World Relief Employee Reviews

Found 52 reviews matching the search See all 57 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intern
Intake Intern (Former Employee) –  North CarolinaDecember 26, 2018
I was an intern for two semesters at World relief. I enjoyed the diversity of clients i encountered, and i enjoyed helping them acquire services and get acclimated to their environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse and Purposeful Job
Children & Youth Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wheaton, ILDecember 13, 2018
The World Relief team works well together and truly creates a family atmosphere. The work that you do varies each day, from paperwork, home visits, driving students to school programs, and more.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful place with amazing cause
Intern ESL Instructor (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 14, 2018
Teaching as an intern here was amazing as I got to learn a lot more about other cultures, teach English in a way that practically helped the students, built relationships with them, and gain experience and knowledge as a teacher from practice and from full-time ESL instructors.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Interpreter (Former Employee) –  Spokane, WANovember 7, 2018
Love it it’s the best place ever I learn how to be the best in that work
They are good people there! I wish i was not in school but unfortunately I am.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experiance
TRANSLATOR AND CULTURAL ASSIMILATOR (Current Employee) –  High Point, NCOctober 18, 2018
Helping others is priceless reward.
work environment is full of fun and excitement , specially helping who are in need whom they have lost everything in their countries.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lovely and inspiring place to work-
Caseworker (Current Employee) –  North Highlands, CAAugust 24, 2018
Unforgettable job experience. Lovely coworkers. Best bosses ever, Great experience with the families who are new here and walking with them and helping them to start a new life in US. I learned a lot from them. I learned how we can love all people regardless of our differences.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World relief has a wonderful work environmane
ESL Teacher (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 21, 2018
I was assigned to World Relief my Senior year in college to teach ESL to refugees. I really enjoyed the work environment and the room for creativity in lesson planning in order to create an fun and dynamic learning environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail très favorable
Stagiaire (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXMarch 12, 2018
Stage très intéressant avec des rencontres enrichissantes.
J'ai pu m'améliorer en anglais et surtout apercevoir comment une ONG fonctionne.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Mission
ESL Teacher (Former Employee) –  Spokane, WAFebruary 19, 2018
World Relief is doing amazing work and I am glad to have been apart of it. They desire to help refugees as they come to America and their staff is phenomenal in doing this.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had do my intern there
Intern (Former Employee) –  Kent, WAJanuary 24, 2018
I was work in the World Relief before but I don't like to comeback there because they never except to hire people from different faith. I am a Muslim.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 10Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse environment, fun, motivated.
Nepali Interpreter (Current Employee) –  High Point, NCDecember 4, 2017
Awesome experience. Unexpected challenges are always present. You get to work with people from all around the world. Building relationship with clients and a lot of learning of different cultures.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun times with refugees
Program Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Pensacola, FLNovember 16, 2017
Helping Asian refugees get health clearance, housing, children enrolled in school, transport to doctor appointments with translator was only part of what I did as a program coordinator. Every day was different, I learned to be ready for the unexpected like transporting a mom to the hospital while she's in labor! I helped many in different cultures such as Cambodians, Laotians but mostly Vietnamese.
I taught four Vietnamese ladies English, reading, speaking and writing up to 5th grade by myself and really enjoyed it. The First Baptist church oriented them to our appliances and other useful items. As the (140)families became more acclimated to our culture, language, etc. they didn't need my help so World Relief closed our official office but I still helped out when needed.
Pros
Enjoyed friendships with Asians and helping them
Cons
Some culture differences
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goal oriented and enjoyable work place
Refugee Employment Specialist (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNOctober 26, 2017
The organization had very strong working culture that help workers to help each other and achieve the Mission. The most rewarding things were helping clients for economic independency.
Pros
Team Work
Cons
Bad cars for use
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling Environment
Employment Specialist (Former Employee) –  Spokane, WashingtonOctober 21, 2017
Staff at World Relief were there to do the jobs that they did because they had the passion and drive for it not because of the benefits and salary given to the staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More professional
part time as field officer (Former Employee) –  OyugisOctober 7, 2017
The work was had a lot field work so the time was not key but work plan. I learned the goodness of efficiency at work place. Management was good and the culture is to deliver on time. There were many that needed the support of the program but it had a very small funding so you would send them without support. The funds were always a head of the activity so no any single time did we have to wait.
Pros
Visit to different regions
Cons
The percentage time was 30% so less pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review at World Relief
Refugee Resettlement Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 2, 2017
My experience at World Relief was wonderful. Helping the displaced individuals was the right fit for me and i learned a lot form my clients.
Great place to work.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
short break and low staffing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World Relief
Finance and Operations Intern (Former Employee) –  Moline, ILSeptember 11, 2017
I was an intern so I did not get paid to work for them for the contracted time I had. The office wasn't large, spent most days answering the phone and organizing files.
Pros
work life balance, passionate people who love their job
Cons
no pay, no career advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great volunteer experience
Nutrition Educator (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAAugust 17, 2017
A very healthy environment.
The staff is friendly.
The job itself is very rewarding.
There are many different career opportunities here.
I learned about the process of accepting refugees into the United States.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life changing and relevant
Mental Health Counseling Intern (Former Employee) –  Wheaton, ILJuly 30, 2017
This is an ideal place to work if you have a burden of working with the underprivileged. I received a great amount of training that was practical. There was also support staff to help me to adjust to my position and responsibilities.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and engaging
Good Neighbor Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDJuly 26, 2017
Volunteering at World Relief was a busy and tasking, but very engaging job. The tasks of a volunteer varied but it allowed for me, as the volunteer, to support refugees in their integration steps, and it allowed for me to support people whom I feel a need to serve. I was also able to work in a setting that valued my faith and allowed me to share it and support others with it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at World Relief. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 57 reviews
529
419
35
22
12

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.3Culture

Ratings from women

3.2InHerSight Score

2.9Personal Development

3.3Career Opportunities

3.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight