WL Plastics Employee Reviews

Showing all 36 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy to move up if you pay attention
Line Operator (Current Employee) –  Mills, WYAugust 7, 2019
This place is great to move up. They have a clear structure level system, standard operating procedures, and increases every time you pass a level. They actually pay you more for the more you know, unlike other places i've worked. You never have to guess when your raise is coming, its pretty much up to you. Each position has several levels, so there is always something knew to learn and more money to make. Management is very organized and make it to alot of toolbox talks to explain anything thats coming down the pipeline from corporate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and must pay attention
Recycler (Former Employee) –  Casper, WYAugust 5, 2019
A hot and fast paced job in which you must pay attention. Very hot building to work in and lots of fairly hard work. Not too bad if you pay attention and do what you're trained to do
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to Work For.
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Snyder, TXJuly 2, 2019
WL is honestly an easy company to work for. As long as you show up to work and try you can make it far. The absolute worst thing is heat stress. But of course it’s hot everywhere in Texas.
Pros
Great pay. Easy schedule. Amazing Healthcare.
Cons
Very Hot during the summer. Repetitive work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do you're part
Line operator (Former Employee) –  Bowie, TXMay 11, 2019
It was awesome working for w.l. plastics. They are run by management that does their job and expects greatness out of every one they will take care of you as long as you do the job you are hired on for. The people where friendly and easy to get along with
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t waste your time or health
Lead Operator (Current Employee) –  Mills, WYMarch 18, 2019
Currently employed, but actively seeking an alternative. Very poor management, unless you like to stress about possibly not having a job from one day to the next. Pay is okay compared to some places; however, it is nowhere near what it should be for the amount of work performed. The management, or lack there of, will always come up with new and exciting ways to treat you poorly and if you have an accident, your job is immediately threatened. If you try to explain yourself in any way, the management will shut you down and will always tell you that you’re in the wrong. They do not care about their employees and are strictly money motivated. Even if you have been there for many dedicated years, they do not care about you, they would rather threaten your employment and find someone new who is inexperienced than to stick with and care for current employees. I know many former employees who will tell you the same thing. There is a reason for their extremely high turnover rate.
Pros
Paid lunch, decent benefits
Cons
Poor management, extremely stressful, job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting bussiness
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Casper, WYMarch 17, 2019
Liked working here, enjoyed fabricating in the plant when needed, and enjoyed my coworkers, good benefits and pay, poor choices in hiring and a juvenile manager caused a revolving door of employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wl Plastics where to begin
Floor Technician (Former Employee) –  Rapid City, SDFebruary 25, 2019
would never work for them again. was fired for having influenza b. one night the shift manger didnt even let me take my break for a 12hr shift was able to eat my lunch on my way home at 8am instead of my 2am time
Pros
12/hr for rapid City
Cons
Management sucks. you pretty much are on your own
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the guuys I worked with
Line Operator (Former Employee) –  Bowie, TXFebruary 13, 2019
The work was hard but the pay was good. I hated to leave. My supervisor was easy to work for and always had a good attitude. I would go back if I lived closer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management does not teach/explain things well
Lead Operator (Former Employee) –  Statesboro, GADecember 26, 2018
If i had questions I could not ask them or Supervisor would get aggravated. I also injured my elbow and they told me I had to get a release from the Dr. to work or I would be released
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Line Operator (Former Employee) –  Bowie, TXSeptember 24, 2018
great payed good people

long hours


safety is a musts

little time at home

80 or more hours ever two weeks

two weeks on two weeks off

...
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, poor working conditions
Quality Assurance Manager (Former Employee) –  Cedar City, UTSeptember 18, 2018
It has been a while since I worked at WL Plastics, but from what I recall I was required to be there 7 days a week, and was not allowed to take any accrued vacation days. The pay was very poor compared to industry averages, and the management was even worse, when the management wasn't busy playing on line, they were busy complaining about the noise that was made in the actual production line.
Pros
None
Cons
No vacation, poor benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was alright
Manufacturing Associate (Former Employee) –  Rapid City, SDSeptember 5, 2018
good job ,work was ok,kept you busy,all the other workers helped when needed and explained the best way to do the job,and safety was everyones job was good
Pros
still got your breaks
Cons
really hot in the summer
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and little job security.
Lead Operator (Former Employee) –  Snyder, TXAugust 23, 2018
12 hour shifts but only had to work 7 days in 2 weeks. Very long hours and a LOT of younger, cheaper workers that can't seem to be bothered with things like coming to work on time, if they come in at all. That leaves a small shift very short handed and having to take up the slack because a line can't be shut down when that worker didn't show up. Management is not in touch with workers or their needs. The posted statements indicating the company "cares" about employees' well being are a joke. They care only about company numbers.

New European owners started a "zero tolerance" safety policy. Understandably, they want to improve their safety numbers to help their sales. This has the effect of creating a cutthroat environment in production and shipping. It seems to be aimed at getting rid of any worker they feel like. A lot of incidents go overlooked. But if you stub your own toe, they'll fire you if they think you're paid too much. I've been out of work because of this for almost 2 years and I was denied unemployment. I'm loosing everything, nobody else will hire me for anything and they don't care about the effect their policies have on people they claim to care about.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Frustrating and Upsetting place to work
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Statesboro, GAJuly 23, 2018
Good company to work for but management is terrible verbal abuse daily management makes the job horrible not a pleasant environment to work in and makes it difficult to do your job
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun people to work with
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Statesboro, GAJuly 11, 2018
productive and fun people working with u play a lol of games u have more good days I learned how to run all the machine I think the hardest part is starting up your machine
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced hard working
QA Technician (Former Employee) –  Statesboro, GAJune 26, 2018
fast paced, hot, work driven, hard work. enjoyed the time that I was out there. very little micro management. do your job and go home type atmosphere.
Pros
hour lunches
Cons
inexperianced supervision
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very physical not for the weak
Line Operator (Former Employee) –  Bowie, TXMay 30, 2018
It was 150 degrees in the summer inside and was the most physically demanding thing I'd ever done. I did enjoy learning and most of the processes and the guys treated me like one of them since I was the only girl.
Pros
Work 3 days on 4 off then 4 three off
Cons
No real breaks at all and hotttt
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Layed Back
Operator (Current Employee) –  Statesboro, GAMay 30, 2018
Easy once you learn the job. It's a new company so things have to get straightened out. As with any new place. Other than that I love my job. You have to pay attention to detail. Running scrap cost money, I don't think people care because it's not their money. If it was, they would do the job right and stop taking short cuts.
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
Need people who care about the job . It's not for everybody
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Forklift Operator and Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Bowie, TXMay 29, 2018
It was a great place to work, just didn't make enough to support my family's needs at the time. They have wonderful benefits and opportunities for advancements.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No interest in good workers, just warm bodies.
Production Lead Person (Former Employee) –  Statesboro, GAMay 11, 2018
No job security. Constant harassment from loud, overly confrontational, disrespectful management. Unbelievable amount of turnover to avoid giving full pay, raises, vacation, and access to benefits. Only friends and family of management treated fairly, everybody else is trash. Any issues regarding the final product are addressed quickly and taken very seriously. Issues regarding treatment of employees are ignored. Don't waste your time here, it's not worth it.
Pros
Its a job
Cons
You will hate every day of it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at WL Plastics. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 36 reviews
58
49
310
25
14

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.0Culture