XL PARTS Employee Reviews

Showing all 55 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
Driver (Current Employee) –  Duncanville, TXNovember 18, 2018
I work for pdqthey contract me out to xl auto parts as delivery driver xl has vac ins and benefits pew is a good company they just contract out and have no benefits for their employees
Pros
Good job good people
Cons
No ins or pd vac
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job for starters
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 13, 2018
It’s a great just if ur looking to start
Warehouse stocking is mostly easy
The manager is layback he’s very understanding
It’s only 9 hour heavy lifting
And on ur feet all day constantly moving
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its like being in high school
Wearhouse logistics (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 6, 2018
Wouldn't recommend no one if you're not Hispanic
They barely want to pay but the work is pretty easy
You only get 30 minutes for lunch and 1 15 minute break
Pros
Weekends off
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Go get it atmosphere
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 5, 2018
At this location you definitely have to be in the frame of mind to go and be competitive. You are able to build good relationships with the customers to keep them engaged in doing business with you.
Pros
Good Competative bonus
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a terrible place to work for
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 28, 2018
It's not a terrible place to work for. It's just gonna really depend on who your area manager is and how they treat the people under them. You get a raise every year, benefits, and 401k match. Off on Sundays too.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work for and also fast paced
Inside Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 25, 2018
I worked for XL Parts under the previous owner for 6 1/2 years, and I’d say that he knew business. I would recommend XL Parts while under the old CEO, I don’t know how the new CEO runs things. I would definitely go back if they had room for a manager or assistant manager here in San Antonio.
Pros
Fun competitive place to work
Cons
Hire within was not an option
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An ok envionment where I learned a lot of auto parts.
DELIVERY DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 18, 2018
I usually start a 9:00 a.m shift, and I start making deliveries till they want me to go to my lunch break, but if it's so busy sometimes we don't get lunch breaks.
They were so rude, the way they talk to us most of the time and if we make a mistake they didn't care if there where customers inside they were not professionals. Customers could hear what they said and the way they spoke to us with bad words, it was so embarrassing. ( That was my typical day)
Another thing that I didn't t like was that I have to pay for half of my gasoline, use my own car and pay my taxes at the end of the year like if I was a self employer. At the end I ended up looking like I was paid at $5.00 an hour instead $9.00.
Pros
To drive
Cons
No benefits, poor management, no professionalism, not a good pay rate, etc
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay, work to death
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  TXOctober 16, 2018
They won't pay you much... but expect you to do 2 or 3 people's jobs.
They will use you like an animal until you quit or die!
Lots of negative criticism and no positive
Pros
Parts discount
Cons
They expect everything give nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
does not hire within. Very little advancement offered.
Store Supervisor/Call Center Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXOctober 4, 2018
Company was great while privately owned but new regime has little time for advancement within and chooses to bring employees from previous employments and very close minded. Treats outside sales Horribly as well as vendors. Employees have turned into numbers instead of a valuable asset.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for getting the foot in.
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJuly 28, 2018
Usual days for a warehouse worker was to come in and do inventory. Later in the day a delivery would come in and you would have to put that up while staying organized. The days tend to overlap with each other, but it was never a bad thing. Some day when i would finish my duties I was taught how to be a salesman for the company as well as how to use the system to sell part to customers. They did a good job in teaching people the next step and gave them a path to grow upon
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is good, management is unprofessional
Parts Stocker (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 19, 2018
Company provides a fair wage and decent benefits, however the management is unprofessional and tends to play favorites when it comes to issues in the workplace.
Pros
Fair pay, decent benefits
Cons
Job culture is iffy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for before it got bought out.
Inside Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Houston, TX; Humble, TXJune 28, 2018
I loved working there. I was employed with them for 6 1/2 years at one location, and almost 3 years at another location. The hiring managers were cool. New manager came in at both stores and had new rules, which I didn't agree with.
Pros
Great coworkers
Cons
New manager, new rules
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back enviroment but can get very fast paced at times
truck/cars parts to mechanic shops (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 26, 2018
fun environment not really supervised just make sure you do your job and deliver parts in a reasonable time and also return parts and document them correctly for the customer to get their refund
Pros
You are in your car by yourself
Cons
You pay for your own gas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Vice President of Sales (Former Employee) –  Houston, TexasMarch 21, 2018
Was a family owned and operated business that we grew to be a 220m operation. Owner decided to sell due to poor health of his wife. Once new company installed their CEO everything changed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive , fast paced , always busy , getting to meet new people over the phone
Inside Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 27, 2018
Great place to work . A lot of overtime & bonuses are good
Great discount on auto parts . Get to meet venders and get perks thru them . We also have spiffs
Pros
Monthly bonus
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for quick decent money. Not where a young person wants to stay forever if other options are open.
Warehouse Puller/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Jersey Village, TX 77040February 21, 2018
Great people, great management. Just not a place to grow or build on a career. Decent pay, a lot of hours, nice place to work while planning something bigger. Face paced and tough environment to work in physically. The time flies because it is always busy. All and all a very decent company to work for with decent people but most likely not where a person that is in the warehouse would like to spend their working careers.
Pros
Decent pay, great management, nice OT, great workers.
Cons
Job/Life balance, not much advancement, not a career, physically tough.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXFebruary 11, 2018
Fast paced and a lot of walking. Keeps you very busy and most days go by very fast. Probably best auto parts company to work for due to quality of parts.
Pros
pay
Cons
no room for upper level of advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Location manager
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Denton, TXFebruary 10, 2018
Every day was something new, but the overall sense of the business was customer service. Taking care of the accounts is the driving force behind the entire day, but sometimes extended past the working hours. That part was frustrustrating.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very friendly environment.
Accounts Receivable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 30, 2018
Worked as a contractor, work environment friendly.
at the time of me working there owner was still working.
small company but with plenty of diversity.
Pros
free breakfast most of the times
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
limiting mgmt
STOCKER (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJanuary 3, 2018
I was limited by this company. The culture does not promote cross training. They did not pay me for mileage when traveling to the stores and paid me very little.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at XL PARTS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 55 reviews
512
415
315
26
17

See reviews about

3.1Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
2.8Culture