White House Black Market Employee Reviews for Assistant Manager

Found 56 reviews matching the search See all 813 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Bellevue, WAJuly 17, 2019
Terrible management, toxic work environment, wouldn’t wish this on my worst enemy. Pay is terrible, bonus is laughable. No place for advancement.
Never any compliments, only complaints about everything that you do wrong.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing - Leadership development outstanding
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Ellenton, FLJune 14, 2019
Chicos Fas Corporation
Incredible journey- Corporation supports field
Increases are 2.5% of pay but this retail standard
Highly Recommend for Managers
Pros
Benefits, Corporate focus on training and development
Cons
Below Target Walmart McDonald’s- part time employee wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inconsistency in corporate directives
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Shreveport, LAMay 22, 2019
With the company suffering in performance the last four years, several new training and developmental resources have been provided, but there's simply no time to take advantage of them in a typical work day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical retail job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCApril 16, 2019
A decent place to work...coddling to customers was the most frustrating part. Scheduling is very strict. Must be very upbeat and perky to enjoy working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with wonderful co-workers and customers
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Holland, MIJanuary 16, 2019
I have worked for Chicos and White House Black Market on a part time and full time basis for 8 years. I have loved every moment of working there. I left only to return to education.
Pros
wonderful co-workers; beautiful clothes
Cons
working evenings
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
White House Black Market
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Victor, NYNovember 22, 2018
I felt that the opportunity for growth was lacking. Due to this, I left for better opportunity and better compensation within the same industry type. I felt that similar employers in the same industry offered better compensation and opportunity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Pooler, GAOctober 22, 2018
A great environment to work in. Management is very supportive and understanding. No where near the best pay/benefits wise but the atmosphere and management style is amazing and makes it a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fighting e-commerce hard and failing
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  CASeptember 5, 2018
Brick and mortar retail stores are dying under e-commerce and online returns go against the stores daily numbers, under high pressure from corporate. It's like failing every day and theres little to be done about it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace culture
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Milford, CTJuly 15, 2018
Working for a company that knows how to be successful and challenged us to be innovator of the business by letting us build a
relationship with our customer which was the foundation.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good job with terrible management
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Marietta, GAJuly 13, 2018
Was guaranteed a promotion and hired from an outside sourse with no warning. A ton of meeting, the style of management changes a long with how the store is run day to day
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work if you like clothe
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 22, 2018
White House Black market is fun but the dm and RM expect so much from you and you need to like numbers if you are going to be in a managment position.
Pros
discount
Cons
incentive program
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy place
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Rancho Cucamonga, CAApril 30, 2018
WHBM is a busy store to work in. If you can't move quickly and have the product knowledge to make your life easier this isn't the place for you. If you'd like to work there and not deal with people apply for a support position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of my favorite jobs I’ve had.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAApril 5, 2018
WHBM is a very face paced work environment. I loved the clothes even before I started working there. Everyone is nice to work with and the customers were always a lot of fun to work with. Management ( ASM and SM) got PTO and health benefits. The only negative comment I have on the company is the management. The DM wasn’t the nicest, and very intimidating.
Pros
Pto, Heath benefits.
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
below
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Durham, NCApril 4, 2018
There was a constant change of store managers while I was there, making it difficult to bond and have a working relationship with your superior.

Working on a bonus basis for sales management had the job of helping sales associates get sales. The store manager put all the sales under her number to impress the district manager. This created a good deal of tension in the store.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great and creative and fun place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAApril 4, 2018
During my typical workday I was responsible for assisting the store manager in all aspects of running a successful retail store, including banking, merchandising, and recruiting. Effectively motivated employees to performance excellence and fostered a team environment focused on group success. Successfully oversaw store operations and achieved set goals, with understanding of the marketplace needs and strategies needed to drive sales and ensuring proper merchandise presentation
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful yet fast paced and fun
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Christiana, DEMarch 18, 2018
Inability to use vacation time when needed due to seasonal business needs. Unable to balance work and family life. Long hours and weekend schedules cause conflict with family obligations
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Saint George, UTMarch 12, 2018
I enjoyed working for WHBM. They treat their employees well and our work place was wonderful. The management team at WHBM was very professional and treat their employees well.
Pros
discounts on clothing
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fun but no room for growth
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Tustin, CAFebruary 16, 2018
White House Black Market was a great learning experience, I grew a lot in the company, but I did not like the fact that I was given more responsibility and not being compensated in my pay for it. I learned a lot of management duties, how to manage a sales floor, associates, and most of all excelling in my customer service relationships. Creating clientele and building relationships with long life customers.
Pros
Love Wardrobing Woman
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do not recommend
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Beavercreek, OHJanuary 29, 2018
Hated working at the Greene, very cutthroat stressful environment. Store Manager was rude, hateful and not open to change. No tenure at this location, not a place to build a career or relationships. Do not recommend this location or company
Pros
None
Cons
too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very competitive and cut throat
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TXDecember 27, 2017
There is a lot of commission based checks distributed by this company which just leads to constant micro managing. The district managers want to "direct" the managers for better sales and techniques and then it all trickles down to everyone and you spend most of your time being "directed" or "training" someone else, instead of making connections with customers.
Pros
employee discount is great
Cons
evening hours, and micro managing
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at White House Black Market. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 813 reviews
5235
4250
3187
283
158

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture

Women's ratings

3.2Fairygodboss Score

100%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

50%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss

White House Black Market Reviews by Location