Yale University Employee Reviews

Found 389 reviews matching the search See all 405 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
HEALTHCARE EDUCATOR (Current Employee) –  New Haven, CTJuly 31, 2018
I loved working at Yale University. People were very professional and easy to get along with. Very difficult to get a job within the university but once you get in your are set.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summer Internship
Sports Performance Intern (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTJuly 31, 2018
It was all I was looking for in a summer internship program. I learned a lot about program design. I also had maximal opportunities for hands on experience.
Pros
learning and application
Cons
long hours, unclear about advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Custodian Worker (Current Employee) –  New Haven, CTJuly 16, 2018
Pays good and gives a lot of vacation time overall good people work here it’s definitely a place we’re u can move on to better position in due time I enjoy working here
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day at work
Undergraduate Earth Scientist (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTJuly 12, 2018
I was given complete autonomy. I often worked from home or around important appointments that I had. There were many opportunities to learn from others also doing research.
Pros
Nice facilities
Cons
parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfection
Props (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTJune 29, 2018
I loved every moment at Yale University working in the theatre. I enjoyed who I worked with and the challenge in gave me. We never knew what time of personality we were going to work with and therefore had to adjust our style to match theirs.
Pros
Art, best coworkers, great facilities, healthcare
Cons
Location
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good group of people.
Animal Technician IV (Current Employee) –  New Haven, CTJune 25, 2018
Yale has been very good to me. I work with great people. Our new manager is awesome. The others managers are not as supportive in my request to advance in my career at Yale.
Pros
health benifits. pay. time off.
Cons
Lack of communication.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, great people
Account Assistant IV (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTJune 25, 2018
Great place to work, productive with on-going opportunity for advancement.The workday would include meetings for meeting goals and any updated information needed, work breaks, and lunch. I learned new ways to be better effective at my job and new medical systems. All of my supervisors and management as a whole were always there to help me improve at my job or be concerned with anything that was going on in my personal life that was a concern. The workplace culture was upbeat respectful and fun. The hardest part of the job was learning how to incorporate new medical software systems into already established workflow. The most enjoyable part of my day was meeting my goals.
Pros
The people, learning new info.
Cons
Old building.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Researcher (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTJune 23, 2018
Union for staff and faculty
Raises during Recession
Comparable benefits to private sector
Beautiful campus, offices and amenities
Affordable housing
Ample funding
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lively place to work with state-of-the-art laboratories
Research Associate (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTJune 21, 2018
Yale offers state-of-the-art facilities for research scientists. The environment is collaborative. There is no cafeteria near the TAC bldg. There is no place to park on campus. Area south of medical campus is questionable neighborhood.
Pros
Hi tech laboratories
Cons
No Parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent benefit package with dental insurance
Research Assistant/Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTJune 19, 2018
Accommodates with flexible schedules. Excellent medical benefits and paid time off. Work interdependently and complimented for doing a good job.. Internal applicants are priority when applying for a newly posted position within Yale. Training is available within Yale and also reimburses courses taken outside of the University. Yale also offers education scholarships for dependent children of employees.
Pros
Flexible schedule, great hourly rate, excellent medical, dental benefits
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ivy League
Associate Director - Service Management (Former Employee) –  Science ParkJune 11, 2018
Yale is one of the worlds great institutions. In the current environment, you're pretty much going to be signing up to be a 'coastal elite' as opposed to a deplorable. Guilty. But you will be on the intellectual and academic cutting edge. If you the opportunity arises, take it.
Pros
One of the most amazing institutions in the world
Cons
A lot of stuff hasn't changed in 300 years. Wow...
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ambiente internazionale
post doctoral associate (Former Employee) –  New Haven County, CTJune 11, 2018
Ambiente molto internazionale e scientificamente stimolante e dinamico.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at Yale
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTJune 10, 2018
I worked under a grant developing DSMIV criteria to add children's diagnoses. I very much enjoyed every aspect of the process under the federal grant. I learned a lot and worked with great people. It was a once in a lifetime experience.
Pros
Learned a lot
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my specific task was a very good fit for me
Teacher (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTJune 6, 2018
my specific task was a very good fit for me. i am specifically referring to having worked at the yale university art gallery. through that job i gained the valuable experience of combining my new passions: art and teaching.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Professional Environment
Visiting Assistant Researcher (Former Employee) –  Physical Sciences and EngineeringJune 4, 2018
My time at Yale was very important for my professional development. The opportunities offered by Yale for career advancement are very helpful, and the Yale network of Alumni is very effective.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work culture offers a variety of benefits
Accountant Assistant IV (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTJune 2, 2018
The work environment is busy, but there is often help and assistance from coworkers to complete the mission and exceed goals. I like the environment, many are willing to share their knowledge to complete assignment and work as a team.
Pros
homebuyer assistance, training programs
Cons
parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Environment in the Program on Aging
Research Assistant on STRIDE Study (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTMay 31, 2018
Learned how to use the REDCAP database for patient data entry and management. Organized both new and old patient mailings for the database records. Interpreted patient voicemails and properly distributed the appropriate information to the corresponding interviewers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positions required high tolerance to staff abuse
Temporary Exec Office admin (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTMay 29, 2018
I loved each and every position, the doctors were fantastic. It was the other managers and support staff that had issues. Nearly all the jobs had private offices, that made those staff that only had cubbies or hallways very frustrated.
Pros
doctors, nurses, other departments' staff, private office
Cons
office manager and secretaries in one department all gone by now
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Medical Technologist (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTMay 26, 2018
I haven't worked at Yale since 1989. I don't know how much it's changed or if it is still a good place to work. I enjoyed working there when my family and I lived in Connecticut.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most favorite job I ever had
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTMay 15, 2018
Very fast paced, but rewarding at the end of the day. Always treated with high respect from your peers and have good benefits and pay. Always had 2 15 minute breaks and a lunch.
Pros
Great benefits, great work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Yale University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 407 reviews
5218
4111
354
214
110

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture

Women's ratings

3.6Fairygodboss Score

46%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

46%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss