Whiting Corporation/Whiting Services, Inc Employee Reviews

Showing all 16 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of leadership
Railcar Maintenance Manager (Former Employee) –  Monee, ILMay 4, 2018
I enjoyed my job but there but after my manager passed away, they made some changes that i thought were not the best. The owner is involved in all aspects of the business and micro manages. Non-qualified persons in positions of management that dont understand the industry.
Pros
None
Cons
High cost if insurance with minimal benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
STAY AWAY - Failing Company
Electrical Assembler (Former Employee) –  Monee, ILMarch 19, 2018
Even though whiting is over 100 years old the company is not profitable and is quickly failing.
The work is stressful and requires vast product knowledge and experience yet the pay is comparable to a fast food joint. The shop is full of under qualified employees, because that’s the only people they can find for $15/hr. The product being delivered to customers is not a quality product and more often than not the equipment is returned to whiting because of malfunctions, or warranty work is done in the field. Many people in the shop do not work at all on a daily basis, hide in the bathroom for hours, show up late daily, but still have a job. Other people who know what they are doing are required to handle all the work in the shop and are threatened to lose their job if they don’t meet management’s impossible deadlines. Speaking of management, they are clueless. 11% of the entire company are managers who are outside hires who have no clue what work is to be done and expect miracles to happen at the snap of a finger. This is a failing company that can not afford to keep it’s doors open.. STAY AWAY!
If you interview for a job at Whiting then think of it only as a learning situation, get some experience and then GET OUT.
Pros
10 day paid shut down for Christmas
Cons
Bad management. Low wages. Impossible deadlines. Hostile work environments
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Whiting is a good compny. the pay is lower than indusrtry standard.
Assembly Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Monee, ILMarch 6, 2018
Whiting has spome great products they manufacture. the work days are very fast paced, sometimes stressful. Whiting builds custom products, the work days are different from day to day production shops.
Pros
great schedule
Cons
low pay, stressful atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did not liket his job
Welder B (Former Employee) –  Monee, ILJanuary 27, 2018
I started as a intern and there was minimum training by unwilling coworkers. There was no training program and I was a intern for a couple months. Co workers had disputes and the environment was tense.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Warren, MIDecember 16, 2017
They would never listen to what the customer really wanted. The good thing about this company is they did give you a lot of paid time off. The bad thing about this company is the Managers are very dishonest, They will tell you what you want to hear and then do it totally different.
Pros
A lot of paid time off
Cons
Upper management was terrible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bunch of idiots
Technician (Former Employee) –  Warren MichiganDecember 6, 2017
I actually contracted through another company to work for Whiting. Sometimes you work 16 hours a day sometimes you would working on if you was lucky you would get 40 hours in a week and sometimes you want to even get 20 hours in 2 weeks is it worth it no find a better company to work for you will be better off
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an enjoyable place to work.
Engineering, Customer Service and Purchasing (Former Employee) –  Harvey, ILNovember 8, 2017
I worked at Whiting Corporation / Swenson Process Equipment for 27 years. I was laid off without warning along with approximately 10 other employees. We were given no notice or severance pay. Computers were locked as were being notified and we were all escorted to the door.
Pros
Good people
Cons
Bad treatment of dedicated employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational workplace.
Machinist (Former Employee) –  Monee, ILJanuary 20, 2015
I machined on a large and small engine lathe. I was able to get a lot of valuable information from other employees. But management discouraged learning from others.
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional atmoshere and good people to be associated with.
Nuclear Division Project Manager (Semi-Retired) (Former Employee) –  Monee, ILNovember 12, 2014
Very productive and paid attention to details with customer clients.
Pros
Profit sharing
Cons
Driving distance
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 17Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internal Development Opportunties
Retired (Former Employee) –  Monee, IL / Harvey, ILJuly 16, 2014
I worked with Whiting for my entire career (with the exception of time served in the army), starting as a forklift driver when the company was in Harvey and making my way up to a director level position. There are many 20+ year employees.

Production (shop) positions at the manufacturing facility do all start at the base rate for that job. Pay and promotions are based on performance. Office and field positions are variable. With large, custom equipment the work is unique, but can be challenging at times.

Over the years (decades), there were several changes in owners and layoffs due to restructuring. Sometimes had to take on various responsibilities when the company was in flux. Started growing again in the early 2000's.

Services division was small and developing at the time of my retirement. I understand they have expanded, but I don't have the experience with them to comment.

Benefits/compensation seem average compared to similar companies. Management varies within depts/divisions, difficult to make a general statement.
Pros
Advancement opportunities, US owned
Cons
Periods of layoffs through early 2000's
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 23Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and effecient
Payroll Administrator (Contractor) (Current Employee) –  Monee ilMay 19, 2014
A typical work day is relaxed and hands off.
Learned intricate details of payroll.
Management is hands off.
Co-workers are good to work with.
Friendly environment
Pros
Non stress
Cons
No job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 20Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learn & go
former employee (Former Employee) –  monee, illMarch 15, 2014
They ask the most of you, then you in turn bust your hump for them hoping to get a respectable raise. Just to find out theonly raise you will get is maybe just maybe 30 cents. Dont ask for more either. Like the title says learn an go, a employee tell the plant manager what to do on a daily basis, no leadership what so ever. to who ever might want any of these jobs please dont apply!
Pros
nothing
Cons
the pay scale is based on what the department manager thinks of you, not how you work n your performance. No matter what you will never get what you are worth.
Was this review helpful?Yes 37No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
DESIGN AND ANALYTICAL ENGINEER TRAINEE (Former Employee) –  Harvey, ILOctober 16, 2013
I liked the people and the experience they provided for me. They need to expand product offerings.
Pros
Nice people
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 6Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mis managed,disorganized, does not pay well at all
Electrical Assembler (Former Employee) –  Monee, ILNovember 7, 2012
The "supervisor" dictates the hours you will work, "required overtime" and "voluntary overtime" are lets say the same thing, depending on if you are "buddies" with the supervisor. Management has not the slightest clue as to how to run a company. Parts not ordered, parts sit (scattered) through out the warehouse. Getting basic necessary tools to do your job are very difficult to get from supervisor. Pay raises are the equalivalant of a slap in the face. (Welders working there for 15 plus years are barely making $20 hr")
Most of your 10 hour days will be spent waiting for parts, or waiting for the person in front of you to finish what they are doing. There are a few associates that do not do anymore than complain & take naps in the bathroom.
Pros
you are not on unemployment (only pro)
Cons
you are expected to work every hour you can, but if you need some time off they rarely work with you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 46No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to learn then leave asap!
Electrical Assembler (Current Employee) –  Monee, ILNovember 7, 2012
great company to get your foot in the door to learn, but after you learn what you need to. you start to see many issues in management and other areas.
Was this review helpful?Yes 41No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Whiting Corporation/Whiting Services, Inc. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.6
Based on 17 reviews
52
41
37
22
15

Ratings by category

2.4Work/Life Balance
2.3Compensation/Benefits
1.9Job Security/Advancement
2.0Management
2.2Culture

Whiting Corporation/Whiting Services, Inc Reviews by Location