Yale University Employee Reviews for Research Assistant

Found 36 reviews matching the search See all 563 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best company to work in New England
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTJanuary 11, 2019
It has been the greatest best experience to have worked at Yale University.
Great place for advancement, learning, networking
Excellent benefits Union oriented
The hardest and most stressful part of working here is being laid off at the Interim Employment Pool. Although they pay full salary and benefits during the 6-18 month period in it, if another position is not found within that period then unfortunately you are out.
It is the first time in 12 years that it has happened to me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Guidance for a Research Assistant
RESEARCH ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTJanuary 8, 2019
A typical day includes
-Reading the plans described from the day before
-Setting up lab notebook and experimental apparatus
-Performing various experiments on RNA i.e. extraction, RT-qPCR, Western Blotting, cell culturing, etc.
-Reports findings on a weekly basis to the PI
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yale university
Visiting Assistant Researcher (Former Employee) –  West Haven, CTNovember 29, 2018
Not too bad. It is a good school full of young and veteran talents. The only thing I could complain is the location. Obviously New Haven wont be the first choice for me to live.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely worthed
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTNovember 25, 2018
I can say much about my position, but the most important lesson I learned was creativity and dedication pays off. In addition, when your intention is to rise while helping someone else is also making a difference.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTNovember 14, 2018
The area is nice and there are many budding restaurants and food carts. The campus is beautiful. The research facilities are fully equipped and some great research is produced. The environment can get slightly competitive but overall very collaborative.
Pros
I got to choose my hours
Cons
Little direction
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent benefit package with dental insurance
Research Assistant/Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTJune 19, 2018
Accommodates with flexible schedules. Excellent medical benefits and paid time off. Work interdependently and complimented for doing a good job.. Internal applicants are priority when applying for a newly posted position within Yale. Training is available within Yale and also reimburses courses taken outside of the University. Yale also offers education scholarships for dependent children of employees.
Pros
Flexible schedule, great hourly rate, excellent medical, dental benefits
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at Yale
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTJune 10, 2018
I worked under a grant developing DSMIV criteria to add children's diagnoses. I very much enjoyed every aspect of the process under the federal grant. I learned a lot and worked with great people. It was a once in a lifetime experience.
Pros
Learned a lot
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Professional Environment
Visiting Assistant Researcher (Former Employee) –  Physical Sciences and EngineeringJune 4, 2018
My time at Yale was very important for my professional development. The opportunities offered by Yale for career advancement are very helpful, and the Yale network of Alumni is very effective.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Environment in the Program on Aging
Research Assistant on STRIDE Study (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTMay 31, 2018
Learned how to use the REDCAP database for patient data entry and management. Organized both new and old patient mailings for the database records. Interpreted patient voicemails and properly distributed the appropriate information to the corresponding interviewers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brilliant colleagues and cutting edge research
Research assistant (NIH Research Support) (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTMay 20, 2018
The department is at the forefront of science and clinical care, leveraging the university's substantial resources to further its mission. Truly a collection of talented and wonderful people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only a summer position
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTApril 3, 2018
My supervisor was very nice and supportive, as well as instructional and competent. I enjoyed working there, but I was only contracted to work during the summer as I had to return to high school in the fall.
Cons
Short term position
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Work
Research Assistant, School of Management (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTMarch 12, 2018
Fabulous opportunity to work with Professor editing Legal/business text book. Use of my skills and challenged my intellect. Able to learn new body of law and gain knowledge in several different areas.
Pros
Expand knowledge base
Cons
Part time temporary position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTFebruary 9, 2018
Yale University works closely with Yale New Haven Hospital in New Haven, Connecticut.
They have the following:
Good Pay & Benefits
Poor Management
Corporate Environment
Pros
good benefits, good pay
Cons
poor management, highly competitive, corporate environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good research environment
Research Assistant, Child Study Center (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTFebruary 1, 2018
I am not qualified to evaluate Yale as an employer since it has been a long time since I have worked there. I will say however that their exponential growth as of late doesn't seem to have the necessary supporting infrastructure and there seems to be a lot of employee turnover.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Repetitive, boring work in isolation in a lab;
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newe Haven, ConnecticutJanuary 26, 2018
I worked alone in a lab doing electrophoresis on bird proteins. I
worked entirely alone for a whole year. The only contact I had with
other personnel or employers in the building was when they came
to my lab to review my results and/ or ask questions. I was trained
for 1 or 2 days in the beginning. After that, I was left alone.Occasionally I was visited by a graduate student.
Pros
The Biology tower was a new 11 story building.
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely Study Team
Research Assistant I (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTOctober 26, 2017
I interviewed study subjects over the phone and set up appointments. There was a lot of team building and learning opportunity. The insurance was amazing and New Haven was a fun place to explore.
Pros
Great staff
Cons
It had to end
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Research Assistant at Yale University (Current Employee) –  New Haven, CTJune 17, 2017
Research project in college with a team of 10 other students during the spring semester. We worked individually and then compared our results with one another.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful!
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  New Haven, CTJune 7, 2017
The employees are very open-minded. I have never met such a group of intelligent, well-rounded individuals. Everyone works so hard to improve in every way that they can.
Pros
educational
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Network
Field Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTMay 30, 2017
There is an amazing group of diverse people who come into this program. Everyone is driven and knows how to work hard while also fostering a curious and motivational environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  New Haven, CTMarch 21, 2017
Yale medical school experience:
I worked at a yale research lab as a research assistant.
Typical day consisted of journal meetings, lab experiments, and grant writing
Workplace culture was positive and progressive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Yale University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 563 reviews
5305
4158
372
216
112

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
4.1Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture

Women's ratings

3.6Fairygodboss Score

43%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

50%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss

Yale University Reviews by Location