XL Catlin Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommended
Reinsurance (Current Employee) –  CTMarch 23, 2018
Since the XL takeover 2 years ago, this work environment is very hostile. Not recommended to anyone with thin skin. Very political and corporate. Benefits are great...management is not so great.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Mgmt
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and productive workplace
Underwriting Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 1, 2018
I experienced a friendly and productive workplace at Xl Catlin. It is a collaborative environment in which management encourages innovation and teamwork. However, my journey didn't allow opportunity for advancement. The company has become less generous with the benefit package and salary increases, but have maintained a bonus over the years. They have always been very considerate regarding family matters. I always enjoyed Global Day of Giving which set aside one day to volunteer and give back to the community. It afforded you the opportunity to meet your co-workers from different strata of the company. It is a good company to partner with.
Pros
Family oriented, encourage townhalls -feedback
Cons
little opportunity for advancement, negligible increases
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people but needs to modernize technology
Sr. Loss Prevention Consultant (Current Employee) –  Rohnert Park, CAJanuary 3, 2018
People are the hardest part of any company to get right, so overall I give XL Catlin high marks. Their workplace technology needs modernizing, which they are working on. Good company overall.
Pros
Good people, collaborative environment
Cons
Dated workplace technology
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Paralegal (Current Employee) –  Hartford, CTNovember 29, 2017
This company has a collaborative environment which is future focused. Continual enhancement to customer needs while meeting the balance of work and family. They are also dedicated to paid global company volunteer days.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great Company
Enterprise Data Governance Program Sr. Mgr (Current Employee) –  Hartford, CTNovember 28, 2017
Great place to work, typical insurance company with up's and down's due to environmental events. Overall good company vision and strategy. Management overall is good, with some areas lack experience and trust. Company pays well, benefits are good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am a contractor working on a temporary basis
CONTRACTOR (Current Employee) –  Exton, PAOctober 12, 2017
There is a lot of responsibility for a temporary contracted employee. Many wonderful colleagues. There is an onsite cafeteria you can purchase breakfast and lunches and they provide free coffee which is nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Organization with Top Notch Leaders
Manager, Learning and Development (Current Employee) –  Stamford, CTSeptember 25, 2017
Excellent Organization with Top Notch Leaders. Focus on Culture.
Managers were great and supportive. The people are what makes this organization the great place it is.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid work environment along with good potential for advancement.
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Buckhead, GAAugust 28, 2017
Was a great experience. Learned a lot about what it takes to coordinate and manage various responsibilities throughout different work streams. The job work/life balance was also a great plus which made work more productive and interesting.
Pros
Culture
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience.
Quality Analyst (Former Employee) –  Exton, PAJuly 28, 2017
Good place to work with many hard working, dedicated employees. Learned many new skills; both technical and about the insurance industry. I enjoyed what I did for the company.
Pros
Global Day of Giving program.
Cons
Restructuring and re-organization ongoing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
IT Engineer (Former Employee) –  Stamford, CTMay 25, 2017
XL Catlin was a great place to work for many years. The colleagues, culture, and compensation were all fantastic. The company strives not to be the most profitable, but the most admired in their industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Department Specific
Claims Manager (Current Employee) –  Hartford, CTApril 26, 2017
Different groups within the company operate by different sets of rules. The overall corporate environment is positive with a good work culture and adequate advancement opportunity. There are certain departments within the company however that are not subject to the overall culture and operate by their own set of rules. This part of the company (a certain underwriting and claims group) does not partake in the overall corporate culture and is closed off from the rest of the company. No dress code, no standard hours, no participation in corporate events, etc... Some people like this and others do not. If you want to work a 9-5 job with good pay and good benefits then this group is for you. If you are looking for advancement within the company, merit based pay or the potential to transfer to another group within the company, then you are in for a rude awaking. Just know what you are getting into...
Pros
Pay + Benefits
Cons
Poor leadership and merit recognition within certain groups
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compensation
Temporary Worker/ Position Ended (Former Employee) –  Hartford, CTApril 6, 2017
Compensation is incredible. Staff values a hard work day but a good work/home life balance. I loved working there. Unfortunately, my job was temporary so I h ad to leave.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
XL Catlin - A company to grow with
VP & Sr Mngr BCM Program Americas and Bermuda (Former Employee) –  Hartford, CTFebruary 8, 2017
I had the great honor to work with this company for 5 and 1/2 years in a position that enabled me to grow in my area of professional interest and personally as a leader. The really encourages collaboration, open sharing of ideas and communication. You hear this from other companies, but this one really has it. If you find a good opportunity and there is a solid fit, I cannot stress the value of applying. This company has a bright future in one of the most challening business environments ever. innovation, trust, execution and compassion are the hallmark of the leadership team and the organization.
Pros
Communications, compassion, training, leadership, listening and of course comp
Cons
Complex organization that really can be difficult to navigate
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture change
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hartford, CTFebruary 7, 2017
Was a great company as XL but has changeD since becoming XLCatlin; all about their bottom line with limited regard to individual employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sophisticated, innovative company
Actuarial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Stamford, CTFebruary 4, 2017
—Fantastic benefits (great 401(k), in particular)
—Comftorable, modern work environments
—Challenging work
—Global footprint
—Respected brand name

However, can be easy to get stuck in a dead-end position with no growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working with my colleagues and received full support of my company
Global Head of Claims Continuous Improvement (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZDecember 16, 2016
Built better quality program than ever before. I gained valuable experience in process through collaboration with colleagues to customize the quality program for various business lines and locations to secure buy-in and acceptance.
Pros
Great People and Company was supportive of my program.
Cons
Many changes following XL Group's acquisition of Catlin
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with great colleagues
Property Claims Specialist (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 11, 2016
- Standard hours with availability to work remotely
- Great management with years of experience
- Office culture can be more interactive but co-workers are all friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job work-life balance
HR Finance/Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Stamford, CTOctober 18, 2016
I enjoyed working at XL Catlin.
In a course of almost 6 years I've learned a lot about HR team, its polocies and procedures, as well as Corporate Finance.

Left due to a long commute.
Pros
Great people
Cons
A bit tought time through acquisition
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good work place
Insurance Specialist (Former Employee) –  New York CitySeptember 15, 2016
I feel that this is one of the best place that I have ever worked.
You get lots of job training and flexibility to add new ideas to your
current position. Very good Lunch and learn programs. and a balance work load.
Pros
free coffee and Jym discounts
Cons
out sourcing jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy/non stop but learning different aspects of the job in a fun environment
Facilities Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 13, 2016
* met with various vendors for multiple projects.
*greet and meet clients
*learned how to communicate well with others and satisfy their needs.
*worked with various event planners for various corporate events.
*great and enthusiastic and professional relationships with all co-workers.
*have always considered myself a hard worker and a perfectionist.
*Assisted the Director of Facilities will all required projects, from accounting to maintenance, event planning and job recruitment.
Pros
Net worked and advanced within the company.
Cons
some say i was too much of a hard worker.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at XL Catlin. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 65 reviews
524
427
310
22
12

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.9Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
3.0

2.6Personal Development

3.1Career Opportunities

3.3Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight