West Liberty Foods Employee Reviews

Showing all 198 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely heavy work load
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  West Liberty, IAApril 20, 2019
The company was very demanding about overtime, sometimes requesting up to 12 hours per day, and/or 7 days per week. Excellent opportunity for a single person with no family, but terrible otherwise.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good companyb
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  West Library, PAApril 10, 2019
Great company and management
Friendly Environment
Good pay
Friend co workers
Inventory and stocks well managed
Clean and safe environment
All need work tools are there for the job
Pros
Great company
Cons
No flexibilty
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
MOLDER (Former Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, IAMarch 31, 2019
If I would relocate again I for sure would be going back. Friendly people. Everyone is willing to lend a helping hand. Everyone had good sense of humor and always wanted to see you smiling. Could easily advance. Not much bad to say except it would get frustrating when the line wasn't cooperating, it made it harder for us molders to do our job if the slice techs weren't doing theirs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, IAMarch 27, 2019
repair break downs
repair equipment
overview time cards
overview PMs
take radio calls
communicate with radios
PM lines
work on webers
work on multiva
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
West liberty food
Packer (Former Employee) –  IowaMarch 26, 2019
You will work under a 20° freezer and you will be packing turkey ham get them ready for our customers and boxing them up and placing on plates and after 2 hours you have to keep it sanitizer for the next product.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress and cold
Quality assurance technician (Former Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, IAMarch 15, 2019
this is a meat packing plant that is kept at around 40 degrees at all times. It is fast paced and depending on the job high stress. I started as a boxer, then a manifester, ran line one, and then transferred to the QA department. As QA I had a lot of duties, but the main ones are as follows:
inspect rooms before production
test chemical levels
swab various surfaces for testing
inspect product after it has been sliced
inspect product after it has been packaged
inspect product as it is being received
monitor employees for good practices i.e. no jewelry, hand washing
pull samples
Pros
decent benefits and wages for this area
Cons
lots of hours and overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work, but too short handed
Receiving Associate (Former Employee) –  Tremonton, UTMarch 13, 2019
Enjoyable place to work. The pay and benefits are very good. The attendance policy is too strict. The staff was short handed most of the time which made it stressful at times.
Pros
Good pay, good benefits
Cons
Ridiculous attendance policy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor everything
Shipping and Receiving Clerk (Current Employee) –  Bolingbrook, ILMarch 8, 2019
Horrible place to work when I tell you there’s other places please don’t pick here not even playing games run run run run run do not WORK HERE Please
Pros
Morning shift
Cons
Everything management employees everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meat molder
Molder (Former Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, IAFebruary 18, 2019
Fast paced work. Have to wear body suits. Attend monthly safety meeting. Keep area clean and organized. Fun place to work with great shifts. Management is very helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced great people to work with
Operator HPP (Current Employee) –  Tremonton, UTFebruary 17, 2019
Be aware of what they show you. Training is not very good. Ask lots of question to understand. You work with a lot of good people. Must like the cold its about 38 degrees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sometimes fun
beef trim (Former Employee) –  West Liberty, IAFebruary 4, 2019
I would put truckey breast on racks all day and help others when they need it I am a hard worker and wont stop at nothing and I will not stop until I finish something
Pros
good
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was an alright job
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Tremonton, UTFebruary 4, 2019
Management is not the great but was not a terrible place to work. You have enough time off working the 2-2-3 schedule witch was an upside to working at this company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun workplace to be at
poultry preparer/packer (Former Employee) –  Bolingbrook, ILFebruary 1, 2019
It was a fun workplace to be at and I had a lot of fun working there . Mangers were very good and understoodable , the job was very easy . I was on time and punchable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fut
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  West Liberty, IAJanuary 30, 2019
Worked in maintenance and utilities training on going to night shifts work 2 days on and 2 days off and every other weekend which consists of Saturday Sunday and Monday the days you work one week you’re off same days following week
Pros
Fuy
Cons
Drive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It started out to be a great place to work but due to bad leadership management company went down really fast
Line Technician (Current Employee) –  Bolingbrook IllinoisJanuary 23, 2019
It started out to be a great place to work. I enjoy working with the people that managers. I learned a lot working there the people was very helpful of teaching you how to improve yourself and grow I'm very glad that I had opportunity to work there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good experience
Intern (Former Employee) –  Tremonton, UTJanuary 22, 2019
I was there for an internship program. It was a very good learning experience. Would love to go back and work for them. Employees and Management was very friendly.
Pros
great place to work
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  West Liberty, IAJanuary 22, 2019
Horrible hours horrible management zero flexibility limited restroom breaks and didn’t get a break paid or non paid for 3 years 12 hour shifts no breaks for food or restroom
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Health and safety hazard
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  West Liberty, IAJanuary 21, 2019
The place stinks and management is poor, the very air you breathe is tainted with chemicals used as anti microbials. The stench and health risk of poultry offal and blood is overwhelming. Work is very repetitive. Pay is inconsiderate versus the work load you are placed under. For a place claiming to be a family oriented company, they fall far from that with extensive hours, high physical demand, and poor business decisions, It is a matter of time before they are forced to shut their doors
Pros
multicultural
Cons
read the review
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production work
back up killer (Former Employee) –  Jay, OKJanuary 17, 2019
very fast paced,repetitious,very family orientated.great company to work for. great open door policy.west liberty is also very into the surrounding community. and a great job provider
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to to start
Human Resources Recruiting Specialist (Former Employee) –  Mount Pleasant, IAJanuary 14, 2019
Ok to place to start it is a production plant for lunch meat. It is a cold damp plant the pay us good for the area. You will work weekends. Benefits are standard
Pros
good pay
Cons
cold work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at West Liberty Foods. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 198 reviews
532
460
350
227
129

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.0Culture