YAI/NIPD Employee Reviews

Found 160 reviews matching the search See all 161 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Direct Care Professional (Former Employee) –  Montvale, NJAugust 17, 2018
Great place to work with a good growth potential.Great people and great benefits. Great events and community ties. Great activities for consumers and good communication with family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work at
Residential Supervisor (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 14, 2018
YAI is a good company to work for where there is a good chance of moving up if you do what needs to get done and you network properly. its all about who you know.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it, but a challenge
Senior Direct Service Professional (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYAugust 3, 2018
Loved working with the people I support, but management makes things difficult to work there. While working there, I went through three supervisors. It wasn't until the third came in and made things more difficult and I finally had enough and left. Workers were lazy and didn't want to work, supervisor made all the employees lives miserable, and three employees after me left as well, we all got transfers. Supervisor was ethically and morally wrong, witnessed abuse on numerous occasions and never reported it.
Pros
Some kind of freedom
Cons
Management isn't fair or helpful
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Experience
Software Engineer Intern (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 2, 2018
As long as you do your work, everything is fine. I had good team members. The board presented what project they needed and their functionalities, and we were in charge to make it happen using open sources technologies.
Pros
Transportation Reimbursement.
Cons
None that I can think of.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better for busy schedule
Direct-to-Support Professional (Current Employee) –  Kew Gardens, NYJuly 9, 2018
YAI DSP is very flexible for those who have a busy lifestyle. Depending on the house it can be very busy or relaxed. There's definitely some health concerns for those who are working for a long time but overall it's better than most big corporate entry jobs. The management depends on the person at the house, so it can depend on how the house can be run. The most enjoyable out of the job is the people we help and how we are able to bring them closer to having a happy life with us supporting them.
Pros
Overtime, many hours, meals are accommodating sometimes, benefits
Cons
No breaks, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed
Direct Support Professional (Former Employee) –  NJJuly 8, 2018
Overall it is a good place to work. The clients are wonderful and become attached to you. Management and the scheduling of staff needs some improvement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to gain experience
Assistant Behavioral Intervention Specialist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 6, 2018
Like most social work agencies you are at the mercy of your supervisor who unfortunately may not be used to the responsibilities of your role. I would recommend holding your relationship with your supervsior above all else and besides that working with individuals was the easy part.
Pros
You may get an extremely easy job with an individual who needs little support.
Cons
You may have an incredibly difficult and easy job with an individual who needs lots of support, especially with toileting and other ADL skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for college students
Senior Direct Service Professional (Former Employee) –  Brentwood, NYJune 27, 2018
This job would be ideal for college students as it provides plenty of flexibility in scheduling depending on the department. If you work in a day has, you will typically be assigned anywhere from 3 to 5 individuals for the day. As a direct support professional, it is your responsibility to work on specific goals with each of your clients. At the end of the day you are also required to document in detail, the goals you worked on with each individual. the functioning level of each individual will vary and some may be behavioral but that is not usually the case.
Pros
benefits, flexible
Cons
Stressful, emotionally draining
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid Office Environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 20, 2018
YAI serves a valuable role in the greater community and as such, the office culture reflects its mission. The work, as its nature demands can be stressful but employees are committed and encouraging.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dsp
DSP (Direct Support Professional) (Current Employee) –  Westwood, NJMay 31, 2018
Support the individuals, appointments, cook, rec activities. Count petty cash, bank, food shopping, have game nights, cleaning/ cooking goals two times per week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Direct Support Professional (DSP) (Former Employee) –  East Setauket, NYMay 16, 2018
Great job. Working with the individuals was nice. You need to have alot of patience with working with the mentally disabled . We assist them with everyday life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience in it self
Assistant Behavior Intervention Specialist (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, NYApril 10, 2018
I was hired for Assistant Behavior Intervention Specialist. I'm part of management or so you would think. I did more dsp work then actually assisting management work. Not even properly paid for the work. When you find out you make only cents more then a dsp it's not worth it. When you find out you went to school got a BA and have to shower people along with pm hours instead of the am hours you thought you'd get it's not worth it. When your being interviewed ask questions like what are the hours like.. what does the job consist of. I felt more like dsp then management never felt comfortable telling people what to do as their supervisor. I out ranked people yet I allowed them to tell me what to do because it felt weird telling people what to do when I felt like on the same level as them when I wasn't supposed to be.
Pros
Benefits, time off
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work.
Assistant Behavioral Intervention Specialist (Current Employee) –  New York, NYApril 3, 2018
The company is one of the best in the mental health field. Great trainings in all areas to help increase knowledge and skill. Pay isn't fantastic but it is great compared to other companies.
Pros
pay, benefits, trainings, CE credits
Cons
Staffing is low
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful environment
Residential Aide (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYApril 3, 2018
very stressful workplace, staff was polite, management seem to care just about having enough staffing, very hectic from the time you entered work until end of shift,
Pros
benefits
Cons
ouytweighed the benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Direct Support Professional (Former Employee) –  Garfield, NJApril 2, 2018
This job keeps you busy servicing clients. Clients were assisted with daily living skills, activities and staff prepared meals and engaged clients....
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
low pay
Community Training Specialist (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYMarch 28, 2018
If the paay was higher more employees would stay around. You cannot live off this salary in NY. The amount of care the employees have for the clients is there but the amount of pay given by the company to its employees is lacking.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
horrible salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the worst companies to work for.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 23, 2018
When I first came to work for YAI I thought they were supportive and seemed to provide adequate training. However I came to learn how cut throat and vindictive the people that work there are.
The management are venomous people and do not really care you there employees. The direct care many are petty and uneducated. The best experience I gained from this company was what type of job and work environment I never want to be involved in again.
The day I left YAI felt like being released from a prison. It was really the worst place and people I have ever worked with.
Pros
The healthcare benefits and time off.
Cons
Cut throat Environnement, petty uneducated staff, horrible pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding job
Direct Service Professional (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYMarch 19, 2018
Job teaches and builds you up for future opportunities. teaches you to pay attention to detail and patience. while working you learn to balance multiple responsibilities
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor
Residential Counselor (Former Employee) –  Westwood, NJMarch 19, 2018
Little or no opportunity for growth. Many expectations beyond job requirements. Little to no administrative support. A poor place to work for a long period of time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Pace to WORK
Human Resources Generalist (Current Employee) –  Queens, NYFebruary 26, 2018
I have been working with YAI for almost 9 years. It is a great company. The benefits are untouchable! You will love it if you use them. the leadership staff I was under was supportive and encouraging.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport