Weill Medical College of Cornell University

Weill Medical College of Cornell University Employee Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Based on 450 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5195
4146
376
223
110
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 445 reviews matching the search See all 450 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive environment but lack of advancement
Financial Planning Analyst (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 11, 2018
A typical day at work involves an analysis that is given to you that day, and due before end of day. The analysis will involve creating some type of report on a provider or practice on revenue, expenses, productivity, etc. It needs to meet certain high expectations and will often change throughout the day. There are also the longer type projects such as modeling, budgeting, and forecasts, and these are expected to be completed in tandem with the urgent requests. This type of fast-paced, multi-tasking environment is where I thrive. However, as of late, I feel there is a lack of advancement and "supply" to meet the demand within the workforce. There is high competition and not enough opportunity to go around. It is also an outdated work culture, as it is healthcare, and is a lagging in keeping up with other NYC workplace cultures. The hardest part of the job is the tight deadlines, the most enjoyable part is the people.
Pros
Flexible, Great people, Good Benefits
Cons
Lack of career advancement, stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 2, 2018
its a good place to work. I've been there over 7 years and its very nice. my coworkers are amazing. i love working there . i would recommend anyone to work here
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Senior Medical Secretary (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 29, 2018
A typical day at work includes checking in/out patients, verifying insurances, scheduling both office visits and O.R. procedures, precerting radiology, surgical, and in office procedures, also checking daily messages via Epic system as well as outlook messages, maintaining the physician's administrative schedule, rescheduling and confirming apponitments, and scanning medical records.

The hardest part of the job is fitting in emergency patients when the schedule is booked solid .

The most enjoyable part is completing tasks and meeting the needs of patients.
Pros
benefits
Cons
Not enough Hours per week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to Work
Oncology Regulatory Specialist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 28, 2018
Weill Cornell is an Excellent Place to work they train you really well and invest in you. I would highly recommend Weill Cornell to anyone interested in learning about research
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Privacy and Security Architect - Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 28, 2018
Weill Cornell Medicine is a really great place to work. Everyone is looking to be part of a team and to help one another. Management is always looking out for their staff and how best to grow their skillset.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
room for growth
Senior Medical Secretary/ Call Center Agent (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 19, 2018
good benefits, learn alot of experience great co workers , great way to get your foot in the door if you would like to stay within weill cornell/ good pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the working environment!
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 13, 2018
Helping patient is one of the great benefits in working here. Staff and management work together for the benefits of the patients. Love the work atmosphere. the work culture and population is very diverse.
Pros
Team work!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you are Family First 9-5 This is the place for you.
Sr. Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 11, 2018
If you are Family First 9-5 This is the place for you. Great work Life balance, excellent benefits. But not a place to move fast and grow.

There is a very conservative culture here in terms of making change and doing interesting innovative things.

So if you are looking to make a change and improve things, you will find yourself slammed against a wall of Bureaucracy. If you try the techniques of 5 Why's you will always run into "it is the policy" with no understanding of why the policy exists, or where the policy is documented.

That being said, this is an incredibly ethical organization with kind people. There is not a lot of back stabbing.
Pros
9 to 5 strictly observed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 10, 2018
It was a great experience getting to learn the ins and outs of research here at this research lab. Everyone was very knowledgable and helpful in their own respective fields.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focused on Cutting Edge than Community/Culture
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 8, 2018
Great place to cut your teeth but is not invested in personal growth or professional development for entry-level staff. Hires overqualified candidates for positions that need minimal skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Something you might not know
Administrative Specialist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 8, 2018
There are many opportunities to take trainings, and learn new programs used at this institutions and others. If you like learning new skills, and asking questions this is a good place to be.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Medical and tuition benefits
Executive Assistant to Division Chief (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 5, 2018
Good place to work. Nice people. Team effort with coworkers. Positive work environment. Professionalism with management and coworkers. Would recommend.
Pros
Great medical and education benefits
Cons
Hire from outside rather than promote from within
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive department
Senior Medical Secretary (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 29, 2018
I enjoy working at the medicine department. In the last 2 years i have grown and learn so much within the practice. Looking to grown within the hospital it self
Pros
The co-workers
Cons
No room for growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional environment
Administrator (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 28, 2018
Many employees are not treated with respect. Upper management either does not want to address office issues or are a part of the culture that allow these issues to continue and grow.No room for growth unless you are well liked.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredibly steep learning curve with lack of training and concrete guidance
Clinical Research Coordinator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 24, 2018
The position i held at WCM had an incredibly steep learning curve with almost a complete lack of training from management. I had to learn all job skills through coworkers, who had to stop doing their own work on a regular basis to help train me on my job responsibilities. this regularly interrupted work flows. aside from this, my manager was either in meetings, or unavailable for other reasons. For most of my time at WCM, we had 5 research coordinators doing the work of 8 coordinators due to staff leaving the institution. We repeatedly asked management to hire new coordinators and to redistribute the work load. new personnel were hired around 6 to 7 months later. I would regularly have to work 45-50 hours a week just to keep up with my increased work load.

I feel that WCM would be a great place to work if management was able to adapt to challenges more efficiently and was more supportive of employees.
Pros
learned a lot of skills related to clinical research
Cons
absent management, steep learning curve, lack of support and training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome staff
Managed Care Accounts Receivable Supervisor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 17, 2018
My staff was great. HR does a very thorough job selecting candidates for most positions. Never had any issues with staff. They were knowledgeable and professional.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Clerical Typist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 15, 2018
Very nice staff and management. All employees were very friendly. Lack of transparency with staff and upper management. Silos between different departments. Not many inter-departmental collaboration
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helpful
Account Representative (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 14, 2018
great staffing company that stops at nothing to get you full time employment. staff is very helpful and caring to all of your needs when trying to find emplotment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Licensed Practical Nurse (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 7, 2018
Great manager great team to work with. Typical work day is assigned you get your assignment you stick to it efficiently also assist your team if needed.
Pros
great team
Cons
No one to fight for you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Reproductive Med- Account Administrator (Current Employee) –  575 51st new york nyMay 6, 2018
The WCMC is a great place to work. It's a very busy place, extremely challenging. I was trained in EPIC which is fantastic software for keeping track of patient's account. My travel time was long but easy. Management is fine, overall great experience. But time to move to another department. In my department, its always new information to learn
Pros
nice people
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Weill Medical College of Cornell University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Women's ratings

2.3Fairygodboss Score

33%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

67%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss