Westward Seafoods Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Westward Seafoods - Dutch Harbor Plant
Power Plant Operations - Project Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dutch Harbor, AKMay 15, 2018
5 Stars across the board....

Westward Seafood's is one of the best companies to work for if you are able to get on with them full time.

The Power Plant teams are some of the hardest working and best team members that I have ever worked with. They drive to be the best and can help anyone achieve their goals regardless of whether or not you want to stay in the engineering fields.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenge jobs in the warehouse
Fish Processor (Former Employee) –  Dutch Harbor, AKApril 4, 2018
alot of frozen fishes and cut all the fishes to removes all the organs
Lifting more than 40 lbs
time management
many hours of work to complete all the work done.
Pros
Good hours of works
Cons
not enough to rest to get full energy
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work, work
Fish Processor (Former Employee) –  Unalaska, AKApril 3, 2018
Food and laundry service was great.completed contract. Paycheck was handed to me every time. Bunk bed was provided. Paid for the flights to and from the airport because I completed the Contract., Working for your paycheck.
Pros
Money back when contract complete.
Cons
Unknown hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad location
Processor/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Dutch Harbor, AKMarch 26, 2018
working in Alaska takes someone that likes working long hours 12 hours a day 7 days a week so very little time for your self cold in the winter time.
Pros
free room and board
Cons
Dutch harbor Alaska
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working was the only good this about the place
Seafood Processor (Former Employee) –  Kodiak, AKMarch 25, 2018
Everyday all day long just unloading freezers after freezers not stop and nothing else, no opportunity to go to other departments to learn other areas and have a little variety.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work like a robot 24/7
Processor (Former Employee) –  Unalaska, AKFebruary 13, 2018
A typical day at WSI/ASI lots of work lots of clean up.
What i learned is that i need to keep my cool more then often.
Management, well i believe it could be a better company if Manager would get more involved with the little people.
Workplace Culture, simple routine, routine, routine
Hardest part of the job, clean up and getting screamed at.
Most enjoyable part of the job, $2,000 + dollars Net payday.
Pros
Save a good chunk of money
Cons
Not for people who can't live with out their Family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed working for there company...
Seafood Processor (Former Employee) –  Kodiak, AKFebruary 12, 2018
I think they could improve on the way they transport there workers back and forth to work....a few more breaks....a buffet style dinning area for the employees...
Pros
Really good money can be made there...if you work more hours
Cons
Cold...wet....long hours...you half to pace yourself ....otherwise..you will quit
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I do not recommend anyone at all
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Dutch Harbor, AKJanuary 17, 2018
Very poor management services ! They do not CARE about you at all! The security that works there are so stupid and act like they are the manager and when you asked them a question they hesitate to answer and act so stupid. This is not a good company to work with. I had a very bad experience with them. Furthermore, the employees that works there do not speak English at all, a lot of Filipinos works there and you would hear them talk Tagalog only,I find that very disrespectful.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Very poor management services
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work expirenence
processor (Former Employee) –  Dutch Harbor, AKDecember 19, 2017
The plant is on the island of Dutch Harbor, Alaska. Everything paid for. Repetitive work might be an understatement. It's an experience but not too many would leave there state to work for Alaska's minumum wage. The hours made up for it since we were working 12 plus hours, 7 days a week. Overall not too bad if you can handle the hours. Since everything is paid for you come home with all your savings from the season.
Pros
save paychecks
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
By the hour vs by the catch
Processor (Former Employee) –  Dutch Harbor, AKOctober 17, 2017
Old Schoolers will tell you truthfully: Never pay to get a job in this industry, and never take an hourly wage. If you don't get a %, you are being robbed.
Daily room and board?!? Hey, they need you. The fish won't pack itself.
Say what, minimum wage? Get on a boat. Daily wage or %, whicheveis worth more that day of work, and you won't get charged to be there.
This industry used to pay $110/day in the off season, $250 during peak, why are you wasting your time on the shore?
Pros
Food and housing in a frozen wasteland with only one way home.
Cons
Frozen wasteland and only one way home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for quick cash, but not long term.
Vessel Accountant (Former Employee) –  Dutch Harbor, AKSeptember 27, 2017
I worked for this company for several years, first as a seasonal employee, then as full time. I found that as a hard working seasonal employee, that everything went well. When I got the full time position everything started great, but after some time, favoritism began to take over. Eventually I was being harrassed by management, and when I tried discussing it with the HR department, basically was denied any assistance.
Also, because of the industry, often times you worked 12-18 hrs a day, 7 days a week, with no break. If you plan on working the seasonal work, it is great for some good income. But be aware of the favoritism that takes place, and don't ever feel secure in your position. Alaska is a right to work state, and they use any excuse possible to dismiss you.
Pros
Decent money
Cons
Long hours, no time off, unfair management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
maintanence welder (Former Employee) –  Dutch Harbor, AKAugust 15, 2017
I was a maintenance welder at this place and enjoyed working here tremendously. I would weld here again if given the opportunity. I had a great time here.
Pros
free lunches, room and board
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here!
PROCESSOR (Former Employee) –  Dutch Harbor, AKJuly 16, 2017
the job was easy and fun! Made very good money! long hours but it went by so fast, the company is also amazing! && being in Alaska was just so beautiful! I would love to go back.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 24Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was not very fun to work at
Seafood Processor (Former Employee) –  Dutch Harbor, AKJune 27, 2017
Did not have a good experience, management was not nice, very rude, also environment was very bad. Had to fly there, the hours were good as well as the money, but everything else not good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Real Truth About the company
Processor (Former Employee) –  AlaskaMay 28, 2017
listen this is the truth i will be very honest with you

Work level : not hard dont believe when people say its hard work its not really that hard its simple jobs but only hard part is dealing with people over you sometimes and the long hours { if you get the hours)

pay: not good if you live in the us.. sometimes no work but even if you do work its most of the time its 12 hours and your basically getting 600$ a week for 84 hours u might get alittle more you might get alittle less depending on the situation... its always slow at some points to... over time for a season happpens but only for like a month and most of the times you cant do it every day because they got groups....b season no over time its get slow half of the season

i personally got 5.5k for almost 4 months i even did alot of over time as well ... most people got 5-6k for the season which pretty low

side note: dont think you just gonna save all your money because its gonna be some ways where u gonna spend money sometimes too as well most people dont even up with much


management: sometimes good sometimes bad watch out for the lack of communication its terrible at times

food: not that good

Cheapness: they give you cheap stuff to go to work with the boots are terrible..

overall this not a good place to work the people who work here for years will tell u lies when you first get there because they loyal to the company... they will complain during the season but for some reason they come back because they feel like they have nowhere else to go or get close to co workers

im not bashing the
  more... company its alright but dishonesty you will get alot of  less
Pros
some good co worker
Cons
lies, pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 42No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work is there if needed
Cook (Former Employee) –  Dutch Harbor, AKMarch 7, 2017
If you work for westward you'll have ample opportunity to develop skills and excel. If you are a seasonal worker there can be some down time however, you can make money seasonally.
Pros
If full time, free rent, free food, making new friends
Cons
Management needs better communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job environment that follow regulation and safety
Seafood processor (Former Employee) –  Dutch Harbor, AKFebruary 28, 2017
safety conscious and federal and state regulation conscious.
has provided quality control and safety officer in every shift of operation
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place but definitely not for the faint of of heart
Operator 1. (Former Employee) –  Dutch Harbor, AKJanuary 24, 2017
If your focused and willing to commit to being on alcatraz with no escape where all u do is work and sleep the this is the place for you. Beware definitely wouldn't go back unless I was homeless
Pros
Paycheck
Cons
Bad food and people
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hey Its a Job.
Case­Up Operator/Processor (Former Employee) –  Dutch Harbor, AKSeptember 3, 2016
Tough Place to be. work hard and get paid very little. My managment experiance was good. respectful bosses. but i havnt heard the same from everyone i worked with. HR was hit and miss
Pros
save money
Cons
Dutch Harbor Alaska
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Hard Work
Seafood Processor (Former Employee) –  Dutch Harbor, AKMarch 4, 2016
Very long Hours no days off lack of leadership very hard to understand because the leaders did not speak English very well
Pros
Overtime
Cons
No days off
Was this review helpful?Yes 53No 7Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Westward Seafoods Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 35 reviews
56
412
310
22
15

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.0Culture

Westward Seafoods Inc. Reviews by Location