Wyoming Machinery Company Employee Reviews

Showing all 30 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Better Employer in Wyoming
Power Systems Business Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Casper, WYAugust 28, 2018
It was a privilege to work at this company. If you enjoy being challenged and creative in an environment that values high levels of integrity, you have come to the right place.
Pros
Pay, Benefits, Corporate Culture, Teamwork
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hands down- Best Company to work for
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Gillette, WYAugust 8, 2018
Working at this company has been nothing but positivity. I thoroughly enjoy going to work. Management is fantastic, I couldn't ask for a better supervisor and ladder up. There are all sorts of in-house advancements/movements, so you're not stuck doing the same job if you want to move up/around. Safety is number one here, which is reassuring. The benefits and pay are fantastic as well. I love working for a company that excels in their productivity and customer service, it makes you proud as an employee to hear people talking so highly. I'd say my favorite part about working for Wyoming Machinery is all of the friendliness of the staff. There's never a time you walk past a coworker and they don't greet you and/or ask you about your weekend/day. Hands down- a forever career.
Pros
Everything
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of leadership
Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Gillette, WYFebruary 17, 2018
If you excel at your job and want to advance in this company, good luck. Management will hinder any growth within the company to keep you "stuck" in your position. The lazier you are or if you mess up often you have a better chance to reach management then your co worker who works hard and rarely messes up. If you get into the "good ol boy" club you will reach management, whether or not you are qualified. They have a company handbook and policies in place, but rarely follow what is written.

If you have any previous experience don't offer any knowledge as that is frowned upon. They want people oblivious to standard operating procedures, that way they can tell you how they want things done even if its dangerous or completely wrong.

It could be a good place to work at if new management was in place. Management that knows what they are doing and realize that if they treat their employees with respect verse treating them as expendable the company would see an increase in production and morale. But, nothing will change because its a buddy system.
Pros
Pay
Cons
morale, management, no growth, oprotunity, saftey culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would still be there!
Parts and Tool Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Gillette, WYFebruary 7, 2018
Great place to work! Great benefits! I would still be there if the company wide lay off had not occurred. Great company overall. Job demands are not stressful.
Pros
Great benefits!!!
Cons
Company could not weather the storm for workforce reduction.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
back stabbers
Technical Support (Former Employee) –  casperNovember 30, 2017
cut throat I was laid off after 24 years I had impeccable reviews for the past 10 years, my supervisor and department head had no idea what I did. ....
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Parts Warehouseman (Current Employee) –  Cheyenne, WY 82007July 10, 2017
A typical day is pulling orders, shipping orders, doing inventory, and putting shipments away. At this position I learned about shipping and inventory control.
Pros
Great wages
Cons
Working in conjunction with oil/gas and mining industry booms and busts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place to work
field (Former Employee) –  Gillette, WYJuly 1, 2017
Would not recommend working at this company. Horrible work environment where the management truly does not care about it's people or for that fact the company. Management loves to play games and pit their workers against each...and think its funny! Safety at wyoming machinery is a joke as well...they preach about it but when it comes to it at the job it goes right out the window, seen quite a few injuries while i was there. They only care about keeping their friends working. Even when these people actually make them lose clients and work. About the only good thing I can say is they have good health benefits. They are just floating on the CAT name and have lost all their talented workers (especially in the mining division). There are all these mines in the powder river basin and none of them like to use them anymore if that tells you anything. They are the most expensive to call out and their quality of work is horrible. In short ....dont go to work here, it is not what it use to be!
Pros
health benefits
Cons
work atmosphere, pay, safety, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Warehouse Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gillette, WYJune 24, 2017
pulled parts stalked shelfs built hoses and cleaned
learned to drive a forklift and man lift also how to build hoses
managment was helpful
friendly work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management, good benefits and many opportunities for advancement
Parts Department (Current Employee) –  Casper, WYMay 5, 2017
Good company to work for, with a lot of 20 + year employees. Great management with a strong focus on safety. Family owned company that takes care of its employees. Great benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this job
Warehouse Technician (Former Employee) –  Gillette, WYApril 29, 2017
Wyoming machinery was by far the best company I ever worked for, I have no complaints at all wish I could go back. Great job security, shift times are great employees and management are fantastic.
Pros
Great pay, benefits, etc. great management and employees
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place to work!
Service Writer/Technician (Former Employee) –  Casper, WYMarch 2, 2017
If you are a woman you will not advance in this company. They only keep the one's that are pretty and they do not advance them either. This is the good ol' boy system at play here.
Pros
decent insurance
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 12Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Feast or famine!!!!
Gas field service tech (Former Employee) –  Gillette, WYFebruary 16, 2017
Good place to make some decent money if you want to go to the same contract site everyday. There are too many people in management that walk around with their nose in the air!!! Not to mention when work gets slow they place you mandatory 4 hour days until you quit. A lay off would look bad for the company. I have been through 2 of these 4 hour day cycles and I finally had enough of it.
Pros
Beautiful building and inventory
Cons
Feast or famine
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management and the way they treat their employees
Welder/mechanic (Former Employee) –  Gillette, WYDecember 21, 2016
Terrible place to work. Management treats their workers terribly, and even brag about in meetings. Only thing good is the benefits, but totally wasn't worth it for me. You go home angry and frustrated everyday...and they actually encourage the supervisors to treat their employees this way. Overall just a miserable place to work.
Pros
Non
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, productive place to work
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Gillette, WYJune 24, 2016
Fast paced and productive. Employees get along good and work together for the benefit of the customer and the company. Always room for advancement and encouraged to advance if possible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management are not the ones in charge.
Technician (Former Employee) –  TbccMay 26, 2016
I spent 6 years working for them at one of the mine contract sites.It did not take o notice the fact that management are not the ones in charge. There are certain individuals throughout the company who reach the level of untouchable. And these people are the ones running the company. And should you confront one of these people with they're lack of knowledge about your job which they have been unofficially been out in charge of. They will run to management and you end up labeled as not being a team player. While there certain individuals may not be in charge of you or anyone else technically how you deal with these individuals will have a huge impact on your career. And management will promise you the moon and stars and then find a million excuses why they couldn't make it work out for you. The time off is the only perk to working for this company.
Pros
Time off and benifits
Cons
Poor managment and the people really running the show
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of learning oppertunities
Truck mechanic (Current Employee) –  Gillette, WYFebruary 4, 2016
Fun and motivated workplace. Everyone is very happy to help when in need of advice. Everyone always has a good attitude towards the workplace.
Pros
Lots of learning oppertunities
Cons
Too much management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fast pace
machanic (Current Employee) –  Gillette, WYJanuary 25, 2016
typical day 14 hour days 7 days a week during a scheduled outage i have learned that no job is to big or too small we have a team of experts that have a solution for every task being performed i work with a group of coworkers that are willing to work as a team and share their knowledge as well. the hardest part are the hours per week worked not much time for yourself but it goes with the trade i enjoy traveling with the company seeing all the different states and working with a great group of people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never underestimate your opponents!
ACCOUNTS PAYABLE ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Casper, WYOctober 22, 2015
Nothing is as it appears. Once there is blood in the water the sharks begin to feed. There are different rules for different people. There is a lack of loyalty that is unlike I have ever seen. Those who appear to be on your side of the fence are eating from the other side. Think before you speak, it will be spoken again and again and will lose or gain words along the way. What is being said to you, is being said about you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 12Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and Benefits, poor leadership at every level
Warehouse Technician (Former Employee) –  Gillette, WyAugust 31, 2015
This company offers excellent pay and benefits, however there is a culture of once you've been there about five years you are no longer required to work hard. Management lies to employees about future prospects of shift changes, only telling you what you want to hear to get you out of their office. There is also a major issue of double standards there. If you are friends with the big boss then you can do whatever you want, including getting hurt at work, with zero disciplinary action. If not, then you will be unhappy until they fire you or you quit.

Direct management at warehouse level in Gillette has zero experience in leading a team. Lies to employees regularly to avoid confrontation.
Pros
Great Pay
Cons
Poor leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent pay and benefits
Supervisor/ CRC Night Shift Lead Man (Current Employee) –  Casper WYMay 1, 2015
Great place to work. They have awesome benefits and great pay. They have the best work environment I have ever worked in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 15Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Wyoming Machinery Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 30 reviews
58
48
34
23
17

See reviews about

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
2.8Culture

Wyoming Machinery Company Reviews by Location