Wintrust Financial Corporation Employee Reviews

Showing all 31 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driven, competitive, opinions not considered
Vice President Talent Management (Former Employee) –  Rosemont, ILApril 25, 2018
change occurs frequently , customer driven culture has changed. company evolving into big brother, community banking is lost, which is in direct conflict with the message from the owner.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't Believe the Hype
Assistant Vice President (Current Employee) –  Rosemont, ILApril 17, 2018
Wintrust is a marketing machine that doesn't care about its employees. You will never advance no matter how hard you work, or how much you achieve. They keep you in the same position indefinitely, because it benefits them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate atmosphere
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Rosemont, ILMarch 22, 2018
The work day is dependent upon the department. Some departments are flexible and others are rigid. Some managers are easy to work with. Fridays are casual and there is a monthly lunch provided to all corporate employees.
Pros
Good people to work with, monthly lunches, good benefits
Cons
Ineffective management in some departments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great vision and teammates!
Marketing Employee (Former Employee) –  Rosemont, ILFebruary 22, 2018
At Wintrust I managed digital financial eCommerce programs for all Wintrust Financial Corporation companies and affiliates covering a wide range of marketing and digital strategies - web, mobile, applications, email, social media, print. Very challenging and rewarding.
Pros
Nice work environment. Great people.
Cons
Worst manager of my career so far.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Teller (Former Employee) –  IllinoisFebruary 5, 2018
Great place to work. As a teller it's a comfortable non pressure sales position. Something you don't see at other financial institutions. In small towns it's a awesome personal work environment. They offer great benefits. May have room to advance.
Pros
Benifits, no quotas
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
many many functions
Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Rosemont, ILDecember 8, 2017
Wintrust is a good company. It has grown and evolved and I'm confident it will continue. The sales side of the house is done more consultative which I totally agree with. Incentive programs and bonuses are inconsistent this is a charter decision...this needs to be standardized across the enterprise. Also in any of the roles I've had at Wintrust I am seldom staffed adequately.

These may sound like mostly complaints but look deeper. This company is a company still evolving, learning, and has the growing pains to show it.
Pros
Growing company
Cons
Pains from a growing company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Why Am I being asked to do this
Staff Auditor (Current Employee) –  Rosemont, ILDecember 5, 2017
The Manager was very difficult to work with. I was placed in a separate suite away from all the other Auditors. Upon hire, I was told we are 6 months behind on audits.

When I came in for help on how to perform an audit, other Auditors or Managers would tell me to: "Look how they have done it last year and follow along".
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an OK place to work
Financial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Rosemont, ILNovember 5, 2017
Work/family life balance is great. The pay is below industry standard. The culture is as such - it doesn't matter what time you start in the morning, as long as your in your seat past 5:00 pm.
Pros
Free lunch once a month
Cons
Underpaid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Universal Banker (Former Employee) –  WIOctober 5, 2017
Wintrust truly is wonderful! They really care about their employees! They give paid leave for mothers! Which is HUGE!!! Great paid time off and a fair amount of sick time!! I feel like if i had the opportunity to do what i do best i would have stayed but unfortunately it was not offered in the area i was located!
Pros
Benefits!
Cons
Poor management, no room to grow
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing Company
Dispositions Analyst - Managed Assets Division (Current Employee) –  Rosemont, ILAugust 17, 2017
Growing company with lots of room for internal growth. Continually expanding with new roles opening up in every department. Great benefits as well as free lunches each month.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard office environment.
Branch Services Team Member (Current Employee) –  Rosemont, ILAugust 17, 2017
Wintrust is a great company with many opportunities for growth. Their training is lack luster, but if you are motivated, you can make a name for yourself.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to teach an old dog...
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Rosemont, ILAugust 10, 2017
Unchangable culture- can at times be tedious trying to change people. Good benefits, CEO is good, and stockholders are happy. Just don't come here trying to set fires
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Accounts Payable Analyst (Current Employee) –  Rosemont, ILAugust 2, 2017
Employees are fun to work management is poor and very political environment.

Advancement is solely based on politics and there is very bad communication among departments and employees.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good organization yet i worked for a horrible dept.
Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 25, 2017
Was interviewed for a certain role and responsibilities yet job awkwardly turned opposite from what was discussed in interview as far as wants and needs from the employer side. Opinions and thoughts were welcomed yet there was resistance when given. I will never work for a bank again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee Opinion
Compliance Officer (Former Employee) –  Rosemont, ILMay 24, 2017
Company is continuing to grow so there are plenty of opportunities for work and industry growth. Work/Life balance is adequate. Compensation is adequate (little opportunity for pay increase/promotions).
Pros
Monthly luncheons. Management is flexible with schedule.
Cons
Little opportunity for growth. No ability to work from home/remotely.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing Quickly
Vice President, Operations (Current Employee) –  Rosemont, ILMay 17, 2017
Company is growing quickly and does experience some growing pains from time to time. Benefits are pretty good. As a community bank, be prepared to roll up your sleeves and wear many hats.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company, Great Opporunities
VP Quantiative Analytics (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 4, 2017
Great company great culture good work life balance good benefits, fair compensation, Management a plus, opportunity for advancement strongly recommend
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyone did their work efficiently
Default Loan Servicing (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 7, 2017
There was not much time to have fun because everyone is constantly working on their computers. My employees were very nice and always willing to help me when I was in a difficult situation. Great environment overall.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former Employee
Processor (Former Employee) –  Rosemont, ILMarch 2, 2017
Seems like everyday someone was let go as part of the team for no valid reason.

If you are looking for job security I would apply to another company.
Pros
Excellent health insurance plans
Cons
High turn over rate of employees and managers lacks job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Balanced work environment in corporate America
Contract Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  Rosemont, ILNovember 15, 2016
Wintrust Corp has a structured work environment with a cafeteria, gym, and shuttle to the nearby trains to downtown, as well as weekly happy hours. The staff is not culturally diverse, and is made up primarily of Republican Chicago sports-fans, which can lead to some culture clashes and difference is communication styles. Typical days involve diligently working at your computer and taking breaks for coffee or lunch. Operations run very smoothly. Work is assigned to you in a digital queue that you can comment on or check off when completed. Sometimes time is lost emailing people who are steps away, but in general, workflow is pretty efficient.
Pros
gym, cafeteria, easy commute
Cons
constant passive aggressive emailing, corporate hierarchy hinders effective communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Wintrust Financial Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 32 reviews
58
411
38
22
13

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.8Personal Development

3.1Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Wintrust Financial Corporation Reviews by Location