Yahoo! Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 328 reviews matching the search See all 504 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with a variety of products
Process and Policy Specialist (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYSeptember 14, 2018
Very transparent company with room to grow and lots of great learning experiences. The typical day involves sitting in front of a computer and going to meetings, the collaboration cross-site is unlike anything I've ever experienced.

I worked on projects such as product support launches (UK daily fantasy sports), fixing system issues and collaborated globally on Yahoo Mail improvements and new features.
Pros
Free meals, people. people. people. Work environment, stock options, 401K
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super fun company to work for!
Advertising Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Boston, MASeptember 10, 2018
Yahoo was a great company to work for - we were always having fun but working hard too. The benefits were great and there was always an opportunity for career growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to dive into your work and grow
Editorial Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 5, 2018
The Yahoo brands are a little more focused now over a year into life as part of the Oath family. People are driven, the culture is very positive and progressive, and I think they're really poised to do great things. I have and will continue to recommend it as an amazing place to work. Performers are rewarded, and promotion often comes from within. The scale and reach of the brands remain impressive, there are truly few like it. Many people forget that. Sometimes the size of the company made it hard to affect real change and things could move really slowly, but current leadership is committed to changing that part of the equation.
Pros
Great people, great benefits, great facilities, and yes, free snacks
Cons
You may love the work so much that you'll have to remind yourself about that work/life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work!
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAAugust 6, 2018
Yahoo is a great tech company to work for because it doesn't take itself too seriously. It likely depends on what manager you have but I was lucky enough to get the best manager there was who truly cared about me, my career, and what I was interested in.
Pros
Great pay and benefits
Cons
The company is suffering an identity crisis
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Place to work
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAAugust 4, 2018
Enjoyable place to work, lots of changes with the new executive staff. They were very focused on being sure that everyone understood the goals of the company.
Pros
great benefits and perks
Cons
layoffs were often due to merge with Oath
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
laidback
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 4, 2018
This company has now operates under Verizon as OATH.
Yahoo was a great company, very laid back, remote ability and flexibility. Love Love this place.
Give OATH a try.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Lead Developer (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLJuly 30, 2018
talks a lot about their transformation and helping employees be their best. I'm pleased to see that they are really making an effort. From their focus on work/life balance and compensation, to their brand new workspaces - i couldn't be happier working here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, too bad it's in decline
contractor, upgraded to Yahoo employee (Former Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAJuly 25, 2018
I liked working at Yahoo, but clearly it's in advanced decline. Not much else to say, despite the 150-character minimum. Good people for the most part.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dial-up the learning curve
Senior Engineering Manager (Current Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAJuly 22, 2018
Happy that our business unit Yahoo SmallBusiness works just like my previous startup. At times, I am the architect, designing new component functionalities , or I'd find myself deciding on front-end scheme, or be designing backend APIs .
Be it designing interfaces or interfacing with customers , screening candidates, or defining product roadmaps, there is always a sense of freedom to call the shots and do more, that is what I like about my work here.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great while it lasted
Senior Client Advocate (Former Employee) –  Hillsboro, ORJuly 16, 2018
Answered calls from customers w/ merchant accounts, sometimes from those expecting advanced coding assistance, set up new accounts, processing billing info
Pros
Metrics were focused on making customers happy
Cons
Some mgrs should never have been hired - aggressive, demeaning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bleed Purple
Sr Billing Fraud and Escalations (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJuly 11, 2018
The culture and the people at Yahoo drove the success of the workforce. Being a part of the customer care team was the best part of the job. Connecting with users daily and helping to resolve their issues was always our focus.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful company and legacy
Creative Director (Former Employee) –  Playa Vista, CAJune 27, 2018
Yahoo was a wonderful place to work full of people who bled purple (as they liked to say). Sadly the culture was dramatically impacted when Verizon took over and merged Yahoo and AOL into Oath.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Software Developer Intermediate (Former Employee) –  Champaign, ILJune 25, 2018
Amazing work culture! Had a great team. People are helpful. No company politics. Things are transparent. Learn new technologies, great managers in the site.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great technology company with great engineering workforce
Senior Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Santa Clara, CAJune 19, 2018
Yahoo is at the forefront of lot of technologies especially related to big data and online and mobile advertising systems. fantastic engineering army.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
Sr Visual / Interaction Designer (Former Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAJune 15, 2018
I learnt a lot over the 7 years I spent at Yahoo.
Great people, projects, intern mobility.
So many projects for a designer to work on, from mobile to desktop
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work as a contractor
Systems Administrator (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAMay 18, 2018
Review tickets in job queue and prioritize as necessary.
As a desktop support technician I learned using Web based applications for internal business.
I never saw much management in my area.
Great workplace culture.
The hardest part of the job was learning all the web based systems and all the plugins needed to make them work.
The most enjoyable was good people, a fun place to work and still be productive.
Pros
Subsidized cafeteria and diverse group of team mates.
Cons
Many team members left and the new ones would arrive week to week
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 14, 2018
I actually loved working there. I wish they had stayed there for us , but barely even gave us notice when they left.They should have gave us more time and opportunity.
Pros
Work
Cons
Changing policies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Network Operation Engineer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 7, 2018
Worked long back, not sure about the current state, i think its sold to verizon now. It was a great American company, i was part of this when it was declining, had developed work processes, and elaborate employee work benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company is boring, the work is boring, and nobody seems to care.
Technical Yahoo Engineer (Former Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAApril 28, 2018
The company has a feeling of defeat throughout .. defeated by Google. It's a terribly boring place to work. The management is often absent and/or hostile in their interactions.
Pros
I cannot think of any.
Cons
The management has no idea of what to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people and culture made working at Yahoo great!
Senior Problem Analyst (Former Employee) –  Burbank, CAApril 27, 2018
Great team chemistry and a positive culture created a family style environment. This allowed for more challenges and thirst for knowledge. As a team, we succeeded together, and failed together. I really enjoyed progressing individual's careers and building great relations with everyone there.
Pros
People, Challenge, New Technologies, New Opportunities, Food.
Cons
Constant change in SLT
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Yahoo! Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 505 reviews
5213
4192
373
224
13

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
4.1Culture

Women's ratings

3.3Fairygodboss Score

47%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

86%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss