Yankee Candle Company Employee Reviews for Sales Associate

Found 244 reviews matching the search See all 932 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and Relaxed
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Alpharetta, GAAugust 19, 2019
I loved working here, the people were great, the environment was great, and it was an overall lovely experience. I only worked seasonally but I would have loved to work as a part-time sales associate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Associate-Seasonal (Former Employee) –  Kittery, MEAugust 19, 2019
This was a fun place to work. The company does not pay very well, but the people I worked with were fantastic. I also loved interacting with the customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZAugust 6, 2019
I loved working here. It was very accommodating to my school schedule and gave me lots of free time. I was very upset when my store had closed. I really enjoyed working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work but the pay is not great
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mays Landing, NJJuly 11, 2019
A really fun place to work. Had a lot of good times working here because I had such great managers.
However, pay isn't great and they expect A LOT from you despite the slightly above minimum wage pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very fast paced, but also enjoyable.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCJuly 3, 2019
Productive and very fast paced, but also enjoyable. Learned a bunch of new things and accomplished each daily goal. The management was usually always understanding and willing to help you out whenever you needed it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mays Landing, NJJune 18, 2019
I looked forward to going to work everyday, but unless it is Christmas time, there an next to no hours for associates. Only the store manager and their assistant can be full timers so that's a downer.
Pros
The discount
Cons
No hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced yet slow
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Florence, KYJune 14, 2019
I worked there for about 8 months off and on between school and breaks and in that time I went through 3 store managers. The management expects a lot but offers no support for low ranked employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yankee Candle was a fun welcoming environment. It felt like a second family.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Altoona, IAApril 16, 2019
When I worked at Yankee Candle is was a fun and welcoming experience. My coworkers where my friends and my managers acted more like my moms then my bosses. Made a great time working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manageable part-time work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Onalaska, WIMarch 27, 2019
The management at my location added a lot of character to the work, which would be slow typically. Hardest part of the job was selling to the customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place with kind customers and great smells
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Simpsonville, KYMarch 18, 2019
Working for yankee candle was a great experience, my coworkers and managers were kind and helped me to learn about the work place and procedures. They were kind and relaxed, unless we did not meet sales requirements.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I've had
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Fairview Heights, IL 62208March 14, 2019
I love working for Yankee Candle. Not only is management amazing, but our customers are some of the nicest people that I have ever met. Although some days can be slow, it's never too boring when you work with people who you can consider your friends.
Pros
Coworkers, management, candles
Cons
slow days, internet goes down occasionally
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and loving crew
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Westwood, MAFebruary 24, 2019
a typical day at work is selling to customers and stocking shelves with new shipment. I learned good communication skills and basic retail skills. Management was GREAT, my manager is so kind and caring. Workplace is very friendly, almost family like. I loved my team and the workplace, great first job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starting place to work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Greenville, SCFebruary 15, 2019
Yankee candle is a good place to piece together money but not make a living. The employees there are great to get along with. The full time manger isn’t that nice. The customers that come is are vary. The store is small and not enough space to put all the candles. They constantly change up the setting of the store.
Pros
Great employees
Cons
Mean demanding customer
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Might just be my location
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Boynton Beach, FLFebruary 2, 2019
I worked here when I was 16 and it was the most boring job ever and they were so strict with everything it made it a chore to go into work. They were not flexible in anyway I had to beg to get my birthday off but yet they only scheduled me 4 hours a week. If you stopped moving for literally a second, they would surround you asking why you weren't doing anything, even though in the 4 hours I would work, only 3 people would walk inside.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a pleasant experience
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Grove City, PAFebruary 1, 2019
Working retail at Yankee Candle put me off of retail for the rest of my life. It was an extension of high school, everything was a clique or popularity contest.
Pros
Discount
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy Work Environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Buford, GAFebruary 1, 2019
Yankee Candle is a good first job with a healthy work environment that allowed me to grow and understand what is expected of me working in the retail job world.
Pros
Discounted Candles
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Customers
Sales Associate/Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Ridgeland, MSJanuary 30, 2019
The people you meet coming into the store make the job worth it. In an industry that is not a need in society it can be kind of boring on some, but anytime I get to put a smile on a face, it's a beautiful thing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on the area
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Wrentham, MAJanuary 18, 2019
It’a a nice company, but the employees suck. Well now I am just wasting space here to get past this review. Ok, so the candles are nice but expensive.
Pros
You work at the outlet
Cons
Favoritism is key
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Co-workers and Kind guests
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Tigard, ORJanuary 12, 2019
It’s a good part time job with very few hours if you’re a busy person this is the perfect job. The schedule is very flexible. Co-workers are amazing, kind and supportive.
Pros
Candle Discounts
Cons
Few Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Easy Job
Manager/Sale Associate (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJanuary 11, 2019
If you're in school, they're very flexible. You get to help and assist customers each day. Sometimes if you give excellent customer service, you have returning customers who only shop with you.
Pros
People, flexible schedules
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Yankee Candle Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 932 reviews
5326
4311
3194
262
139

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

2.4Personal Development

3.8Career Opportunities

2.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight