Whataburger Employee Reviews

Found 4,414 reviews matching the search See all 4,426 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical fast food work environment
Cook (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJanuary 19, 2019
whataburger is a good work environment for a starting job. Work place was inviting and my fellow employees are great .The management could use some work on their leadership skills and fairness towards employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Whataburger is an okay place to work.
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Gainesville, TXJanuary 19, 2019
Working there is okay. It's very fast paced, which I am okay with. Some managers much better than others. Sometimes bullying does occur, but it's very rare.
Pros
Good pay.
Cons
I try to move up but nobody wants to start me on the videos.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so bad
Cook/Prep (Former Employee) –  League City, TXJanuary 19, 2019
It's fast food not to expect much.There's room for excelling, or part time for another job or school. But if you're willing you can succeed in the business.
Pros
Generous discounts
Cons
Over worked
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a very fast paced job.
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Brownsville, TXJanuary 18, 2019
In Whataburger the atmosphere in there is always fast paced and always try to make the costumer happy. Also the management in this place was good but it still had its complications.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack Luster
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Amarillo, TXJanuary 18, 2019
The issue is that Whataburger is a 24-hour store. So if you don't want to work in the bird shift you won't get many hours because everyone else wants to work normal hours. So you might be full time, but unless you are willing to work past the time you are scheduled or come in on days off, you won't be getting more than 25 hours a week.
Also, it's stressful. For the store to run the way that it needs it should have 12 or more people at all times, and you're lucky to get 7 including management. Overall it's fast food, and there are issues with the work that are common complaints, but working here is an issue just because they don't give you the time you need when you need it.
Pros
you can always pick up extra hours
Cons
little to no breaks, few hours, not enough people to do the job well usually
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a very fast environment you have to stsy focused
Crew Member (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJanuary 17, 2019
I would reccomend this job for someome who is looking for a first time job personally I wouldnt reccomend this job to someone if you arent a fast learner.
Pros
Employee discount
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere
Maintenance Tech (Former Employee) –  Marshall, TXJanuary 16, 2019
I loves the job wish I didnt have to leave it. The staff was great and fun to be around. They offered flexible hours to get a good balance between work life and personal life. Overall a good place to work.
Pros
50% off meals
Cons
50% off only applies on the clock for only one meal a day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work if you’re a hard worker staff treats you as family
Team leader (Former Employee) –  Avondale, AZJanuary 16, 2019
I liked working there gave me experience and tremendous help in making me become a better harder and more reliable employee. I recommend this job for others.
Pros
Half off meals
Cons
Hard work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start
Team member (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXJanuary 16, 2019
Very good place to start as a first job. Be ready to jump in and get right to work. Very fast paced. Have to be a team player and best to get along with coworkers so it can be a good environment to work in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good motivation for college.
Cashier, Cook, and Team Member (Former Employee) –  Miramar Beach, FLJanuary 15, 2019
I started the job at eighteen. I stayed on the job for quite a while. At the time, management had no problem letting me work all the hours that I wanted to work. You get paid fairly low since it is uneducated labor. This job is good college motivation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life depends on where you work
Manager (Former Employee) –  Plano, TXJanuary 15, 2019
Certain people in my area have very great intentions on helping people grow and become successful in the company, but there are always bad eggs in the mix.
Pros
Flexible hours unless you're a Manager or higher
Cons
You never know if the person you end up working for is difficult to work with/for
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Jasper, texasJanuary 15, 2019
Bad mangement, hour are scheduled to whatever they want " one day you will 7am to 3pm, and the next day you could be working 5pn to 1 am , and come back at 10am " change use by dates when mangement hears that someone is coming for inspection.
Pros
None
Cons
Lies to employee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very clean and unprofessional
Cashier, Stock, Clean, Open (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 15, 2019
Going into work didn't feel welcomed. The place was very dirty and rude to customers and also takes too long on orders. I learned nothing new at this job.
Pros
discount
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Humble, TXJanuary 15, 2019
my managers worked well with me and very understanding upon any problems which may occur. they were patient with me during training time. allowed me other areas to learn in very early in my training. they were able to work around my other job hours.
Pros
fun work place, everyone got along together
Cons
when managers have bad days and show frustrations to employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had its moments
Team Member/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Denton, TXJanuary 15, 2019
Team members were like a family, however management didn't share in the culture. would happily scream so loud that the customers in the lobby would complain .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Pearland, TXJanuary 14, 2019
Whataburger is a very fun place to work at. Everyone is very kind, and have positive attitude when working. Everyone makes sure the customers are satisfied with the food.
Pros
Discount on food
Cons
30 minute breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good high school job
Fast Food Server (Former Employee) –  Flour Bluff, TXJanuary 14, 2019
typical day: making food, handling cash and transactions, cleaning dishes, taking orders

What I learned: how to cook fast food, customer service

Workplace culture: cliques, difficult to work as a team

Hard part: long hours, and no guarenteed breaks

Enjoyable part: discount
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJanuary 14, 2019
Whataburger was my first job ever. I learned to take on multiple tasks at once until I burned myself out completely from a daily routine of swim practice, school, work, homework, and repeat. with that being said I manage to take that past routine into a consistent one today with different activities with creating a balance. the most enjoyable part of the job was interaction with customers and creating new friendships outside of school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start working
TEAM MEMBER (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXJanuary 14, 2019
Although at times working at whataburger was a great experience, It had a few major drawbacks. Lack of personnel meant that during the rush hours often times we were left overwhelmed. Also it seemed like they didn't care about your schedule outside of work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work and learn.
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Clyde, TXJanuary 14, 2019
I loved working at whataburger. It was very fast paced. I got my food handlers and my manager was very easy going and helpful. I loved all my team members.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Whataburger. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 4,427 reviews
51.5K
41.3K
31.1K
2318
1234

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.4Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

2.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight