Yahoo! Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 318 reviews matching the search See all 490 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bleed Purple
Sr Billing Fraud and Escalations (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJuly 11, 2018
The culture and the people at Yahoo drove the success of the workforce. Being a part of the customer care team was the best part of the job. Connecting with users daily and helping to resolve their issues was always our focus.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful company and legacy
Creative Director (Former Employee) –  Playa Vista, CAJune 27, 2018
Yahoo was a wonderful place to work full of people who bled purple (as they liked to say). Sadly the culture was dramatically impacted when Verizon took over and merged Yahoo and AOL into Oath.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Software Developer Intermediate (Former Employee) –  Champaign, ILJune 25, 2018
Amazing work culture! Had a great team. People are helpful. No company politics. Things are transparent. Learn new technologies, great managers in the site.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great technology company with great engineering workforce
Senior Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Santa Clara, CAJune 19, 2018
Yahoo is at the forefront of lot of technologies especially related to big data and online and mobile advertising systems. fantastic engineering army.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
Sr Visual / Interaction Designer (Former Employee) –  Santa Monica, CAJune 15, 2018
I learnt a lot over the 7 years I spent at Yahoo.
Great people, projects, intern mobility.
So many projects for a designer to work on, from mobile to desktop
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work as a contractor
Systems Administrator (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAMay 18, 2018
Review tickets in job queue and prioritize as necessary.
As a desktop support technician I learned using Web based applications for internal business.
I never saw much management in my area.
Great workplace culture.
The hardest part of the job was learning all the web based systems and all the plugins needed to make them work.
The most enjoyable was good people, a fun place to work and still be productive.
Pros
Subsidized cafeteria and diverse group of team mates.
Cons
Many team members left and the new ones would arrive week to week
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 14, 2018
I actually loved working there. I wish they had stayed there for us , but barely even gave us notice when they left.They should have gave us more time and opportunity.
Pros
Work
Cons
Changing policies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Network Operation Engineer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 7, 2018
Worked long back, not sure about the current state, i think its sold to verizon now. It was a great American company, i was part of this when it was declining, had developed work processes, and elaborate employee work benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company is boring, the work is boring, and nobody seems to care.
Technical Yahoo Engineer (Former Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAApril 28, 2018
The company has a feeling of defeat throughout .. defeated by Google. It's a terribly boring place to work. The management is often absent and/or hostile in their interactions.
Pros
I cannot think of any.
Cons
The management has no idea of what to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people and culture made working at Yahoo great!
Senior Problem Analyst (Former Employee) –  Burbank, CAApril 27, 2018
Great team chemistry and a positive culture created a family style environment. This allowed for more challenges and thirst for knowledge. As a team, we succeeded together, and failed together. I really enjoyed progressing individual's careers and building great relations with everyone there.
Pros
People, Challenge, New Technologies, New Opportunities, Food.
Cons
Constant change in SLT
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great teams doing interesting stuff
Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAApril 27, 2018
Strong teams get to work on a lot of interesting problems at Yahoo and if you can find one with a great or even good management chain, you'll be in heaven.

Most disappointing to me was the lack of strong leaders in management at all levels.
Pros
Compensation, benefits, opportunities to work on great problems
Cons
Weak to average management, politics
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked from Home
Director, Ethics and Compliance (Former Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAApril 26, 2018
Yahoo was a fun and energizing culture to work. I only spent 25% of my time onsite. It had all the amenities you would want, great food, awesome fitness center, large outdoor spaces, fun events etc
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace great team
Transaction Services Senior Manager (Former Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAApril 24, 2018
Too bad the company could not return to growth. Collaborative and fun workplace due to team being hand picked. Work life balance came with time and earned trust.
Pros
Great experience
Cons
No growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad environment
Cake mixer (Former Employee) –  Sherman, TXApril 18, 2018
Managers are hateful , little pay , too much hours of hard work and no benefits , that's job literally sucks , I wouldn't recommend it to anyone , managers take everything personal.
Pros
Alot of hours
Cons
Bad pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Colo Technichian (Former Employee) –  Reston, VAApril 12, 2018
A typical day involved checking tickets and completing the tasks that came up. I learned to use some scripts in dos and the wonders of remote software. The management was nice and as long as you respected them they respected you. The people were organized and when we had large projects we worked together. The hard part was getting access passwords to help to admins, I couldn't do all the requests that came in. I enjoyed the quiet when there wasn't mass pages and the steady work request we had coming in.
Pros
Steady work and good coworkers
Cons
Cold and hot, depending on which side of the server you were on
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much fun not enough work
Tax Compliance Manager (Former Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAApril 8, 2018
It was a fun place to work but they focused too much on the fun. My dept. was too worried about perceptions and there always seemed to be some fun event going on. I always wondered when the engineers actually did any work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace culture
Senior Software QA (Former Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAApril 4, 2018
This is a nice place to work in where it has a nice gym and that there has lots of tech talks that employees can learn a lot.
However, the managements has been keeping change too much.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
management changes too much
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Mailroom (Former Employee) –  Carson, CAMarch 27, 2018
Fun environment to work in, but can be highly stressful at times, especially around the holidays. The employees were very friendly and kept a positive attitude.
Pros
free lunchesbut a highly stressful
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Senior Data Scientist (Current Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAMarch 22, 2018
It's good to work here.You can improve yourself by gaining lot of experience.Apart from work I also enjoyed the workplace culture.Everyone is so cooperative.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work at
Director - Engineering (Former Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAMarch 14, 2018
Yahoo is a good place to work at with good intelligent people who have a good grasp on technology. All teams deal with large scale and volume that is parallel to other major companies in the same space.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Career advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Yahoo! Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 491 reviews
5208
4184
372
224
13

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
4.1Culture

Ratings from women

3.8InHerSight Score

3.8Personal Development

3.8Career Opportunities

3.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight