YMCA Employee Reviews

4.1
Overall rating
Based on 21,513 reviews
Ratings breakdown
59.5K
46.7K
33.7K
21K
1612
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 18,768 reviews matching the search See all 21,510 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible
Before and after school coordinator (Former Employee) –  Camp Hill, PAJuly 17, 2018
This job flexibility helped me go to and finish my college degree. You also got a discount to attend the YMCA. It went thru the CV school district o many locations were available.
Pros
discount to gym
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Productive
Senior Hospitality Agent & Activity Specialist (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 17, 2018
The YMCA of Greater New York is a flexible job when it school, the organization itself has very poor managerial skills and poor communication skills . Managers expect you to find coverage when you call out sick no matter what the circumstance. Can get written up for small instances.
Pros
Discounts, paid sick leave
Cons
Poor communication, poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff and members.
Membership Navigator (Current Employee) –  Coraopolis, PAJuly 17, 2018
I loved my time at the Western Area YMCA. They have been a part of my life and helped me grow and become a better person. I have learned so much. They have allowed me to the best person I am today.
Pros
Great place to work.
Cons
Closing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Lifeguard/Swim Instructor (Former Employee) –  Cookeville, TNJuly 17, 2018
The YMCA was a good place to work in general, it just isn't for me. Everyone was very nice, including the members and it's very convenient. Only unfortunate because lifeguarding is the only thing I can do there, due to being 16, and it was somewhat difficult to get hours.
Pros
free membership
Cons
short breaks, humid in pool
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized and under-staffed
Lifeguard and Swim Instructor (Former Employee) –  Niles, ILJuly 17, 2018
There was very low staffing due to the poor pay, which caused very disorganized management. Furthermore, management attempted to force employees who were students to pick up additional shifts and did not care that these shifts interfered with school.
Pros
relaxed
Cons
dissatisfied customers often needed to be spoken to
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job. Or if you want to give back to the community.
Wellness Consultant (Former Employee) –  Newland, NCJuly 17, 2018
Not a bad job. It's a great job to help communication with a variety of customers. Good job if you like being in a fitness/wellness environment. I enjoyed working with my fellow employees, and loved the clients who would come in. The hardest part of the job was getting enough hours to make a living, as this is part time job for most people. Unfortunately, the management was the worst part of the whole job. Equipment wasn't properly maintained, and the higher up's would regularly degrade the guys who worked below them.
Pros
Good part-time job.
Cons
Don't rely on it to make a living. Bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun work place
Life gaurd (Former Employee) –  Gig Harbor, WAJuly 17, 2018
Very fun to work at the Y and be part of a working life community. Only poor thing is that the hours are low and the pay isn't the best. But overall a great part time job
Pros
Work life balance
Cons
Too little hours. No benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
YMCA is Great
Afterschool Site Director (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXJuly 16, 2018
I worked here during Uni. It was a great part time job, has lead me to build and work on my customer Service skills. This is also a great way to understand and structure a working environment for kids.
Pros
secure, hours, management
Cons
none really
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Wellness Director (Former Employee) –  Moultrie, GAJuly 16, 2018
It was a good job. I just wanted to move on and get my masters degree. The YMCA was a great opportunity in which I believe I was going to be able to move up and advance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Stepping Stone Job
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJuly 16, 2018
Good stepping stone job, but there is not much room for significant career advancement.

Also, much of the work culture is who you know that could help you.
Pros
Help the community
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Lifeguard (Current Employee) –  Bristol, TNJuly 16, 2018
My time at the YMCA was very special. I met new people. I got to work out for free. The environment at the YMCA is simply spectacular. Everybody there is very nice and friendly.
Pros
Free membership
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a reasonable place to start
Advanced/Adult Swim Coach (Former Employee) –  Olathe, KSJuly 16, 2018
I started working for businesses when I worked with the YMCA. The culture is helpful and I didn't have too many problems. Don't expect long hours all of the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Family Environment
Counselor (Former Employee) –  Petal, MSJuly 16, 2018
The YMCA is a great place to work! Everyone is so nice and it’s all around just a great environment to be in! While working at the Y, I gained relationships and became a role model to so many young children and that’s something that I will forever cherish!
Pros
Gaining relationships
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and constructive work atmosphere surrounded by supportive coworkers
YMCA Camp Counselor (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNJuly 16, 2018
I loved the challenges each new day presented and the ability to be part of a tight knit team environment. It was amazing being able to see the growth the campers were experiencing over the course of the week, and my position enabled me to make a positive impact on their lives.
Pros
Free transportation, great skill development
Cons
Weather-related
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not many drivers take care of eqipment
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INJuly 16, 2018
Bus's are used by other drivers some drivers do not take care of equipment leave food and drinks in bus. Also leave bus's with low fuel. broken mirrors and such.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a entry level job
Member Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Adrian, MIJuly 16, 2018
Building opens at 5 am sharp and closes at 9 pm
runs water exercise classes and fitness classes no extra charge
has indoor pool with bathroom and shower locker facilities
members check in with a key fob
Pros
Free fitness membership
Cons
No lunch breaks eat at your desk
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work in
Basketball Coach (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 16, 2018
I great time work on my people skills at YMCA, I EXCELLED IN the youth programs like basketball and team fit. I also worked with the special needs kids. I also worked senior citizens
Pros
The clients
Cons
some staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Granby, COJuly 16, 2018
A typical day started with making breakfast for the campers and staff, followed by making lunch for the campers and staff. I learned how to make food for 300 people. The workplace was relaxed and fun to work in,
Pros
Meeting new people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eh
Head Teacher (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJuly 16, 2018
Could’ve been better , could’ve been worse. There’s only so much room for growth at the YMCA. There’s a lot of people who are truly dedicated to the community and to the kids at their sites which makes it motivating for me to do better.
Pros
Kids
Cons
Parents
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
YMCA of South Florida is a great place to build your career.
Employee (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLJuly 16, 2018
The YMCA of South Florida is an ever-growing organization with significant availability for advancement. The organization is hard driving and business oriented, but all of the cause of expanding impact on the residents of South Florida. Leadership is extremely demanding but fair and nice people that I believe care about individual growth.
Pros
Free Gym, Great Retirement, Discount on Services for Children, Make a difference
Cons
Limited work/life balance, limited resources, ever changing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at YMCA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Women's ratings

3.6Fairygodboss Score

40%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

60%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss