Williams Mullen Employee Reviews

Showing all 19 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommended
Paralegal (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAJuly 11, 2018
The benefits and compensation are great. The environment is strange. Very closed off with attorneys and staff. Not a lot of instruction which makes for very boring days - not very welcoming. Very boring - if you are looking for a position to be a contributing staff member - it is very limited.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good old boy environment
Partner/Owner (Former Employee) –  VirginiaMay 4, 2018
talented people but sadly a good old boy network; regional firm with good community contacts; most women are junior level because opportunities for women are limited
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked it.
Partner (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCApril 30, 2018
Culture overall is fine. Good resources, generally work with good people. Firm economics tend to be siloed, and firm could use much greater transparency.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wm
Legal Assistant (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAJanuary 3, 2018
I worked here for awhile.and it was a good place to work. The benefits are only so-so and there isn't room to move up. If you want to advance, you'll need to go someplace else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and great place to work
"Paralegal" (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VANovember 12, 2017
This firm is professional and really cares about their employees. I enjoyed working there and would highly recommend to anyone seeking employment with them.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large firm with many practice groups; some growing pains
Legal Secretary/Floater (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAAugust 27, 2017
Very old fashioned white-shoe firm. Many practice groups but little flexibility in transitioning to different departments. Great location at town center. Free parking.
Pros
Large firm
Cons
Very structured
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Legal Assistant - Corporate & Real Estate (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCAugust 21, 2017
Enjoyed the job and most of the attorneys are a pleasure to work with as long as they are not talking down to you.

HR Manager was not pleasant and since she shows favoritism, she made the workplace VERY uncomfortable.
Pros
Some of the coworkers make working here bearable
Cons
HR Manager not friendly at all and too much gossip in the workplace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good law firm
LEGAL SECRETARY (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAMay 28, 2017
Good firm to work for. They take an interest in their employees by providing constant and frequent workshops to keep on top of updated and new technology.
Pros
Great firm to grow and advance
Cons
Work can be overwhelming
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accounting Clerk
ACCOUNTING ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Richmond VAMay 11, 2017
This is a not a very nice place to work. I did not stay very long. The atmosphere was not very comfortable and my job was not a very busy position therefore I was very bored.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Parochial regional firm run like a public company.
Partner (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCApril 10, 2017
This firm is run on a quarter by quarter basis, so be prepared to have excellent numbers. Firm management is out of touch with practice group management.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Short sighted management style
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review summary
Legal Assistant (Current Employee) –  Wilmington, NCMay 29, 2015
Williams Mullen offers good benefits and compensation to its employees. It offers a pleasant environment with support from immediate management. The employees are true team players.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very encouraging to the workforce.
Paralegal (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAApril 21, 2015
I learned a lot about the field, but found the overall atmosphere to be negative. Difficult to get assistance from others more knowledgeable when this would have sped up a learning process and improved workflow.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the type of work performed and my co-workers.
Real Estate Paralegal (Former Employee) –  Newport News, VAMarch 25, 2015
Thoroughly enjoyed working for this company in the area of real estate transactions. Management was excellent and my co-workers were great to work for and with.

Great place to work.
Pros
Great place to work.
Cons
None.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Real Estate Projects Intern (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAJanuary 25, 2015
Great Company and Great Work Experience.
I have learned many at Williams Mullen. People are very nice here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice law firm, but a poor fit
Estates and Trusts Paralegal (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VADecember 15, 2014
This is was very poor fit; the firm was unable to provide the on-the-job training they promised and I was unable to perform to the level they expected. All other aspects of the firm were very nice and under different circumstances, I would have loved working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and challenging place to work.
Legal Secretary/Administrative (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAApril 18, 2013
A typical day involved typing and editing documents regarding real estate, zoning and land use. I typed correspondence and memos from dictation or handwritten notes for 2 attorneys. I answered phones and either took messages or directed calls, sent faxes, made copies and scanned documents into file site. I talked with clients and managed day-to-day calendars for my attorneys. I entered time for my attorneys and monitored their CLE credits. I learned the new software and hardware as it was added to the original system. I assisted in the trusts and estates department by typing and editing documents for the attorneys there.
I found my co-workers to be interesting and fun.
The hardest part of my job was when people didn't return my calls with information that I needed in order to go forward with a project.
I was happiest at work when I was busy and felt that I was accomplishing something.
Pros
casual dress on fridays. parking was paid by the firm.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice offices, friendly staff and nice employee lounge
Bookkeeper (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAApril 18, 2013
After merger, employee morale was at it's lowest, benefits were reduced and bonuses were cut.
Pros
location
Cons
benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place and friendly people
Legal Secretary (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VAMarch 19, 2012
I had a great experience working at Williams Mullen. They are very fair. The activities we had to bring the attorneys and staff together were always fun and genuine.
Pros
friendly respectful
Cons
cut backs, no bonus, no growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Williams Mullen. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 19 reviews
54
45
37
21
12

See reviews about

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.1Culture

Women's ratings

3.0Fairygodboss Score

50%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

50%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss