Westat Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Training Workshops
Assessment Administrator (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDSeptember 12, 2018
I traveled to schools to test in math and science. Normally we would be at the schools by 7:00 AM to get the tablets set up and be ready to start our testing by 8:00.Working with the administration of different schools was enjoyable. We met lots of neat teachers. It was neat to see the students so engaged on the tablets. After testing, I would take each of the individual flash drives from their tablets and submit their data. As long as we had no technical issues with our tablets the testing went great. I had an excellent supervisor who was always available if I had any issues. This made my job much easier for me.
Pros
Seeing the many creative ideas in the different schools
Cons
Early morning travel, sometimes would leave home at 5:00 AM.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere
Computer Help-Desk Analyst (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDSeptember 12, 2018
Coworkers are very helpful. Now micro-managing. Management is easy to get along with. The job isn't hard but there is a lot of work to be done. You're always going to be busy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellect support
Field Interviewer (Former Employee) –  IdahoSeptember 9, 2018
Training and procedures provided by company, flexible work days and hours, Mileage reimbursed by company. Selection on eligible interviewees and scheduling of in-home interviews at employees discretion.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Field Data Collector (Former Employee) –  work from home and in the communityAugust 30, 2018
Westat really take great care of all staff and provide plenty of training
working with Westat you work from home and in the community with our seniors
upon my visit with the seniors, I did blood collection and government surveys
Pros
work from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal Work Only
Professional Interviewer (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDAugust 28, 2018
Great and well-organized company. Work for a Field Interviewer is only available for a few months at a time but if you provide excellent results you will most likely be called back for the next season.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Clerk/Field Interviewer (Current Employee) –  TelecommuteAugust 28, 2018
Westat is an employed owned company and has many benefits. They have several interesting projects to work in. Work is flexible and can fit with various schedules.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting people on project
Tester, June 23, 2014 - Present (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MD 20850August 21, 2018
Excellent employee owned company. Good training, positive experience. No problems with self motivation because you believe in the study and the benefits of the study.
Pros
Nice gym
Cons
Slow work at time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible part/time job
DATA COLLECTOR (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDAugust 12, 2018
Great company to work for but their is a lack of opportunity for advancement within the organization. It allows the opportunity to work from home however, management then becomes too virtual.
Pros
convienent hours/scheuling
Cons
inter personal
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDAugust 7, 2018
Westat is a great place to work. Westat runs solely on the work they win off of proposals. The business is becoming more competitive with other outside companies like Westat. Stock options are great.
Pros
Stock Options, Match 401K
Cons
low salary, no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Westat Experience
Data Collector Specialist (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDJuly 30, 2018
After working for 11 years at Westat, I enjoyed working there.
I gained experience with my interviewing skills. Managment was very professional. The workplace culture was very enthusiastic. The hardest part of the job was to meet deadlines with clients on short notice but we always completed our tasks. The most enjoyable part was the personal satisfaction of getting the work done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

Want to know more about Westat?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning experience
Nutrition Surveyor (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDJuly 17, 2018
Everyone was very nice at Westat. I was able to travel and really experience a ton through the company. I have no negatives of working there. I would recommend.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse Campus with hidden glass ceiling
Computer Technician (Current Employee) –  Rockville, MDJuly 6, 2018
After working for a total of 11.5 years I can say there’s plenty of things good and PLENTY that’s bad! Depending which group and contract you work for that’s what will determine your experience at this company. The pay is under the industry rates however it’s stable with benefits and stocks.
Pros
Health care, 401k, stocks, Stable
Cons
Inequality and limited to no growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too much like working for the government
Data Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 3, 2018
Clinical Trials Area. Most of contracts are with government so that mentality and bureaucracy has been ingrained deeply. Very difficult to change and adapt to anything new.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extraordinary people
Coordinator (Former Employee) –  San Juan, PRJuly 3, 2018
The only negative side of working for Westat it was that it is a seasonal job. It can be stressful but as a Coordinator, you can control your work schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clinical Research
Assessment Coordinator (Former Employee) –  RaleighJuly 1, 2018
A typical day would include managing 65-80 sites in Hematology. Ensuring the TMF is audit ready. Work with CRAs and CTMs to assist sites with Protocol Amendment updates.
Pros
Management, flexible work weeks
Cons
contrack
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working there
Department Secretary (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDJune 30, 2018
working at Westat was the best thing ever happened to me. Friendly leadership, caring individuals! Compensation - was great. Culture is great everyone feels welcome
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
taxing at times
National Testing Assessment Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Reinbeck, IAJune 22, 2018
Westat employment is seasonal based on what program requires support. It provides acceptable training and pays reasonably. It can be a demanding job at times but is well organized and managed.
Pros
Limited time assignment
Cons
Very rigid in its policies
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK Place to work
Senior Study Director (Former Employee) –  Rockville, MDJune 22, 2018
OK Place to work. The supervisors were variable - some were nice and some were mean (one had serious mental issues). They were flexible about letting folks work from home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to work from Home
BILINGUAL FIELD INTERVIEWER (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 19, 2018
Westat is a great company to work and have very flexible hours. There is always something new to learn to keep staff up to date with new procedures. Great people to work with, I meet new interviewers. I enjoyed they send us for training to another State and to brush up our skills with others coworkers in the same field.
Pros
Great pay and Flexible schedule
Cons
Not enough hours sometimes after bulk Interviews finish
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of travel
Field Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJune 15, 2018
Lots of driving and travel to meet and find respondents. You have to watch your number and keep up with quotas. Supervisors are fine and helpful.
Training was good in LA.Pay was fair.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Westat. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 361 reviews
5161
4118
358
215
19

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
3.5

3.4Personal Development

3.7Career Opportunities

3.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight