West Virginia University Employee Reviews

Showing all 365 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay not acceptable pay
Professional Student Intern (Current Employee) –  Morgantown, WVFebruary 6, 2019
OK place to work but pay was very poor. The days were long but it was fun. I did liked most of the people i worked with but higher management was terrible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great University
Visiting Graduate Student (Former Employee) –  Morgantown, WVFebruary 5, 2019
WVU is a highly rated public university located in Morgantown, West Virginia. It is a large institution with an enrollment of 20,524 undergraduate students. Admissions is somewhat competitive as the WVU acceptance rate is 76%. Popular majors include Liberal Arts and Humanities, Journalism, and Sociology. Graduating 57% of students, WVU alumni go on to earn a starting salary of $32,700.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and learn
Adjunct Faculty (Former Employee) –  Morgantown, WVJanuary 30, 2019
Very exciting environment to work in. Wide variety of cultures represented. Lots of opportunity to teach different classes and people. Fun people to teach and learn from.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
West Virginia University is Outstanding!
Visiting Committee/Advisory Board Member (Current Employee) –  Morgantown, WVJanuary 28, 2019
As a Visiting Committee/Advisory Board member West Virginia University's Department of Sociology and Anthropology, it is an absolute honor giving back to my Alma Mater.

As this is a volunteer position, I would have it no other way. West Virginia University provided me with the educational foundation to position me where I am today. I am so very grateful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WVU employees work to make the University a better place
Staff (Current Employee) –  Morgantown, WVJanuary 28, 2019
WVU is a good place to work. For the most part the jobs are stable and the employees work to make the University a better place everyday. Compensation is slightly lower than industry standard for Staff positions.
Pros
Stability, people
Cons
Staff Compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
freat place to live in
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Morgantown, WVJanuary 25, 2019
west virginia is a beautiful hilly area and the community developed around the university is great with lot of fun activities. Definitely recommend others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent University
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Morgantown, WVJanuary 22, 2019
This university offers everything you could ever want from an employee perspective. Good pay, benefits, supports, etc etc. I fully recommend working here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engineer
Formula SAE/Suspension component designer (Current Employee) –  buildingJanuary 19, 2019
work load seems to be scattered in the beginning years of the program. In the final semesters the curriculum seems to come together and the practical real world applications become more clear
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Biased hiring and promotion practices
Professor (Former Employee) –  Morgantown, WVJanuary 10, 2019
In the past ten years, the university has implemented internal policies to discourage male employees, denying them advancement and hiring women solely based on gender. As a woman, how can I feel that they are not viewing me as a "victim" that can't make it without their policies? Exit, stage left . . . .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Postdoctoral Fellow (Former Employee) –  Morgantown, WVDecember 28, 2018
great work culture
people are helpful always willing to help
great working envirnoment
hardest part of job
not getting enough time for other research studies
Pros
productive
Cons
no
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about West Virginia University?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place.
Program Assistant II (Former Employee) –  Morgantown, WVDecember 21, 2018
I enjoyed my time at West Virginia University. Great environment and great co-workers. I would highly recommend a career at the University. Let's Go Mountaineers!!!
Pros
Great benefits.
Cons
Parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality Work Environment
Consultant Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Morgantown, WVDecember 12, 2018
West Virginia University puts a high precedence on hiring individuals who act cohesively in the workplace. There are hardly ever rifts between employees because of the hiring process and their extensive selection criteria.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Charleston, WVDecember 10, 2018
love it there, the people were great and so were the students, hated that i had to go back home. The reason why i did that was to pursuit college in my home state.
Pros
the students
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job Bad Pay
Chef Manager, Evansdale Residential Complex (Former Employee) –  Morgantown, WVDecember 2, 2018
I loved working at WVU. I enjoyed the people I worked with. The managers were fair and I got along with them well. Really the only downside is the pay. I had to work alot of side jobs to make ends meet.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and live
Graduate Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Morgantown, WVNovember 11, 2018
It's a great place to learn on a daily basis. I both study and work at WVU. It is easy, fun and motivating to work with the nicest colleagues in such a nice environment without any kind of discrimination.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Budget Analyst (Current Employee) –  Morgantown, WVNovember 10, 2018
Being a state employee has its pros and cons typical 8 to 5 work environment for administrative professionals. Above average paid holidays and flexible time off.
Pros
paid vacation holidays sick time 401K Medical Dental and Vision Insurance
Cons
no short term disability can be difficult to advance ones career
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School
Senior Design Project Lead (Former Employee) –  Morgantown, WVNovember 7, 2018
This was school. There was not much in the realm of actually working for them. But WVU made it their job to help you succeed at your degree and you education.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
everything was great
Work Study Student (Former Employee) –  Morgantown, WVNovember 4, 2018
i had a great time working for the university. people were great. the management was alot of fun. if any of my jobs were pleasurable, i would definitely recommend this one.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Research
Post-Doctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Morgantown, WVOctober 24, 2018
Department is collaborative and supports its employees well. Although employees work hard, there are many benefits and I found this job to be much more enjoyable to similar ones held in the past.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and mentor younger students
Residence Hall Assistant (Former Employee) –  Morgantown, WVOctober 22, 2018
The main thing I enjoyed is the relationships formed with co-workers and residents. This job will give you lots of contact with the residents and you can form strong bonds.
Pros
Free housing, free meals, $50 every 2 weeks
Cons
Hard to manage if you have lots of extracurricular activities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at West Virginia University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 365 reviews
5176
4114
357
210
18

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture

Ratings from women

3.2InHerSight Score

3.3Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

3.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight