Wintrust Financial Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Universal Banker (Former Employee) –  WIOctober 5, 2017
Wintrust truly is wonderful! They really care about their employees! They give paid leave for mothers! Which is HUGE!!! Great paid time off and a fair amount of sick time!! I feel like if i had the opportunity to do what i do best i would have stayed but unfortunately it was not offered in the area i was located!
Pros
Benefits!
Cons
Poor management, no room to grow
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard office environment.
Branch Services Team Member (Current Employee) –  Rosemont, ILAugust 17, 2017
Wintrust is a great company with many opportunities for growth. Their training is lack luster, but if you are motivated, you can make a name for yourself.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard to teach an old dog...
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Rosemont, ILAugust 10, 2017
Unchangable culture- can at times be tedious trying to change people. Good benefits, CEO is good, and stockholders are happy. Just don't come here trying to set fires
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Accounts Payable Analyst (Current Employee) –  Rosemont, ILAugust 2, 2017
Employees are fun to work management is poor and very political environment.

Advancement is solely based on politics and there is very bad communication among departments and employees.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good organization yet i worked for a horrible dept.
Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 25, 2017
Was interviewed for a certain role and responsibilities yet job awkwardly turned opposite from what was discussed in interview as far as wants and needs from the employer side. Opinions and thoughts were welcomed yet there was resistance when given. I will never work for a bank again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company, Great Opporunities
VP Quantiative Analytics (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 4, 2017
Great company great culture good work life balance good benefits, fair compensation, Management a plus, opportunity for advancement strongly recommend
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyone did their work efficiently
Default Loan Servicing (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 7, 2017
There was not much time to have fun because everyone is constantly working on their computers. My employees were very nice and always willing to help me when I was in a difficult situation. Great environment overall.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former Employee
Processor (Former Employee) –  Rosemont, ILMarch 2, 2017
Seems like everyday someone was let go as part of the team for no valid reason.

If you are looking for job security I would apply to another company.
Pros
Excellent health insurance plans
Cons
High turn over rate of employees and managers lacks job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
About Wintrust
Commercial Loan Officer (Current Employee) –  Mokena, ILOctober 14, 2016
Wintrust is a great company to work for, however, much of it is determined on which location you are working at. Some locations, such as downtown, have more resources and senior lenders that help the junior loan officers find deals. Other locations, such as Old Plank Trail, put the burden entirely on the junior loan officers. This leads to an unfair advantage to those placed in more optimal locations and unfair expectations for those who are not.
Pros
Work/life balance
Cons
Compensation and growth opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the exoerience that I was able to acquire from opening a community branch
VP Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Hoffman Estates, ILJanuary 4, 2016
The branch grew to $32M regardless of opening the facility in a shopping center that was in receivership. 2015 production goals were met by November 2015, branch was second place twice in regards to investment referrals.

The Hoffman South Team is a great group truly understands the meaning of team spirit.
Pros
Great customers Awesome Team
Cons
Lack of communication and accountability
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, hard, but worth it.
Marketing Intern (Former Employee) –  RosemontSeptember 2, 2015
The co-workers are a lot of fun to talk to. They are also very easy to talk to as well. it was a lot ton of computer work that turned into positive results in the end.
Pros
free food
Cons
stressful work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Salary should be more competitive
VP Operations (Current Employee) –  IllinoisJune 25, 2015
The salary at Wintrust is not competitive with the market place....
Many larger institutions are bringing pension back....Wintrust should also.....their 401k match is light as well
Pros
growing company
Cons
salary and retirement is light
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Compensation and free gym
Financial analyst - Reconciliations (Current Employee) –  Rosemont, ILApril 6, 2015
The position is located in Rosemont and fairly east to commute from various locations. The job has given me new experiences and skills. It has been beneficial to my career to work for the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Company
Sr. Underwriter(Team Lead) (Former Employee) –  Rosemont, ILOctober 18, 2012
This is a great place to work. The company is growing by leaps and bounds. Management is very approachable and listens to any concerns or ideas that are relevant. Overall it is run like you are part of the family.
Pros
management
Cons
none.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Wintrust Financial. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5