World Kitchen Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend
PLI (Former Employee) –  Corning, NYMarch 5, 2018
Some workers are cut throat and management only handles things in favor of certain employees. Lots of harassment from both employees and supervisors. Benefits and pay are good but it is a drama filled position. When things are not going as planned for supervisors, they take it out on the fellow employees.
Pros
Benefits and pay
Cons
Work environment, management, harrassment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment to work at
Inventory Specialist (Former Employee) –  Greencastle, PAFebruary 19, 2018
I was put into area that products were given to me to put in boxes and send them out so they could be shipped to the customers that brought the product. If that area was slow sometimes then we were sent to the assembly line where products were assembled to be shipped out to that company.
Pros
good pay
Cons
short breaks for lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you arent in hr's pocket you are no good
Order Selector (Former Employee) –  Greencastle, PAFebruary 12, 2018
It didnt matter where i was management could see i was doing great. I was promised jobs and then they were given to other people because they had a degree and i didnt. But i was one of the most knowledgeable people in the warehouse they would even call me at home after i got off work to fix things or while in the hospital having my baby. But never advanced. Got fired because the fmla company messed up hours even HR couldnt figure out what they did. But i lost my job when they covered up for many other people who didnt do half of the work i did or had half of the knowledge about the company or how the systems worked.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Electrical/Mechanical Technician (Former Employee) –  Monee, ILJanuary 31, 2018
Management was very good to work for. Busy distribution center with hard working coworkers.

Company discounts to all employees on their merchandise when holding sales to employees and friends.
Pros
Employee recognition.
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for those who love their kitchens (or love to cook)
Key Holder (Current Employee) –  Burlington, WAJanuary 24, 2018
There isn't really a typical day at work. Each day comes with its own challenges and rewards. I learned a lot about my favorite kitchen brands - Corelle, Corningware, Revere - and then some. I learned how to deal with all kinds of people - all ages, walks of life, backgrounds.
There are a thousand little things that go into the running of a smaller retail store. Daily paperwork, emails, metrics, sales techniques. Taking care of the customer includes answering questions, finding answers, exchanges, refunds, finding them the best deals on the items that they need.
The most enjoyable part of the job is thinking outside the box to meet your customers' needs. The hardest part of the job is when company policy clashes with customer's desired outcome.
The workplace culture in the store where I work is fantastic. We're like a little family. We support and encourage one another both personally and professionally.
Pros
Regular employee discounts, plus "employee days" with extra discount
Cons
being measured and rated on a variety of metrics (selling behaviors), having to work evenings, weekends, holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Utility Worker And assembly line (Former Employee) –  Greencastle, PAJanuary 24, 2018
give out free dishes on special holidays.always doing fun events
three to four brakes depending on how busy they are.4 smoke brakes are giving during brakes
Pros
free lunches
Cons
short brakes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All the $ not worth not seeing you family and negative work environment
Order Picker/Forklift Operator & Heo Operator (Former Employee) –  Greencastle, PAJanuary 6, 2018
Overworked: Lots (too much) of Overtime July - December up to 68 hour weeks!
Negative management: only a few supervisors are positive, but don't have the power to change the company/climate.
Health insurance not as good as it use to be (out of pocket expenses)
Pros
decent pay...
Cons
too much OT
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Order Selector (Former Employee) –  Greencastle, PAJanuary 6, 2018
USW union is useless. They take care of their favorites but treat seasonals like nothing. Heard it used to be good as Corning but now is all about the money.
Pros
Wages
Cons
Expendable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved job disliked pay cuts
Order picker for shipping (Current Employee) –  Greencastle, PADecember 29, 2017
went to work. did safety check on shuttle. received tasks to be done. enjoyed freedom of you are on your own just keep productivity. enjoyed the fast pace and busy atmosphere.
Cons
hourly pay deduction for 3 to 4 months
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company and great team
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Leesburg, VADecember 20, 2017
it got to be too much daily traveling, easy job, some heavy lifting involved, no more than about 25 lbs, getting weekly shipments was like Christmas, you never knew what you were getting, customers were usually delightful
Pros
great company to work for
Cons
to far from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place, good people.
Facilities Manager (Former Employee) –  Greencastle, PADecember 15, 2017
Good place to work, keeps busy ! You can move around in the company, many changes !! But an aggressive and going company. I would recommend to anyone! Just do your job and show up everyday, you will enjoy working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful place to work.
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Riverside, CADecember 3, 2017
You start tempt to hire,after 500hrs they consider you.started off good,but after a few years supervisor treats employees like with no respect,work load is not equally devided,supervisor like to give errors for anything they want,stressful place to work at,need to let employees work with no stress,specially when employees needs to concentrate with work load.
Pros
Free product
Cons
Short breaks, not enough professionalism
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent retail hours
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Katy, TXNovember 14, 2017
Decent retail hours and comparatively to other retailers is easier overall...however the clientele this store attracts is a bit of a challenge and tends to wear you down. Also, if you are looking for advancement there is little to no opportunity unless you want to move out of state. All in all, I learned some valuable skills here and would recommend to someone if they were okay being stuck in the same role forever.
Pros
Good hours
Cons
No advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work environment
Order Picker (Former Employee) –  Greencastle, PAOctober 24, 2017
Management unwilling to communicate. Poor management skills. The equipment was old and used. The only benefit of this job was the pay, the vacation days, and the benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Hanover, MDSeptember 21, 2017
I like World Kitchen. It is a great place to work and the environment is very relaxing and balanced. I highly recommend it to everybody. GO WORLD KITCHEN!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Senior Accountant (Former Employee) –  Rosemont, ILSeptember 12, 2017
Overall, it was a good company to work, unforturnately, company has to cut cost to survive. company provided good benefit but the pay was so so. management team was ok.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very strict
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Charleroi, PAAugust 17, 2017
They force you to work over alot hard work and your probation period only allowed to miss 3 days in r months which is hard you never know when you will be forced to work and even if you told them beforehand you cant be forced to work that day and they force you and if you leave you get fired i Pack glass normall 5 position that they rotate every half hour which was nice and there opportunity to move up i drove forklift and ended up moving to a selector which were you look for defaults in the glass didnt like it as much as packing
Pros
Full time job
Cons
Never know what your going to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor work conditions and treatment
Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Corning, NYAugust 15, 2017
This place is hard to work for . The conditions are not good . the hours are long with lots of forced OT. The management is fast to throw a working in the fire to protect them self and use for an excuse as to why something has not gone right for them.
some of the conditions u are forced to do are NOT safe but if you dont you could loose your job
Pros
good pay
Cons
very stressful, heat can be over 100 degrees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at the Philadelphia International Airport at great place to work primeflight Aviation is one of the best jobs I've ever had
Lead Assembler (Current Employee) –  Greencastle p.a.July 22, 2017
A work day at the Philadelphia International Airport different cultures different people great atmosphere to work at. Cord with a subcontractor prime flight but was working for Southwest Airlines checking in passengers giving boarding passes printed out tickets for the luggage
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean Work Enviornment
Order Processor (Former Employee) –  Monee, ILJuly 14, 2017
World Kitchen was a great job to patch together things for my family while I attended college. The pay was consistent and the work was fast paced. This company allowed for any and everyone to become equipment certified. The company believed in everyone advancing and becoming a part of a bigger picture. World Kitchen was an awesome company to work for.
Pros
Clean company operating at a fast pace
Cons
Prone to foot injuries from working on concrete
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at World Kitchen. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 103 reviews
534
430
320
212
17

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture