Webster Bank Culture reviews

Found 71 reviews matching the search See all 287 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inconsistent, management unsupportive, hours inconsistent.
Universal Banker (Former Employee) –  East Haven, CTJuly 8, 2019
I enjoyed working with the public, co workers cut throat, very competitive. Long days, no backup. Human Resources unsupportive. Management unfair. Favoritism has no place in work environment, creates animosity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Technical Writer (Former Employee) –  Hartford, CTMay 13, 2019
Customer focused, great work-life balance. Pleasant work environment and location in downtown Hartford. Managers hard working and supportive to the employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commercial bank with small-bank feel
Branch Manager, VP (Former Employee) –  Waterford, CTApril 10, 2019
You are part of a team that extends beyond your branch. The management is supportive and expects top customer service. Compliance and accuracy are of the highest priority.
Sales culture is "needs-based", rather than "make the quota".
Webster Bank promotes community engagement.
Pros
Competitive Salary
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
o Coordinator Member Services (Former Employee) –  Sheboygan, WIMarch 21, 2019
Great place to work.
Good team work.
All employee being respect and fairly.
Great relaxed environment .friendly people.
Cooperative all coworkers and management.
Cons
No Cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working for Webster
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Bloomfield, CTJanuary 9, 2019
on a typical day at Webster i can always be counted to be on time. i gave my all to my job and worked well with all my co workers and the clients. i formed a family with a lot of the clients
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Culture w/excellent leadership
Senior Manager (Former Employee) –  CTOctober 25, 2018
Top of the house leadership at Webster Bank is amazing. The company has only had 3 CEOs over the past 80 years, which would be amazing alone, but to have only 3 and each of them be high quality is awesome.

The company has a vision and it starts at the top and resonates through the bank.

Great place to work, great people!
Pros
Great people
Cons
no onsite gym :)
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive learning Enviroment. Good Atmosphere to work in.
Personal Banker Platform (Former Employee) –  Newington, CTSeptember 25, 2018
My review of Webster good place to work an great reliable employment, good relaxed atmosphere and room to learn and grow. Great consumers to work with always helpful to know products.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Rocky Hill, CTSeptember 9, 2018
great place to work. Being New Englands bank there was not much room to grow or relocate outside of new england. people are friendly and the CEO is very approachable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High sales, quick pace and learning environment.
Associate Universal Banker (Current Employee) –  Bloomfield, CTAugust 6, 2018
A regular day at Webster is assisting customers with transactions and accounts/loans etc. Everyday you learn something new, whether it be products, procedure or finance related. Management is very reliable and knowledgeable when it comes to needing help with a customer or difficult task.The hardest part of the job would be sales. Throughout the day every branch updates their sales and competes between other Webster Banks in the market. The most enjoyable part of the job is connecting with different employees within the company and attending training classes.
Pros
Training seminars
Cons
Sales focused
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great colleagues and great place to work
Senior Banker (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 21, 2018
Fairly new to Webster Bank. Very much different from my previous job. I enjoy my job and my team.
The hardest part of the job is learning new products and systems. Other than that the most enjoyable part of my job is making sure that my customers are 100% satisfied with the service I provide.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Operations Specialist (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIMay 6, 2018
Work comes in through email, learned to process files, management is supportive, workplace culture is casual, the hardest part of the job is running repost, the most enjoyable part of the job is going everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved the people I worked with.
Universal Banker (Former Employee) –  Bristol, CTApril 17, 2018
Working at Webster is like a family. Everyone knows each other. It just was not corporate, still a small bank with little advancement. It is a great place to get your feet wet in the banking industry.
Pros
People
Cons
Advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small back turning corporate
Universal Banker (Former Employee) –  Needham, MAApril 16, 2018
First start everything was great. New upper management comes in and it starts to turn is culture into like other Banks. Being more like telemarketing company then being a people bank
Cons
Short to no lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great Banking Experience
Sr. Learning & Development Splst (Current Employee) –  Southington, CTMarch 30, 2018
A Great bank if you are looking for building relationships. I have found this institution to stand out in comparison to other institutions like this. Great Place
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many changes with not enough support.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  New EnglandMarch 21, 2018
While banking is currently in an evolving state, too much sales pressure will only alienate customers away. This pressure also creates a revolving door of employment as many individuals do not want to stay due to the sales culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no so fun
Associate Universal Banker (Former Employee) –  Warwick, RIMarch 20, 2018
so slow not busy that's one of the reasons the branch closed
sales goals were "over the top"
keeping busy all day was a challenge
great training program
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great culture
PROGRAM MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Southington, CTMarch 14, 2018
leaving a larger company to join a smaller one isn't so bad. Webster's culture and people focus makes up for some of the underdeveloped technology and reach some of it's competitors may have.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Place to Work
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Sheboygan, WIFebruary 23, 2018
I was treated terribly by management. I worked up to 80 hours a week some weeks, without any extra compensation or flex-time. I was paid over $10,000.00 less than new hires. The new hires didn't have industry experience, or more education. They counted on us not doing our homework to see if we were paid fairly.
Pros
Good PTO
Cons
Horrible management, crazy hours, internal politics, terrible organization
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and advancement
Loan Processor (Former Employee) –  Hartford, CTFebruary 20, 2018
Work enviroment was very competitive able to advance to other internal positions in the bank. Fast paced and very compettitve.
Pay was very good and annually raises were given
Pros
Advancement
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovation
Customer Care Manager-Vice President (Former Employee) –  Wallingford, CTJanuary 19, 2018
Webster Bank is an innovative financial institution. As part of the management team, it was up to the leadership team to develop new and exciting ways to solicit new business partnerships.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Webster Bank. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 287 reviews
567
477
378
238
127

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.7Personal Development

3.3Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight