Whayne Supply Company Employee Reviews

Showing all 15 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started out ok but company has continued downhill during entire employment time span.
Service Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Owensboro, KYOctober 9, 2018
I did learn a lot however i do not wish to go into great detail at this time over the status of the company and my reason for leaving. I respect the people enough not to be overly vocal about their short cummings.
Pros
Good customers and a lot of good co-workers
Cons
Poor Management and upper leadership.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A big family business
Minion (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYJuly 5, 2018
If you are in the clique, you are gold.

Not one single supervisor/manager knows what an evaluation is for. They simply write some subjective opinion on paper and turn it in. If your good at your job they dont care. If your bad at your job they dont care. If your in the clique, or liked by a clique member, then your a good employee.

The place is ran by salesmen. If you dont have that swarmy superficial charm of a used car salesman, you're going to struggle. You personality & social skills are 99.99% of making it @ Whayne.
Pros
If your a loveable moron that cant do your job right, they'll laugh your mistakes away and keep you employed.
Cons
If you are diligent, skilled, & care about getting it right, they wont like your personality, and you'll have a very hard time fitting in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Service Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Bowling Green, KYApril 4, 2018
Good people making the best of a business in an industry that has undergone huge changes. Company is trying to do too much with too little in the way of employees
Pros
opportunities for advancement
Cons
short staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many broken promises
Welder (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INFebruary 14, 2018
Whayne supply bought the employees and equipment that used to belong to Bucyrus. When transitioning, Whayne supply had talked a big game about how great they were and promised the world. I worked there for six months before finding other work because they did not deliver one single promise.
Pros
None
Cons
Too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
OTR Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Corbin, KYFebruary 12, 2018
Liked the job but just needed more money. Good environment, good company. But due to decline of coal industry, money was tight. Insurance was expensive with high deductible and going up.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work for Life Company with Little advancement for Non Managment
Information Services Intern (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYOctober 30, 2017
As in the title, I feel that me, nor the new application development hire has no shot in career advancement. Most people end up working there for 15+ years, management included, and there's not a big shot for anyone getting fired since everyone is family there.

The backbone for application development is ASP.NET WebForms, which for me feels incredibly dated. In the time I've been there, I've learned about MVC.NET and some Javascript frameworks on my own and seen how much of a splash theyve made and how resistant to change this company has been.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i was there long ago
FIELD SERVICE TECH. I REPAIRED ALL TYPES (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INAugust 14, 2017
I am sure it has not changed, it is a training ground for coal mines to hire trained techs, and not pay cat prices. they only worry about what you do wrong but never see the good you do. staying to finish a job or starting way early or staying way late to help a customer out. it is all about what they can charge out and the stuff you break doing your job
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive hard working environment
#1 shop technician (Former Employee) –  Cannonsburg, KYJuly 17, 2017
Good pay benefits could of been better. Alot of long hours. Always at the house , didn't have to work out of town to much. Enjoyed working there.
Pros
Didn't have to work out of town
Cons
Benefits could of been better
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great group of guys to work with
Wash rack/ Driver (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYDecember 12, 2016
fun easy goin guys pay wasnt the best but the guys i worked with was great. the bosses wasnt much. But most of the shop guys was great some was shown favs but thats anywhere you go
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Utility Worker (Current Employee) –  Pikeville, KYSeptember 12, 2015
It is a place, that has a variety of things going on about it. They treat you fair and with a caring attitude for you. They want what is best for you and the company at heart. They will help you to advance when a opening comes available.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Have worked and done business with Whayne for 30+years
Middle management (Current Employee) –  LouisvilleAugust 30, 2015
Top notch company. Great people family oriented. Good equipment & tooling to work with. great locations spread through Ky.
Pros
Honesty, hard working fair both customer & employees
Cons
To quick to advance young educated over dedicated experienced, due to who knows who.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 8Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work if you like long hours
Welder/Machinist (Former Employee) –  Pikeville, KYSeptember 8, 2013
good bunch of guys, a lot of long hours. Bonuses at the end of the year if they meet set goals.
Pros
good money
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 39No 14Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with a long history with Caterpillar products
manager (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYJune 20, 2013
strong company with a desire to serve customers and employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 18Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work.
Diesel Shop Technician (Current Employee) –  Paducah, KYDecember 13, 2012
Good place to work ,good people to work with. Great shop good equipment . Only day shifts, you receive lots of training . you work on Caterpillar engines,Thomas buses , and Cat equipment.The people in the shop are the best in the world to work with.
Pros
lots of training
Cons
raises and advancement are slow
Was this review helpful?Yes 37No 14Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Whayne Supply Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 15 reviews
53
47
31
23
11

See reviews about

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
3.1Culture