Watson Electrical Employee Reviews

Showing all 54 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dear god for anyone who reads this do not apply
Electrical Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, NCOctober 15, 2018
I started as a green horn and didnt know anything. They hazed the ever living life out of me. Dont bother with this company, they dont care to teach. The only thing they care about is making them look like the good guy while making you look useless. Honestly I could probably sue them for some of the stuff they put me through. If you are reading this please please please dont even consider working here
Pros
Foremans are abusive
Cons
You will not get a chance to learn
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Watson electric was fun
Electrician II (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCOctober 11, 2018
Working for Watson electric was an experience that I didn’t had with a lot of electrical company they made work fun but at the same time save and enjoyable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wont terrible
Groundman (Former Employee) –  Wilson, NCSeptember 22, 2018
Had the most unorganized supervised ever. Started with the best one and they replaced him for the dumbest reason ever and when they did we never made production.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lying, misleading and unethical management!
Manager (Former Employee) –  Kernersville, NCJuly 18, 2018
Corporate divided the company and put new management in which ran off all of our existing employees. I've been cursed & belittled! JUST KEEP LOOKING!!
Pros
Great Benefits if you can stand the HOSTEL work environment.
Cons
If you are not a part of the Clique then you are GONE! Also YOU ARE ON YOUR OWN! NO HELP!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just getting in the ac field
ac service tech (Former Employee) –  Abilene, TXJuly 16, 2018
very back stabbing , cheap and worried about the dollar to be made , didn't think about the employee , don't take care of company vehicles, played favorites
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family events several times a year.
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Ashland, VAJune 26, 2018
I started as a receptionist and worked my way up to the Office Manager. It was a very good opportunity. I learned a lot of different aspects of the business and self advanced very well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lack of support
Senior Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJune 18, 2018
support was none existing. I would rather not get into the politics of this company. so I will fill up space to move on, why do you make someone fill this out
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Electrician Mechanic/Foreman (Former Employee) –  Greenville, NCJune 13, 2018
I enjoyed my time at Watson. I especially like my supervisor and other employees in his group. The work did not get monotonous. I like the challenge of interpreting blueprints.
Pros
Steady work
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company to work for. They tell you that you can advance but in reality you probably won’t. No raises except cost of living.
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Duncan, SCJune 13, 2018
I worked for the Duncan SC office. The management is terrible everyday our crew was cussed out for the smallest things by the field superintendent. They talk about bonuses but the way it’s set up makes it almost impossible to get one. Only good thing about working here was some of the people that I met who eventually left also. Employees come and go so fast. They expect helpers to work by themselves with little support and no supervision. Only raise I saw during my employment was cost of living. A little advice if you find something better do not give a notice unless you can start at your new place of employment immediately as they will let you go.
Pros
Non
Cons
Poor field management, low pay, poor attitude/ personalities, no employee retention
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable, Safe and Productive work environment
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAMay 7, 2018
Typical day: 8 hrs 7:00-3:30 5days per week Monday-Friday Overtime & weekend work often available (sometimes required) 15 min paid brake around 9:00. 30 min un-paid lunch around 12:00.

I went through the apprentice program. The apprenticeship is solid. You can start with no experience. Classroom training, books, hands on training, Safety training all provided at no cost.

Management: Is competent, like everywhere some are better than others. They prefer to promote from within as positions become available or by company growth.

Culture: A safe, productive working environment. They try to create a team atmosphere on each project. A typical job is made up of a foreman, mechanic, apprentices, and helpers. ( the number of and experience of each depends on the size of the project). A honest day’s work is required to make it. Employees with the best attendance, production, quality and work ethic are paid fairly and occasionally recieve bonuses, they are also chosen to be promoted. Employees that regularly layout of work, require prodding to stay on task and don’t follow safety rules usually quit or are terminated. (which leads to high turnover)

Hardest part of the Job: Fast paced environment! The only thing pushed harder than Production and Quality is Safety.

Most enjoyable part of the job: I’m constantly learning. I get to work with my hands. I take pride in work done well. I like building new projects and creating Satisfied & Repeat customers.
Pros
Safe work environment, great benefits, Plenty of work.
Cons
Sometimes have to drive further than optimal
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive hands on traing experience!
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCApril 11, 2018
I was able to meet the challenges and demands of this role, i was able to utilize new skills and continue on with my growth and future opportunities and development.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Electrical install
Electrical Installer (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCMarch 28, 2018
Install Temporary Lighting ,set Transformers and disconnect pannels bend and install conduit then pull wire and connect to pannel boxes. job consists of extremely Heavy eqipment and took alot of stregth .on average 14 hrs a day
Pros
no free lunch breaks
Cons
slave to the grind long distances to drive
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Electricians Helper (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 19, 2018
The people there did their best to teach me about the electrical field, even though I worked there temporarily. Plenty of work to go around and most the time overtime was available.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management , unrealistic expectations, bad eye for talent
Mechanic/Formen (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCFebruary 23, 2018
Never get a raise or bonus. Don’t like you challenging there ways. Ran by old men that own the stock and appoint themselves to rediculous corporate positions to further suck up all the profit. Then they force you to use there prefab so they can steal hours of your job. They also rent all equipment they own to the job to further steal from your profits and spend nothing on raises or bonuses.
Pros
It’s a job
Cons
A lot
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Company
Service (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, NCFebruary 14, 2018
Worst Company to work for. Management is severely under qualified and inexperienced. Corporate is full of manipulating quacks who have no clue about running a company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Electrical Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Wilson, NCJanuary 29, 2018
Great work place , most are willing to teach, pay could have been better for what is in the area as far as jobs. Didn't like to travel out of town to do jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting job. You will learn a lot
Electrician Helper III (Former Employee) –  Chesapeake, VAOctober 18, 2017
typical day was basically quick paced because they went off production hours. my role was to run rooms with wire, install light fixtures, receptacles and light switches.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could have been so much more
Electrician Helper (Former Employee) –  Kernersville, NCSeptember 6, 2017
The people I worked with I have so much respect for. I gave 100% of myself and it looked like it was recognized. Management on the other hand saw differently. We still have so far to go it seems but I loved the experience, learned a lot from some good people. All I can say is thank you for the opportunity.
Pros
great place to both learn and work, employees good people who don't mind showing you anything
Cons
I guess its not for everyone. What more can I say?
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work.
Electrician (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAJuly 24, 2017
A lot of these construction companies are the same. Watson's downfall is the paid vacation and holidays but at least they have them. Only one week paid vacation and seven holidays after your first year with the company. No sick days. They do however, make up for it with their benefits package and there is plenty of opportunity for overtime. Not a bad gig when you compare it to a lot of places.
Pros
Overtime
Cons
Pto
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hazing on job sites and poor management
Electrical Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Greenville, NCJune 28, 2017
Low pay for the guys in the apprenticeship program. Definitely not enough to live off of. They have a messed up way for compensating you for travel time. One job site I was on I had to travel an hour and a half to get there. That's 3 hours round trip and you barely get anything for it. If you're looking to learn this is definitely not the place to work for. They frown up newbies in the industry and will do everything to make your job harder on you.
Pros
N/a
Cons
A lot of indecent people, low pay, next to nothing travel compensation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Watson Electrical. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 54 reviews
515
412
315
25
17

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture