World Gym Employee Reviews

Found 168 reviews matching the search See all 226 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job while in college
FITNESS CONSULTANT (Current Employee) –  Beaumont, TXApril 14, 2019
This is a good job for a college student. They are willing to work with your schedule. It's a nice job and pretty easy job. If you are good with people you will be a perfect fit. Just don't expect to get paid much.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed enviroment and slow paced
KIDS FITNESS TRAINER (Former Employee) –  East Setauket, NYApril 3, 2019
Easy Job, with no hours. The department I was working for got shut down, due to renovations. The management is non existent and the gym needs a lot of work.
Cons
No Hours, Low Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Setauket-East Setauket, NYMarch 1, 2019
I really enjoyed working here. I had a certain amount of autonomy to make sure our members’ needs were met, and everyone was helpful and friendly when I was new.
I enjoyed meeting everyone, staff and members alike.
Pros
Friendly, diverse environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and interactive.
Camp Counselor (Seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Wantagh, NYFebruary 4, 2019
Working at World Gym required a lot of physical activity and attention, as caring for 20+ kids at once is no simple task. I did learn of my love for working with kids, however, and made some very nice friends, as the workplace was very relaxed. The hardest part of the job was definitely tending to kids when they got injured/started crying/etc.
Pros
fun, interactive, rewarding
Cons
short breaks, very hot in summer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Location is closed
Personal Trainer (Former Employee) –  West Babylon, NY 11704January 30, 2019
Location was poorly managed, location closed due to major renovations needed. Corporate decided to close West Babylon . Crunch Fitness down the road took away prospective members.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
comfortable environment
Personal Trainer (Current Employee) –  Mishawaka, INJanuary 28, 2019
clean, well maintained equipment, good staff to give advice about exercise equipment and routines, good juice bar, prepaid and balanced meals according the ADA.
Pros
discount, verity of equipment, trainers from all different active lifestyles
Cons
limited hours, not a lot of ability for growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great clean gym with awesome owners
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  West Chester, OHJanuary 12, 2019
Great gym! Perfect owners who tell a great story. They allow a flexible schedule and short shifts. The benefits are endless as they give you a free membership which includes tanning.
Pros
Kind owners
Cons
Opens at five am
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy going
Sales associate/ Front desk (Current Employee) –  La Plata, MDJanuary 9, 2019
world gym is an easy going job with not much work. good for someone who is in school and does not need/want a stressful job. the management is is fun and easy to get along with but was very under staffed .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
energetic environment
Group Exercise Instructor (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXJanuary 1, 2019
World Gym was a national chain in the 1990's that provided all the amenities of most large health clubs. Due to increasing competition, they went out of business.
Pros
fun environment
Cons
out of business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great gym and a motivational place to work.
Fitness Instructor (Former Employee) –  Lexington Park, MdDecember 29, 2018
I enjoyed working at a known gym that cared for its employees and the patrons we catered to. The environment was positive and upbeat and helped in my own fitness.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was here temporally
Child Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Peachtree City, GADecember 29, 2018
I really enjoyed working at this location when they had it there. its moved to a different location and I was only there for a summer when I was 16 as a summer job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked here a long time ago
Trainer (Former Employee) –  Prince Frederick, MDDecember 13, 2018
This was my first training job. It was a great place to learn how to be a coach and trainer. They have since expanded in a small rural area of southern Maryland.
Pros
Small town feel, good place for novice trainers, Owner and management are great.
Cons
Small town with small opportunity for growth as an independent contractor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good owner
General manager (Former Employee) –  Brunswick, GADecember 11, 2018
World Gym was my first experience in dealing with General management. I had a very flexible schedule and I was in charge over a lot of different things in aspects of gym and customer relations. The ownership in which I was very comfortable with salary and bonus structure was well-deserving and an overall Outlook of the gym was very clean. World Gym taught me and then were different things which help me to succeed in life specifically work-related but also contributed to non-work related things
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workplace and love working with the kids
Childcare Provider (Former Employee) –  Smyrna, GADecember 2, 2018
Good place to work at.Good customer service.Just no advancements. Loved working in childcare interacting with different aged children. Cleaning,vaccuming, dusting etc.Makin sure the kids are well taken care of and safe. Good customer service.Great teamplayers and staff really helpful.
Pros
Gift cards for xmas
Cons
Not enough employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and valuable
Marketing Management Internship (Former Employee) –  Setauket, NYNovember 29, 2018
I expand my conception of marketing management.
I explored software and services associated with marketing management.
My ability to research and process information improved
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Victorville, CAOctober 9, 2018
it was a fun work place. Was not enough hours to always hit your desired sales goals. Membership prices were always being changed. great enviroment with your other coworkers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graphic Design / Marketing Assistant
Graphic Design Internship (Former Employee) –  Chula Vista, CASeptember 25, 2018
Served as an intern for World Gym
Eastlake San Diego. I was their
graphic designer and marketing
assistant. I updated their incoming
leads into spreadsheets and created
custom graphic designs for their
social media, web and print.
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many working hard to do their best, but a lack of strong vision and leadership.
BILLINGS MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Setauket, NYSeptember 19, 2018
The most enjoyable part of the job is also the most difficult. We have many long term clients who are like family. We also have clients who don't stay long and can be very difficult.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales and costumer service
Fitness/Sales Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLSeptember 6, 2018
Greet sign in and out members . show how to us the equipments. Help in the day care when needed. Sale gym membership to new potential member .Clean the equipment and open and close the facility
Pros
Free membership
Cons
No healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun college job
Sales Associate/ Management (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, ARSeptember 1, 2018
A very relaxed stress-free environment where you see the same people almost every day. It was fun while in college and I learned more while using professional and customer service skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at World Gym. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 226 reviews
580
470
350
216
110

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture