Whitsons Culinary Group Employee Reviews

Found 128 reviews matching the search See all 129 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Stepping Stone
Food Service Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Spring Valley, NYJune 12, 2019
This is a good job for someone with small children and needs to be on the same schedule as them in school. They pay is too low and the amount of duties / stress is high. My managers are very nice, but I know they are restricted as to what they can do / provide as it seems that all of us DO NOT have the proper tools to be successful. Higher management does not understand the industry they run and you will never see anyone other than immediate managers visiting the kitchens. There is no accountability
Pros
free lunch, hours are great, no nights or weekends
Cons
low pay, can't afford the health insurance that is available, no accountability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Apple award to fire after medical leave
server (Former Employee) –  New Britain, CTMay 15, 2019
I worked for whitsons culinary group starting as a dishwasher and stocking cleaning and became a server soon after.. ooh man did i love my job i made sure everything was cleaned organized and helped with even the freezer and even cleaned our dock, went to other schools to help always willing to give my all for them because i know even with many people theres always more to help. man ooh man i won the first in years apple award and always was told what a great job.my biggest problem is that im alil loud and that was the most i had ever got told .i got sick and had to have surgery . all documentation was given and managers couldnt wait to i returned back .then soon after i had to reapply (unsure why) in which it took more time then my first initial application. so i applied my pay went down and all of a sudden my boss stated that my attitude is going to watched and he was tired ...mind u not once was my attitude a problem i came to work always happy making my coworkers day as easy my managers who sit in the offices never stated an issue neither the chef or students teachers just him the same person who patted me on my back everyday on how great i have the kitchen since i worked . all of a sudden my second day( as a new hire) i go to work and get sent home because supposedly i had said something wrong to another employee .well lets just say she lied,i was at new school and i felt like the new kid didnt speak to noone for 2 days but i got sent home and they stated ill call you with information never got a call but whitsons felt the need to let me go . the new school people was  more... stealing eating food off the line was talking about religion inviting me to church and was filled with nothing but family. i spoke to a manager at whitsons little while later and they stated they was shocked when they heard because how great i was with the students, and all staff he never heard a complaint and how my service line went higher up then normal they also stated that it had something to do with not having a permanent position in the company for me . so why rehire me. then fire me for something else . i never had an issue in none of my jobs because im always a happy person always willing to help always with a smile. i think it had to do with my surgery so to anyone please be careful. p.s. whitsons culinary group i was one who really went in and loved what i do. thank u for an opportunity but i will say it is your loss.  less
Pros
seeing the students grow
Cons
managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun to work with kids
School lunch manager (Current Employee) –  Gardner, MAApril 18, 2019
I love my job because every year I meet new kids and every time they see me out side the job they get exited of see me they think I have to be in the kitchen only. Also love all the school staff they are friendly and carrying for one of other.
Pros
You have the same week day off like the kids summer off snow days
Cons
We should be getting paid on those day we have school cancelation half day snow days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job but pay is terrible
Cafeteria Worker/cashier (Current Employee) –  Islandia, NYApril 16, 2019
I enjoy the job itself but unfortunately have to work a second job because the pay is low. People who run the company are extremely helpful and nice. I do get paid personal days so that’s a plus
Pros
Paid personal days, small yearly raise
Cons
Low pay even with raises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ridiculously disgusting level of integrity
Cafeteria Worker (Current Employee) –  Spotswood, NJMarch 30, 2019
The work environment here is sad. The manager is the absolute biggest liar I have ever met. The atmosphere cultivated is that of backstabbing snakes! Even showing up to work and giving 110% every single day is not good enough. A lot of the time, the food is not prepared in time. The manager likes to pit people against one another and talk behind other people's back. Her favorites are not held accountable for doing their work responsibilities which fall on the backs of the people who actually work. This place is depressing. No raises or increase of work time is available unless you are in the clique. If you are lucky enough to be in the clique, you are allowed to sit in the manager's office and discuss forthcoming menues or the manager's daughter's May wedding. Sadly there are deaf ears to share any grievances to.
Cons
ZERO breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but also rewarding
Chef manager (Current Employee) –  Islandia, NYMarch 21, 2019
Worked there for many years. Promoted with in few times and held a management position for the last 8years. Good company to work for . Many different areas and management possibilities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job i ever had
Cook (Former Employee) –  Islandia, NYMarch 12, 2019
Management is disorganized and down right rude...i was there as a cook for approximately 4 1/2 years...smh...if you did something right the bosses did eveything they could to find something wrong...the disrespect was real...i wouldnt wish this job on my worste enemy...and dont get me started on the insurance...if you descide to toss this warning aside and work there anyway...do NOT getthe insurance...you will end up working for free...you wont even have enough money left in you check to pay the high co payments and the fact that they still charge you for the insurance after you cancell it
Pros
Holidays and weekends off
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Family Owned Business
Communications Manager (Former Employee) –  Islandia, NYMarch 11, 2019
Whitsons is owned and operated by eight siblings. The majority of professional jobs are populated by family members. This is not a place to expect recognition. If a family member needs a job, they may be given yours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTMarch 4, 2019
Only best thing about this company is the fact the schedule is Monday through Friday weekends off. Summer off. No paid holidays , not enough PTO. To much hard labor for little pay. No benefits. Bad management. Alot of favoritism at the New Haven campus.
Pros
Free lunch, steady schedule, weekends off
Cons
Bad management, no help, to much work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ask me in person
Assistant Food Service Director (Former Employee) –  Mahwah, NJJanuary 31, 2019
Ask me in person. After 10 years working there, I had very limited exposure to the CEO. Upper management had very little systems in place for Management development or an escalation process.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Roosevelt, NYJanuary 8, 2019
The job is very fast paced non stop heavy lifting,very low pay, working with miserable staff worker who is rude to the kids and on top of that the kids are scare of her and everyone knows she's like that and no one says anything
Pros
Hours
Cons
Low pay, staff attitudes
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Experience
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJanuary 8, 2019
Horrible experience working with the manager. No benefits provided, no job security or advancement provided, and management provided no leadership or support.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Food Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Phoenixville, PAJanuary 3, 2019
Well structured family first company. Good pay and benefits. Great support. Easy to communicate with corporate office. Financial systems are easy to use.
Pros
Great management
Cons
staffing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
food service
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Lynbrook, NY 11563December 14, 2018
school lunch program. always pressured to have higher lunch counts. always asked to do what not qualified for like cooking if cook was absent. always filling in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Free lunch every day and great holiday parties.
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Islandia, NYNovember 18, 2018
Great people,everybody cares about each other,family attitude. Very strict work environment on the production floor,especially the dress code and personal hygiene.Management was very co-operative.
Pros
Free lunches and great holiday parties.
Cons
One break
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walking
Lunch Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYNovember 13, 2018
Great place to work the people are great also. The environment is so positive.i get to meet some great,smart students everyday.........…..............
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Server and Kitchen staff (Current Employee) –  Fall River, MANovember 10, 2018
Whitsons Culinary Group is a great place to work. The hours are great as well as the people. It can be a fast paced job and laziness doesn’t work. You have to be able to lift and make sure you know how to be aware of your surroundings.
Pros
Hours are great
Cons
Not a lot of hours are given and too many holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
can be fun environment but very fast ase work place
Food Server (Former Employee) –  Brookhaven, NYSeptember 27, 2018
it is a fast pace work day. can be a fun environment depending on the people you work with. you learn proper food temperatures and how long food can be left out of the refrigerator. some heavy lifting bending. some cleaning is required for work areas.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
short break
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ghfgjghk
Facility Technician (M&E) (Former Employee) –  Islandia, NY 11749September 12, 2018
They loose business that's why most of employee got lay-off.they provide free meal which is the good approach but their management is sucks. They should look for more buissness
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for parents with children
Lunch Lady (Former Employee) –  East Haven, CTSeptember 6, 2018
good for parents with kids, you have same days off as kids so no having to find a sitter, friendly people to work with, fast paced so no standing around
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Whitsons Culinary Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 129 reviews
525
434
341
28
121

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture