Wesleyan University Employee Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Based on 35 reviews
Ratings breakdown
516
410
36
22
11
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 28 reviews matching the search See all 35 reviews
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Middletown, CTJune 16, 2018
It was great. I had many different jobs. Was primarily a student and all my jobs were work-study but I thoroughly enjoyed all of them. Would consider going back for post-grad work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Game day and athletic building operation and associated skills
Internship (SNHU) (Former Employee) –  Middletown, CTMay 25, 2018
It was a energetic place to intern. Great team and the students were top notch fun and took their role as professionals both in academics and intercollegiate sports.
Pros
Paid trips + a 3credit course required to graduate
Cons
Unpaid Internship.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to coach
Wide Receivers Coach (Current Employee) –  Middletown, CTFebruary 2, 2018
Good place to coach, really enjoyable environment. Not a place that is overly forward thinking or a place that will spring board a coaching career, but it does provide valuable experience.
Pros
People
Cons
Salary, lack of upward mobility
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Working Environment
H.R. Specialist (Current Employee) –  Bloomington, ILJanuary 8, 2018
This was one of the better temp assignments that I have been on. I would recommend this business to anyone that needs a job and is qualified. The staff is friendly and their training program is amazing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gallery Monitor at Wesleyan
Student-Faculty Research Intern (Former Employee) –  RemoteDecember 26, 2017
Understanding bosses, great work environment. Loved talking to visitors about the work in the gallery and helping them find more art to visit on campus.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxing and enjoyable work environment
Field Advisor (Former Employee) –  Middletown, CTDecember 8, 2017
The work days at Wesleyan were rather long, however the pay is quite nice and all the staff there including the managers are great people to work with and be around.
Pros
free meals
Cons
long hours with very few breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research Assistant
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Middletown, CTAugust 23, 2017
Loads of room to explore intellectually e.g. design, execute, and analyze your own experiments. Great place to develop scientific writing and presentation skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Senior Interviewer, Office of Admissions (Current Employee) –  Middletown, CTAugust 21, 2017
Worked different student jobs throughout my time studying at the University. It helped me be able to support myself through my education. Wesleyan has a variety of jobs students can do during their time here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academic workplace with tremendous learning expriences
Teaching Assistant/Research Fellow, Chemistry (Former Employee) –  Middletown, CTAugust 4, 2017
Served as research fellow. Many opportunities to learn about all facets of Chemistry and publish in scientific journals. Presentations, seminars, and travel allowed for meeting many peers and professors.
Pros
Academic excellence, teaching opportunities
Cons
Small stipend, work time excessive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun pace to work
tutor for the Dean (Current Employee) –  Middletown, CTDecember 20, 2016
Very flexible hours and I found the environment and workplace atmosphere to be a collaborative and friendly one. Overall, I enjoy working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Regular
Graduate Student (Former Employee) –  Middletown, CTJuly 29, 2015
Normal day as a grad student is hard work. Lots of experiments to do. And teaching and meetings. Undergrads are very smart.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wesleyan University is an Academic Home
Method Developer of DFT and Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Middletown, CTJuly 14, 2015
Wesleyan University in Middletown, CT is a small yet fierce school striving for academic excellence in research across all fields of Chemistry.

We are a small department, and we get to know one another quite well. As such we become like a family.

I learned the most about anything I've ever known within those halls, and I thank all of my Professors for their contributions towards my education.

I would recommend anyone to attend Wesleyan University for a degree of any variety at any level.
Pros
Diverse offerings of seminars, Free Film Studies offerings, dance, music, and art exhibitions for little cost.
Cons
all can be made for the better or worse for the student, regardless of fact, depending on the opinion (however factual) of the research professor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best universities!
Assistant Professor (Former Employee) –  Middletown, CTJune 29, 2015
It's my alma mater so I have a biased review. The days were long and most hours are unpaid. But in the end it was always worth it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, awesome teachers with diverse backgrounds and qualifications
Analytical Chemistry Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Middletown, CTApril 7, 2015
Fun place to work, awesome teachers with diverse backgrounds and qualifications.

The workload was easy to manage, stress-free environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Tour Guide Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Middletown, CTMarch 30, 2015
Hands on experience. Good work environment, as well as great compensation. I learned a lot about the application process into universities, as well as marketing in general.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assistant Coach
Assistant Coach (Former Employee) –  Middletown, CTMarch 22, 2015
It was a really great introduction to coaching. Learned a lot about recruiting and running a college team on a day to day basis. Other coaches were fantastic to work with. Very enjoyable to see the results of your teams hard work and discipline. Laid back atmosphere. Fun environment. Low pay.
Pros
access to school facilities, certain classes paid for
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
liberal arts college
Visiting Assistant Professor (Former Employee) –  middletown, ctMarch 18, 2015
friendly and fun place to work. Co-workers were mean. Good tech support.
Students were highly motivated.
Middletown is not a good place to raise families.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 11Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Open and Productive Environment
Full Time Student (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHFebruary 18, 2015
Indiana Wesleyan is an all-pro student/ employee environment. The Staff is what makes this institution great. Minimal negative attitudes, focused, success oriented organization.
Pros
Highly Invested in Students/Employees
Cons
Systems Driven
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with Students and Faculty
Manager for the Memorial Chapel and 92 Theater (Former Employee) –  Middletown, CTOctober 2, 2014
It was wonderful to work directly with Faculty and Students in helping them realize their visions in music, dance and theater.
Every day was a different project for production, and keeping the spaces in good working order was always a challenge.
Pros
Great Faculty and Students
Cons
Bad Senior Managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and learn
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Middletown, CTAugust 17, 2014
Typical day would consist of running experiments which are aimed at understanding the mechanism of adjacent gene co-regulation in S. cerevisiae.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Wesleyan University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

3.1InHerSight Score

2.9Personal Development

3.0Career Opportunities

3.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Wesleyan University Reviews by Location