World Resources Institute Employee Reviews

Found 13 reviews matching the search See all 19 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is all right
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJuly 1, 2018
Didn't like manager. Culture is very much about self-promotion and making sure people hear and know what you're doing. Not much opportunity for advancement for junior staff. Pay is poor, for interns and full-time staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place for an intership
Development Intern (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 30, 2017
This is an organization that respects and values its interns. I had a supervisor that was more than just a supervisor but a great mentor. I would recommend this internship to anyone interested in development.
Pros
Interesting brown bag lunches, great and smart people, really value interns
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and flexible place to work
GIS and Remote Sensing Research Analyst II (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 16, 2017
Just need to deliver. Work is not where you got, but what you do. Flex working environment. Semi research and think tank organization tackling global issues. Ideal for single young professional often want travel and impact the world beyond your backyard
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work, no balance between life/work
Project Coordinator II (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 2, 2017
Great work, no balance between life/work. Really passionate co-workers. Really cool issue areas. Need to fundraise yourself. No real connection between teams.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible, well respected
Research Intern (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 10, 2017
An excellent work place culture, although they don't pay their interns enough. I was only researching part time so can't speak to how full time employees are valued at the organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good organization but minimum promotion for interns and junior staff
Research Intern (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 19, 2016
Would recommend it for new grads to gain experience, but not quite possible to get a real job and not pay their junior staff well
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with intelligent people
Research Analyst (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 25, 2016
WRI is a place with immensely talented and intelligent people. There are some issues with job security and it is difficult to move from admin work to research.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace, great workers and credible leaders.
Researcher & M&E Assistant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCSeptember 3, 2015
Work life at WRI was busy but less pressure. The people were very friendly and always ready to help which helped to facilitate learning for me. I learned that a conducive working environment such as the one at WRI encourages learning ability and increase productivity. Meeting people at Brown-bags and other events helped me improve my understanding of the cultural norms of this organization. I enjoyed working with my team and fellow interns, but the hardest part of my stay was taking negative feedback from team leader.
Pros
Friendly workers
Cons
I was an intern / unpaid
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff, horrible management and bureaucracy
Project Management Analyst (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCAugust 26, 2015
Nice stepping stone but not the place to make a career. I would recommend this organization to someone that is seriously committed to working for a environment/natural resources think tank, otherwise move along, nothing to see here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thinktank
Associate Consultant (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCJanuary 13, 2015
Full of meaningful tasks and helpful staffs. Great opportunity to talk to various of professionals in the industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 5Report

Want to know more about World Resources Institute?

Ask a question
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fascinating work
Intern (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 4, 2014
WRI employees are dedicate to their research, and it is great to a part of such a knowledgeable group of people. Most of the higher-level management are friendly and approachable. Funding issues can be a problem for interns, but WRI apparently has a fairly strong tract record of hiring interns.
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and learn
Senior Admin support (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCOctober 8, 2014
I have worked here for about two years and I enjoy a lot working with the team. Those are among the smartest people I have ever met.
Pros
Needs better structure
Cons
Drinks after 5 and friendly environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 3Report

See more World Resources Institute reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at World Resources Institute. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 19 reviews
57
47
35
20
10

See reviews about

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.3Culture

Ratings from women

3.1InHerSight Score

3.0Personal Development

2.4Career Opportunities

3.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

World Resources Institute Reviews by Location