Western Union Employee Reviews

4.0
Overall rating
Based on 855 reviews
Ratings breakdown
5308
4292
3193
239
123
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 437 reviews matching the search See all 854 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice experience
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Pantego, TXJuly 18, 2018
Payday Loans, Title Loan, Cash checks.
Help customer fill out forms to apply for loans, verify bank, personal and verify employment. Handle and be responsible for large amount of money. I enjoy learning new thing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Territory Sales Manager, Central Region (Former Employee) –  Denver, COJuly 16, 2018
It is hard to get anywhere in the company. When I was there upper management had been there for decades. Their meetings were informative, when we had them.
Pros
work remotely
Cons
hard to go up the ladder
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mostly took incoming calls from Customers and Agents
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Bridgeton, MOJune 27, 2018
When I first started Western Union in 1982, we still had telegrams. In the mid-1990's telegrams were no more, because no one sent them anymore. The internet had taken over. Most of my time was taking calls from customers transferring money for various reasons and I would have to verify we were dealing with the real credit card holder through various means. If I could not verify for sure we were dealing with the card holder would turn them down. I also worked in the accounting department a couple of times on a temporary assignment doing 10 key strokes. I also would relieve the receptionist for breaks, lunches, or when the receptionist was on vacation.
Pros
Flexible Hours
Cons
Was forced to quit.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place and benefits
Senior Compliance Analyst, Interdiction (Current Employee) –  Englewood, COJune 25, 2018
WU is a great place to work with great benefits for all employees. The possibilities of moving up in the company are endless. They really try to take care of their employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Western union
Checker/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 20, 2018
Western union is a great place to work you learn a lot and it’s a really diverce place to work, you meet people from all around the world. Check cashing and money orders are really beneficial to the real world wide.
Pros
Job wise
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ebbs and Flow of Business
Director Global Sourcing - Indirect (Current Employee) –  Englewood, COJune 18, 2018
The business follows the market and it goes up and down constantly as far as strategic planning and expense mgmt. Good pay good people, and the benefits are what you would expect from a large corporation. Western Union is a family oriented company and has great work life balance for families. The things that could change would be the culture due to the fear of layoffs every year and the constant changes at the leadership level cause for strategic staleness and fatigue amongst the employee's.
Pros
Work Life Balance
Cons
Sytrategic Direction chnages regularly
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be sure its a good fit before joining
Supervisor, Global Agent Organization (Former Employee) –  Denver, COJune 16, 2018
Liked the people a lot but be sure the job proved not to be a great fit for my interests. Rather than tough it out I thought it best to move on in equal measure so that management could hire someone better fit for the position.
Pros
People
Cons
Compliance gets by with Excel sometimes; limited resources to upgrade
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay job, loved my coworkers
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Farmington Hills, MIJune 14, 2018
Busy work days, great training and nesting period, you are required to read and handle calls by using a prewritten script, not much room for growth within
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible work schedule
Senior Compliance Officer (Former Employee) –  RemoteJune 10, 2018
Pros: Flexible Work Schedule, Above Average Compensation, Opportunity for growth, particularly in corporate setting

Cons: expectation for long working hours, constant management changes, if you have a bad manager you are out of luck
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with ping pong table.
Senior Developer (Former Employee) –  OntarioJune 2, 2018
It is a good place to work...

The typical day starts with a stand up meeting to discuss about the project progress. And the focus will be on the core work rather than meetings.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work, hard to promote
Senior Specialist, AML Operations (Former Employee) –  Denver, COJune 1, 2018
The leadership at western union could use training in how to be an effective leader. Career advancement in this position is difficult when you have not be part of a “group”.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was okay
Burkes Agency Teller/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Manchester, JAMay 27, 2018
At times the job would be difficult as well as management would be difficult. I found the managers to be biased pertaining to its workers. But other than that the environment in regards to the customers was fairly friendly
Pros
Vacations, sometimes free lunches
Cons
No healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Analyst, Global Compliance Internal Testing (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 24, 2018
Good place to learn the fundamentals of business. Helpful managers. Fair hours and compensation. Offices located around the world make travel possible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable company and management
Senior IT Technical Trainer (Former Employee) –  Englewood, COMay 15, 2018
It's been almost 10 years since working there, however when I was employed at WU, I found the work place to be unfriendly and unstable. The product was not sustainable which drove a lot of fear among employees.
Pros
None
Cons
Products
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managed money transfers through Computer
Customer Service at Exxon (Former Employee) –  Mt. Pleasant, TXMay 10, 2018
Part of customer service in Exxon gas station, helped made money transfers through computer and other means. Also cashed checks for clients if they where retreating money.
Pros
Flexiable
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a solid company
IT Manager - Infrastructure Solutions Architect (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 10, 2018
Many org changes might not give employees a clear direction. There are good working relationship and environment.

Work and life balance is good. Most of company activities are driven by sales group but not individual groups.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment meeting all kinds of people
Agent (Current Employee) –  Randolph, MAMay 9, 2018
It is a lot of work when in an area where it is popular, but I meet all kinds of people and allow me to gain the valuable skills of being organized while maintaining good customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
speed pay
Customer Service & Credit (Former Employee) –  Cedar Rapids, IAMay 9, 2018
Wages and benefits were compatible. Work was not hard and was consistant. This was a really good way to pay a bill or make a payment quickly. Management made sure you were trained and had all the materials that you needed to take care of the job and were readily available to answer any questions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great steady income and hours
Customer Service Agent I (Former Employee) –  Englewood, COApril 28, 2018
Great hourly wage and benefits, great trainers and training class. Nice helpful environment. Great career starter for anyone in the call center industry who is looking for a kick start in their career.
Pros
Compensation, benefits, hours
Cons
Leadership support
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Sales Manager/General Manager (Current Employee) –  Portland, OR- San Francisco, New York, MiamiApril 22, 2018
I left WU in 1986. I prospered and enjoyed that career. WU no longer has a business data communications division.
I did
college recruiting
New hire training
sales training
product training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Western Union. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

2.6Personal Development

2.7Career Opportunities

3.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight