WEST TREE SERVICE Employee Reviews

Showing all 34 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Groundman (Former Employee) –  Hot Springs, ARApril 2, 2019
Not a place for big guys. They do not pay good especially grounds men. You work in all elements and basically treated like trash,when the grounds man do most of the work. I believe if they paid and treated their employees better they would have a wonderful companie.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized
Medium Duty Truck Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARFebruary 15, 2019
Was a mechanic. Was very unorganized and poorly managed. Lack of experience with in fellow employees. Management had no experience in fleet maintenance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to Work For
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Sapulpa, OKFebruary 3, 2019
West Tree is a great company that takes care of its employees and rewards hard work. If you show up every day and work safely you will move up in the company and earn a great living for you and your family.
Pros
Leadership, new equipment, paid time off, hourly wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced very little down time
Payroll/Billing Clerk (Current Employee) –  Little Rock, ARNovember 7, 2018
Typical day at work is very fast paced with a lot of deadlines everyday. Always Changing nothing ever stays the same. Production based bid company so you never know what the budget will be like no job security.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
no good benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible pay, dranatic enviroment due to unbusiness like supervisors
GROUNDHAND (Former Employee) –  Fort Smith, AROctober 8, 2018
Dont work there. Horrible pay, dramatic enviroment due to unprofessional supervisors. promised one amount of pay got another. Was there a year with no raises even though I worked my tail off and never missed a day
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good place for a career
Certified Tree Trimmer (Former Employee) –  Fort Smith, ARJuly 29, 2018
Over my time working at the west tree service, I gained a lot of friends. I learned very many life changing skills along with valuable lessons. I believe west tree service is a very good work place and will give you the ability To further your career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hard-working competitive fun environment
Cutter (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, ARJune 23, 2018
Terrible pay and lack of upper mobility GF and DOC are great high paced thrilling work environment very challenging and rewarding would love the work at a competitive wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy hot stressful
Tree Trimmer (Current Employee) –  Fort Smith, ARMay 30, 2018
I am just ready to provide better for my wife and kids West is a good place to work for someone who maybe don’t have children or a lot of bills to pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outdoors employment working in heavily wooded areas,safety iwad always stressed due the wildlife and of course the powerlines
Groundsman, Heavy equipment operator (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARMarch 18, 2018
Its a safety minded company who made sure that every worker did everything in accordance with Osha.
We had to be conscious of your surroundings at all times.
Pros
Obtained my class cdl, learned to operate heavy equip(jarraff)
Cons
Weather predicted your day and all the snakes and other wildlife
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an alright job
Grounds men (Former Employee) –  Fort Smith, ARMarch 15, 2018
It was a decent job my first started out but after I was there for Osher a while I quickly realized how much drugs and drama going on at the workplace the bosses and supervisors didn’t really seem to care about the drugs and drama that went on
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Woodsman
Groundsman (Former Employee) –  Russellville, ARJune 2, 2017
If you like the idea of working outdoors, and being for all intents and purposes, a modern day woodsman/lumber jack, with all the safety expectations of a large corporation, then here's the job for you!!
Pros
standard shifts, work with some heavy equipment, certifications available, pay raises and promotions available
Cons
working in the outdoor weather, overtime can happen spiratically
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
driver and groundman (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, ARMay 29, 2017
I have learned alot from this company and the men that work here. The general forums are easy to work for and just rhe overall of the company is awesome
Cons
communication with the Hispanic
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, physicly demanding.
Groundsman/Driver (Former Employee) –  conway, arkansasMay 25, 2017
The job wasnt complicated but it was physicly demanding. Lifting heavy chunks of wood 6-7 feet off the ground in a repetative motion for 30 minutes to an hour at a time wasnt a great expierence. The work enviroment was always changing though so i enjoyed it.
Pros
outdoors, good people, good pay.
Cons
bad weather, dangerous conditions, had to wear clothes that coukd be torn.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you have to injoy what you do
Forman (Former Employee) –  Hot Springs, ARMay 23, 2017
Keep your head down and don't say a word, if you want
a good work exspireance there. Don't cause waves, and you won't be an example.
I did my job and had fun. Stay safe and take care of your family. That are counting on you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
West Tree Service
Arborist Climber, Groundsman (Current Employee) –  Muskogee, OKApril 22, 2017
West Tree Service is a job I will give it that. However, you are going to be breaking your back day in and day out. Its the rainy season so getting a job is easy but, it's hard manual labor.
Pros
hours, work, money
Cons
hard labor, on call 24/7
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My crew and equipment kill the job.
Groundsman (Current Employee) –  Bismarck, ARApril 9, 2017
They need to try harder for better equipment and workers. I do not like working with lazy people and the whole crew I am on is lazy. the chipper we use to chip brush stops up every 5 feet and they don't seem to care about fixing it.
Pros
its not hard
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente al aire libre
Fumigador (Former Employee) –  ArkansasJanuary 14, 2017
Buenos compañeros ambiente fresco y buena comunicación entre compañeros y group lider
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work.
Groundsman (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARDecember 27, 2016
Was good while it lasted.The compensation and overtime was awesome.I'f I had another opportunity I would Diffantly take the opportunity,the benefits were great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job
Crew Foreman (Former Employee) –  Fort Smith, ARDecember 8, 2016
Overall enjoyable place to work. Regular hours. Not much room for advancement and not the best pay but it is a stable company to work for. Decent benefits. Decent management.
Pros
You stay fit, regular time off
Cons
physically demanding. not the best pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job but can be stressful when busy
Groundsman (Former Employee) –  Russellville, ARNovember 19, 2016
A fun work environment but very unorganized. Even placing an order over the phone there is always a problem. The hardest part about this job would be working on super bowl Sunday.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at WEST TREE SERVICE. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 34 reviews
510
410
37
24
13

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.2Culture