Young's Market Company Employee Reviews

Found 190 reviews matching the search See all 191 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job, but underpaid
Territory Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Kent, WANovember 13, 2018
Good job that has some flexibility, and the leadership of DMs and channel VPs is very good. The problem is that with each payment restructuring, we get paid less and less.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
Sales (Former Employee) –  Pleasanton, CASeptember 28, 2018
ok place - lots of changes. Management unsure about the direction, bland environment and not a bad place to work but not a great place either. I'd look at other options due to lack of loyality
Pros
free wine
Cons
everyone works in a silo
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
MERCHANDISER (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZSeptember 25, 2018
something new everyday, worked at a lot of different locations. got to know a lot of different products. was able to creative and build fun displays for the holidays.
Pros
new things every day
Cons
alot of driving
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, flexible job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Sumter, SCSeptember 23, 2018
I enjoyed my experience working for Young's, I loved to enter act with the customers..the job it's self was easy ,the tasks we're easy overall while working for Young's was an experience that was worth my time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a great company to work for
Strategic Retail Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 19, 2018
Current management is awful and makes working there miserable. Nothing is ever good enough and they bombard you with a workload that is unrealistic and unmanageable even to the most veteran employees.
Cons
Management, overworked, nothing is ever good enough, treat employees poorly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but tiring place to work at
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Chino, CASeptember 12, 2018
- 13 - 15 hour shifts 6 days a week was the hardest part to get used to
- I learned that coworkers can be cruel
-Management was unorganized and used favoritism
- The most enjoyable parts were the breaks when I could listen to music
Pros
vending machines and cold water in the warehouse
Cons
bad management, horrible coworkers, imbalanced hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many changes at Executive Level
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Tustin, CASeptember 10, 2018
It takes too long for people to be held accountable for their actions. Because no one ever admits to being wrong.
Recent technology upgrades should help the long term prospects for Young's Market Company, but the ERP changeover was a nightmare.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Tustin, CASeptember 9, 2018
Employees must be flexible and open minded. Must be able to shift schedule needs to fit business demands. Employees should invest in themselves in order to advance and keep up with current company business practices. Most enjoyable part is working with great people and the established feeling of a family environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive rewarding
wharehouse worker (Former Employee) –  Morgan Hill, CAAugust 25, 2018
Learning how to run cherry pickers, forklifts ,loading waiting truck's cargo.
Putting pallets of liquor 3 story high and placing them on two rails.
Coworkers at work telling stories laughing.

Unexpected cases falling 3 story's high.
Having to mop up the mess.
Management not really caring about you at work or personal issues you might have out of work.

Hardest unloading the 40 foot trailers by hand.
The best was learning how to work all the machinery abd mastering them well.
Pros
Learning new things, working a swing shift
Cons
Cleaning up broken glass, mopping management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment to work
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJuly 19, 2018
I had on sale accounts in the Sacramento area dealing with bars,resturants and liquor stores. Youngs has great product to sale and very easy to sale. Great environment to work.
Pros
schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
where did he jobs go
SALES (Former Employee) –  Kent, WAJuly 18, 2018
the company lost some big suppliers so had to get smaller real quick.
the company had to make layoffs to some of there top performers to make room for people in the office.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very laid back
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Vero Beach, FLJuly 16, 2018
I felt somewhat laidback. We had to stock the shelves, take orders for resturaunts, work the register and learn all the prices of each item. I would sometimes work from morning till night and sometimes would receive pay raises.
Pros
Snacks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was relly nice working at young's market company
Clerk class II (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 13, 2018
i used to scan invoices all day and data enter and ten key.
i used to do anything they want me to do i used to love my job good and be in that company was like another big family
Pros
good reasonable breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pleasent place to work
District Manager-Chains SW Washington (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, WAJuly 10, 2018
Overall a great place to work, every company that I have been associated with there are things that they can do better. In my opinion to many changes in upper management philosophy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Early Hours but make your own schedule
Chain Sales Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  San Mateo, CAJune 20, 2018
Start really early in the morning and work your 8 hours. Going to different accounts that you need to go to as you learn the different schedules of Liquor Managers. You try and get your products into the stores you are selling into. You do get to get creative when making displays and work overtime when needed. My management was positive and willing to help when needed. Had a good experience with Youngs Market.
Pros
Free Lunches and perks
Cons
Early Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for.
DIRECTOR OF SUB-DISTRIBUTOR NETWORK (Former Employee) –  Spokane, WAJune 19, 2018
I really enjoyed working for Young's.I have nothing but good things to say about the Management Team. Unfortunately myself and many other people fell victim to a corporate downsize.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor leadership
Warehouse Worker (Current Employee) –  Morgan Hill, CAJune 16, 2018
Youngs Market has progressively gone down hill since my employment started. When I first started they actually cared about their employees but now all work and no life balance. Most employees put blood sweat and tears into this company and it just never seems to be enough. It’s all take and no give with this place as well as treating employees badly.
Pros
Union, benefits, job security
Cons
Management, work/life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work - Family owned business for over 100 years
Director of Sales (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORJune 15, 2018
Overall, a very fair company to work for. Good values and excellent Upper Management. Plenty of room to upward mobility and relocation. Company is located in 10 western states with opportunities in wine and spirits.
Pros
Good Benefits
Cons
Too many hours worked
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work, exciting things happening
Sales Representative-Spirit Division (Former Employee) –  Cheyenne, WYJune 14, 2018
Fun place to work, in an exciting industry. I wouldn't have left if it weren't for the local management, but we were pretty far off the radar, so the execs didn't seem to mind how things were ran.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Distribution
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 14, 2018
The company is okay to work for. The culture is okay but there are rumors of a merger. I loved the work and would love to continue to do the same type of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Young's Market Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 191 reviews
565
444
357
215
110

See reviews about

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

2.3InHerSight Score

2.3Personal Development

2.2Career Opportunities

2.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight