Western National Insurance Group Employee Reviews

Showing all 10 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Western National
Employee (Current Employee) –  Edina, MNMarch 4, 2019
Western National is a great place to work. It has its moments like all companies, but they truly care about their employees. Change isnt always the quickest here but seems to be improving.

Work/life balance seems to be a big focus and the benefits are some of the best I have ever had. Competitive Medical/Dental but also good 401K matching, profit sharing bonus, and a great wellness program.

The technology was a bit behind in the past but has been getting much stronger as of late. Seems like it was a major focus for SR management.

Still some growing pains, but a company where you seem to find a lot of friendly/smiling faces.
Pros
Benefits, Culture, Work/Life balance
Cons
Technology still improving
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile work environment
Claims Adjuster (Former Employee) –  MinnesotaMarch 15, 2018
Poor management that cause hostile work environment that no one wants to be around. HR and upper management do nothing to help when approached. This is only in certain departments.
Pros
Excellent benefits
Cons
Hostile work environment in certain departments
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changing culture
Commercial Lines (Current Employee) –  Edina, MNSeptember 7, 2017
WN was a very successful, employee centered company and a fun place to work. Then someone got the bright idea that they should bring in a large number of managers from one outside the company (from a failing company) and the culture has totally gone downhill in the last few years. From team centered to micro-managed.
Pros
Good benefits, employee functions
Cons
Lack of management direction, multiple changes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To many projects
IT (Current Employee) –  Edina, MNJuly 13, 2017
To many projects not enough resources, corporate does not know how to say no so IT is severely understaffed. WN is a reactive company not a company that wants to look ahead. Every system was severely outdated and now they are rushing to get new and updated apps. They are putting bandaids and work arounds on everything instead of completing things correctly.
Pros
Start with 3weeks vacation
Cons
Your ideas seem to fall on deaf ears
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had a great internship for 2 years
Intern (Former Employee) –  Edina, MNJanuary 13, 2017
This is a great place to get your foot in the door, and learn about insurance and getting into a real job. It's a very quiet company and the office is quiet as well, but you just put your headphones in and do your work. I learned a lot of things about excel, visio, and word. Management was nice and the co workers were older but they were nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Already reviewed!
A ten week paid summer internship (Former Employee) –  Eden Prairie, MNMay 10, 2016
I learned a considerable amount there!
• I worked at the customer relationship center.
• I created and reviewed a survey on the effects of happiness in the workplace.
• I helped customers with any store related problems.
• Finding movies, advising them on which product should be chosen based on their taste.
• I cleaned the store. I restocked products and scanned new product into the system, also worked as a cashier.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked for Western National as a contract worker.
Premium Billing Department (Former Employee) –  Edina, MNMarch 13, 2016
I was assigned to Western National as a contract worker. I worked for them for almost 1 year. I learned many things while I was with them. I enjoyed working with them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Financial Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edina, MNOctober 11, 2014
Get good bonus. Good benefit. Place to growth. Good Management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good insurance company
Multi Line Rater (Former Employee) –  Edina, MNJanuary 16, 2014
It is a good insurance company to work for. They are good people to work for and have good property and causalty insurance products there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Western National Insurance Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 10 reviews
53
40
34
22
11

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.1Culture

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.7Personal Development

2.5Career Opportunities

3.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Western National Insurance Group Reviews by Location