Yoshinoya America, Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 132 reviews matching the search See all 142 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Team member cashier (Former Employee) –  Redlands, CASeptember 4, 2018
It was a very good work environment, the coworkers were nice, manger was nice. Working there As a cashier and server was very easy. I enjoyed my time working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need to change
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 11, 2018
In the beginning I Loved it; then they changed managers and I would dread going to work. Its NOT THE CUSTOMERS ITS THE MANAGEMENT STAFF THATS THE PROBLEM.
Pros
Customers, Free shirts and free shoes every 6 months
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job to have
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Pomona, CAAugust 7, 2018
Learned how to multi-task
Learned how to do tasks in a timely manner
Learned patience
High demand of customers
Gined money handling experience
Lots of cleaning!
Try hardest to work as a team
Pros
discounted food
Cons
drive-thru
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed myself
Shift Manager (Current Employee) –  Culver City, CA 90230August 5, 2018
Yoshinoya is great. There food is always fresh and it's out on time. Good speed of service. I know the front and back of yoshinoya. I enjoy my job. I love when customer enjoy my food and they also enjoy my employees hospitality.
Pros
Promotion for serious/hard workers
Cons
Short break, Busy Lunch/Dinner rushes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Manager (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles County, CAAugust 1, 2018
Workplace culture needs work. No development opportunities. Good place to gain experience and leave. Employees are seen as a cost not an investment. They are working on more work/life balance but expect a lot and give little in return.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 28, 2018
Yoshinoya is all about customer service. My goal was to provide excellent customer service on a daily basis in order to bring in customers. What set us apart from other fast food chains was that we actually dedicated time to resolve any complaints. Our DM personally responded to all complaints.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Prep Cook/Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 26, 2018
Awesome place to work great schedule.
Great food just wish we get it free instead of paying.
Manager are professional need more security and the are they are in is bad.
Pros
Great schedule
Cons
Area
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for your first job
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Corona, CAJuly 12, 2018
Atypical day is pretty easy, the job in general is easy. Might have a few rushes throughout the day but nothing to complain about. But once your comfortable you have the need to want more and they can't exactly give you that. The hours aren't enough to support yourself comfortably. Everyone is really nice to work with but when the pay/hours isn't enough, you'll need something else.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work at and co workers are amazing
Cook/Cashier/Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Garden Grove, CAJuly 11, 2018
Yoshinoya was an amazing place to work at I loved the other employees and the costumers were pretty good too. Sometimes it would get really busy and sometimes it would be at a good pace.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I learned
Cook/Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Palmdale, CAJuly 8, 2018
As my first job I noticed how every has to in a quick pace... When it came to washing dishes. you have to do everything at a quick pace or you will fall behind schedule and will close later then your suppose leave.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Free food
Cook (Former Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CAJune 12, 2018
I learned to cook different foods , i worked in a fast paced environment . I enjoyed the fact that i was always busy. I can deffinetley say i learned alot working there.
Pros
Free food, discounts
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No respect
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Commerce, CAMay 25, 2018
No respect toward Manager's by upper management.
Micromanage. over worked. no balance of life. to many calls in
by employees daily but no action by upper management..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Help customers with there purchase
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lawndale, CAMay 22, 2018
be clean
be fast
good attitude
good comunication
smile
greet every customer
offer customer more
ask customer if they would like any condiments
positivity
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very good job to have during college.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Walnut, CAMay 16, 2018
This job was really amazing they where flexible about my school. Management was amazing and the staff was very friendly. And it’s at a good location if your a college student.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Manager moved to a different location
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was okay
Cook/Prep (Former Employee) –  Palmdale, CAApril 26, 2018
just temporary job. learned to prep and cook food and how not to cross contaminate food. very productive environment. staff was excellent. very helpful management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review Summary
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lawndale, CAApril 25, 2018
Hated this job! hours were crazy. if you had lunch and it was crazy you had to get up and help. people took advantage. you are only given one work shirt, and if not you had to share with someone els.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over worked and under paid
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Long Beach, CAApril 21, 2018
Lack of management skills created chaos in the work place. Constant rotation of new employees, and poor training. Could have benefited from a stronger teamwork spirit.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
basic job
Cook (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAApril 17, 2018
its a good job if you fresh out of high school. if you continue to pursue your education it could be part time and still give you enough time to hit the books.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work itself is not the problem
Shift In-Charge (Former Employee) –  North Hollywood, CAApril 16, 2018
The environment is stressful felt more like a high school movie rather than a place of work. They did not like to give raises though you are a good employee.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paces but friendly
Cook (Former Employee) –  Reseda, CAApril 10, 2018
My experience with yoshinoya has always been a great one. Everyone is always very talkative and I say that in the best of ways of course. Above all they're quick at they're job, they cook with passion.
Pros
kind service
Cons
no specials
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Yoshinoya America, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 142 reviews
538
440
340
212
112

See reviews about

3.5Work/Life Balance
2.7Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture