they can bring in family and take from your hours to do so. Don’t bother speaking to HR because that will be a waste of your time. Horrible management! Residents were great !
Pros
Residents were the best part
Cons
Management is one big clique, it doesn’t matter how hard you work
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's now a productive & efficient to work there after a remodel & cleanup brigade chip in to make it stand out.
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZMarch 25, 2018
It's an exceptional place but have to prove yourself like any job. To brighten the spirit of the residents who enjoys a hot meal everyday when they come in.
Pros
Free leftover lunch, & dinner
Cons
not feeling welcome sometimes in a workplace even though it's work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a alright job
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Emeryville, CAMarch 7, 2018
they dont wanna give you the hours you wanna work or need to work if its volunteer or if you really work. its a nice company but they are too under wraps with certain things. careparenters are VERY RUDE, as well as HIGHER UPPER MANAGEMENT.
Pros
experience
Cons
anything you can think of
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Community Life Assistant (Current Employee) –  Trinity, FLMarch 5, 2018
Great place to work and live. Employees re treated with dignity and respect as well as the residents and their families. Everyone is usually in a good mood and you have the opportunity to grow and promote within.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Find another job.
Community Assistant (Former Employee) –  Western United StatesFebruary 28, 2018
Passive/agressive environment from management. Unenjoyable, unprofessional place to work and wasn’t welcomed to ask a question from the ED. Sarcasm 24/7. I would not recommend working at the location I was at.
Pros
A few wonderful, kind co-workers. Nice residents.
Cons
Management, lack of communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Residents are the Best Part about this place
Associate (Former Employee) –  Palm Desert, CAJanuary 31, 2018
Being with the Residents is the most enjoyable part about the community and job... However there is not effective leadership to help coach and direct management to bring up the moral of the community. i believe it starts form the top down and its just not in each of the Directors, they are more robotic due to all corporate paperwork and requirements, and the Directors have no experience when they hire, or some just dont want to relate to associates.
Pros
coffee, residents, staff
Cons
benefits, Management, Ed
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Food Server/Waiter (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJanuary 21, 2018
The place for the resident is very nice near at Target, rite aid, traders Joe's, Ralph and lot more.The dining room where I'm working is very comportable and nice for the resident. .
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Results driven and no longer people driven; lacks caring HR leadership, much change in top leadership in four years
Director of Plant Operations (Former Employee) –  Sarasota, FLJanuary 17, 2018
No longer a place where I could use my creativity, and became a task driven job only. Constantly adding new systems and expectations but never replacing any existing ones. Continuously increasing expectations for management reduced our time to take care of our residents which used to be the primary goal. Learned how to manage full apartment renovations but still responsible for all of my original duties when I was hired. Culture changed from on of fun and adventure to one of intimidation, especially from the Human Resources department.
Pros
Beautiful campus, able to make my own decisions, great working staff, got to do many improvements to the campus in my four years there
Cons
Human Resources deparment creates hostile work environment for directors, managers and workers alike
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding
Executive Director (Current Employee) –  Victor, NYJanuary 14, 2018
Each day is filled with job satisfaction, learning and growing. We are new to Watermark, recently joining in August. To date, I have only experienced a company who is dedicated to its Associates.
Pros
Great Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 7Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Maintenance worker (Current Employee) –  Tucson, AZJanuary 1, 2018
I love working for watermark. The only thing they can improve is there pay scale. They truly care for the residents. Well managed compamy. Quick and helpful to resolve any issues I have
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report