West Des Moines Community Schools Employee Reviews

Showing all 12 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for young kids
Childcare Provider (Current Employee) –  West Des Moines, IADecember 22, 2018
It runs in spilts for a before and after school setting.

Pay is great for some spending money.

Must be able to work with kids.

Summers are super fun, with trips every day.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Upper Management ruins the enjoyment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good co-workers!
Special Education Assistant (Former Employee) –  West Des Moines, IAOctober 9, 2018
Good co-workers. Supportive director and good team players. Best place I've ever worked. I left because I was offered a position which fulls within my area of study, (over Summer break).
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working with the students and parents
Paraprofessional (Former Employee) –  West Des Moines, IAApril 15, 2018
I worked with elementary kids. I preferred to work with older students because the communication seemed to be a lot better based on my past few months with elementary and high school students.
Pros
I had a job
Cons
communication between all employees needs to change
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible, exciting to work in different environments...
Substitute Teacher K-12 (Former Employee) –  West Des Moines Community SchoolsAugust 23, 2017
Substitute teaching is a wonderful opportunity to enjoy the flexibility of working hours of your choosing. There was always a job available. Enjoyed working with students and West Des Moines faculty and staff.

Did not enjoy the lack of personal environment and lack of relationships with co-workers.
Pros
Flexible hours, constantly learning and meeting new students.
Cons
Lack of personal environment and relationship with co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work environment
Bus Driver and Maintenance (Former Employee) –  West Des Moines, IAAugust 6, 2017
It was a good group of drivers and I enjoyed my time there. I also worked as a substitute driver during my time in the maintenance dept. District focuses on welfare and education of children.
Pros
positive work environment
Cons
shortage of drivers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Currently going through restructuring
Supervisor/Manager (Former Employee) –  West Des Moines, IAJuly 27, 2017
Job environment dependent on position and location. Compensation on scale with no flexibility for performance consideration. Great retirement savings and benefits options.
Pros
Retirement package
Cons
Currently restructuring
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful if you love working with kids!
1 Assistant (Former Employee) –  West Des Moines, IAJune 16, 2017
Great for those who want summers off and a shorter work day. Usually about 6.5 hours a day. The day usually starts 15 minutes before the kids arrive and ends about 15 minutes after kids leave.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment, staff, and students
Special Education Associate Teacher (Former Employee) –  W Des Moines, IAJune 3, 2016
I thoroughly enjoyed working as a teacher along with all of the other teachers at my school and in the district. I was encouraged to learn new programs and helped implement in the classroom. We had an excellent team of teachers (4) within our special education classroom. We supported each other and assisted with any and all students. It was great to see the students achieve goals and get excited to learn new things.
Pros
Supportive colleagues, excellent students to work with.
Cons
Occasional behavior problems
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
General Worker-Kitchen (Current Employee) –  West Des MoinesJune 23, 2015
Prepping of food that is then served to the students at the school.
Clean, Rising and Sanitizing of designated areas.
Great interaction with staff and students that attend the school.
Pros
Working with a great school with great staff and students
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning and friendly environment
Clerical and Substitute Associate (Former Employee) –  West Des Moines, IAMay 22, 2014
Assisted teachers with daily lesson plans.
I've learned how to educate and properly discipline students
Management and co-workers were supportive and helpful.
Pros
Teaching students and helping them learn
Cons
Using different techniques to resolve conflict.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very diverse and varied activities make day go quickly
Secretary to Principal (Former Employee) –  West Des Moines, IAOctober 8, 2013
Work day included greeting parents and students starting with the morning attendance. The morning also consisted of checking in substitute teachers and making sure absentee teachers were covered in the classroom. Once these things were done the routine consisted of accounting, purchasing, inventory and maintenance of the office equipment. Telephone customer service was a big part of the daily routine as well as servicing the needs of the staff. Co-workers were varied but in this environment most are very positive and caring individuals. The most enjoyable part of the job was the variety it offered and the hardest part of the job was in handling upset parents or students. Management is different in this environment because the actions of the building staff is controlled by policies outside the building - you simply adapt to the rules and regulations of the district.
Pros
Variety, fast paced-time goes quickly
Cons
No breaks were taken - time sometimes went too quickly
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at West Des Moines Community Schools. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.6
Based on 12 reviews
57
45
30
20
10

Ratings by category

4.5Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.3Culture

West Des Moines Community Schools Reviews by Location