White Castle Employee Reviews

Showing all 1,441 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Server/Cashier (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MODecember 7, 2018
white castle is a fast pace job some days it can be cool and some days it can be crazy. I've learned to just go with the flow and do what u was taught. the management could be better at the location I was working all they do is be on there phones and I feel like they could help out more they are always just sitting down in the office. I don't think there is not a hard part of the job its really easy once you get the hang of things. The workplace is great. The most enjoyable part of the job all coming together to get our guest out in a timely manner and putting a smile on someone's face.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a job for high school students or college students
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Bolingbrook, ILDecember 7, 2018
This is a job for people to just make some money while attending school, the pay does compete for the work we had to do. The managers expected you to do everything for a low hourly pay.
Pros
discounts
Cons
The work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to with with great benefits but not really career edging.
Certified Manager (Current Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHDecember 5, 2018
White Castle comes with great benefits but really isn’t a place I would consider you spending your work life at. Don’t get me wrong I love the business and they’re pretty consistent with updating there menu; but after working there for so long you realize it isn’t what it really should be on your end.
Pros
Free food, weekly pay
Cons
Lack of employees, starting pay rate
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Required to things above pay grade and get no compisation or apperceation
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Saint Charles, MODecember 3, 2018
The people at white castle do not care about you at all. You are asked to work long hours and sometimes you dont even get a full 12 hours of rest before having to come back in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Area Office Associate (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MONovember 29, 2018
It is a great place to work and has some great incentives, however you must work. It’s fast paced, you must be able to deal with difficult customers and fill your shifts.
Pros
Free lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If your looking fir a quick dollar then its for u but cant really make a living from them.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MONovember 29, 2018
White castle is a great corporation its just they keep you in one spot to long and u only get a raise annually. But on another note you can do everything right and show them your worthy but you'll still get overlooked and they'll bring someone new in before giving u a chance
Pros
Free meals
Cons
Unorganzied
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun place to work
Team Member (Current Employee) –  New Brunswick, NJNovember 29, 2018
The hardest part of the job is working at a quick pace. Management is always willing to help employees that are in need of help. The enjoyable part of job is coming and working with my fellow employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Crew Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 28, 2018
Worked a hard rotating shift as Crew Manager, full time with benefits, cash handling, scheduled teams positions, set up and breakdowns for each shift.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
rotating hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
White Castle
Short Order Cook (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNNovember 28, 2018
It was my first job. It open to door for me Help with math skills. Show me how to use deep fryer and clean a deep fryer. They also help with balancing my check book.If can get job at White Castle i would .
Pros
Free food
Cons
Big orders
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great location in the city,Great staff and customers
Team Member assistance (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 26, 2018
White Castle is a great place to work, you meet so many different people,the diversity is amazing,in the city that never sleeps with over 8 million people,I have met some great individuals, the staff is over amazing, we have great times working together, I work the night shift so we get the party going crowd, overall its a cool place to work..
Pros
Great Staff
Cons
can pay a little more, i'm greedy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I hated working there
Fry Cook/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Riverview, MINovember 24, 2018
The management was horrible & they treated me with disrespect & they always talked smack about me & they never trained me the right way . They would just throw me on machines I never been on before. They were always trying to start fights with me to
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and relaxed workplace
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Somerset, NJNovember 24, 2018
Management is very willing to work with employees
The most enjoyable part of the job was working with my fellow employees
Typical days at work it's relaxed until the lunch rush hits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay job
Cashiers (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 23, 2018
I was a cashier there I also wash dishes clean the lobby and attend to the parking lot as well as the bathroom I also prep food made sides and drinks and I made sure our area was clean.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workers are fun but manager didnt care ab my life outside of work
Cook and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Shelbyville, KYNovember 21, 2018
i have school from 9am-6pm. i let the manager know this but she had my schedule for times like 11am- 8pm and 3pm-10pm. i only applied for part time. w
Pros
Co workers, easy
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I personally didn’t like my team members
Certified Trainer (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYNovember 20, 2018
Management don’t care about team work , allowed employees to do whatever and hours constantly dropped . Assistant and general manger ignore complaints about employees .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace, friendly people
white castle team member (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INNovember 20, 2018
I loved working at White Castle, which it was one of my first jobs. The manager and workers were awesome. They actually trained me and worked with me and my schedule.
Pros
free lunch, benifits
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
White Castle
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Cottleville, MONovember 20, 2018
Before new management everything was okay I was getting the hours I wanted but afterwards when we got a new manager no matter how much I asked I never got my hours I worked at 18 hour shift and was still expected to come in 2 hours later and work a nine hour. Highly wouldn’t recommend
Pros
Some of the managers were really sweet
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fine work experience and cool to travel and work under various stores.
Crew Manager (Current Employee) –  Oak Park, MINovember 20, 2018
It was a fine work experience and cool to travel and work under various stores. It is just to a point where me and the company just have to go our seperate ways.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
buen ambiente de trabajo
Production Worker/Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYNovember 19, 2018
Muy duro el trabajo y poco descanzo, las jornadas son muy largas
Cons
muy fuerte el trabajo
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INNovember 18, 2018
I would recommend working here to anyone. They start out at a reasonable pay with chances of raises and opportunities. I enjoyed working here alot there was a nice energy whenenver i walked in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at White Castle. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 1,442 reviews
5502
4437
3332
292
179

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score
TOP5%
In the Top 5% of similar size companies

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at White Castle.

Powered by Comparably