Young's Market Company Employee Reviews

Found 195 reviews matching the search See all 196 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too many changes
Sales Rep/Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Union City, CADecember 5, 2018
it was a great place to work, but then it all changed........
reporting, micro managing. Too many managers

Quotas and policies kept changing weekly!
Pros
none
Cons
alot of meetings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding Culture
Marketing Manager, Western Edge Wine Division (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTDecember 3, 2018
Young's Market Company is a 100+ year old family owned company that has excellence and integrity as core values. While opportunities for advancement within the region in which I worked were limited, the company was nonetheless excellent and I happily worked there for nearly a decade.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No job stability
Sales (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZNovember 21, 2018
Company is going down the toilet. Major changes with competitors merging and suppliers leaving has been horrible for business. Used to get 2% raises every year. 2017 was such a horrible year that nobody received a raise. Recently they have been terminating a lot of people.

Advice to Management
Merge with Breakthru.

Advice for jobseekers:
Go to Southern Glazers Wine & Spirits or Breakthru Beverage. I worked for Southern and loved it. Better health benefits, better work parties, lots of wine/liquor bottles given to employees, and they promote from within.
Cons
Expensive health insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Each day is different from the last. Fun work events with clients.
District Trainer and Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Tustin, CANovember 15, 2018
-A typical say is spent entirely in the field. Visiting 6-8 accounts each day with the goal of increasing brand representation and selling in additional product.
-I learned about the wine and spirits industry and the different buying patterns and what made our brands superior to the competition.
-Management was responsible for a large number of accounts across Southern California. Focused on increasing coverage of current top brands while also working to grow newer and lower volume brands.
-I did not experience much of a workplace culture since I was in the field almost always.
-The hardest part of the job was scheduling times to speak with store managers.
-The most enjoyable part of the job was completing a high volume sale to a difficult buyer.
Pros
Good work/life balance
Cons
Opportunity for growth was limited
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good opportunity for younger people to begin a career.
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZNovember 14, 2018
Company has its challenges in Arizona. Smaillest distributor and has experienced losses of clients recently. Need to be more focused on marketing to chains, and also developing employees and training.
Pros
Freedom, flexible schedule
Cons
Difficult to reach sales goals, management turnover.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job, but underpaid
Territory Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Kent, WANovember 13, 2018
Good job that has some flexibility, and the leadership of DMs and channel VPs is very good. The problem is that with each payment restructuring, we get paid less and less.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
Sales (Former Employee) –  Pleasanton, CASeptember 28, 2018
ok place - lots of changes. Management unsure about the direction, bland environment and not a bad place to work but not a great place either. I'd look at other options due to lack of loyality
Pros
free wine
Cons
everyone works in a silo
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
MERCHANDISER (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZSeptember 25, 2018
something new everyday, worked at a lot of different locations. got to know a lot of different products. was able to creative and build fun displays for the holidays.
Pros
new things every day
Cons
alot of driving
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, flexible job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Sumter, SCSeptember 23, 2018
I enjoyed my experience working for Young's, I loved to enter act with the customers..the job it's self was easy ,the tasks we're easy overall while working for Young's was an experience that was worth my time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a great company to work for
Strategic Retail Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 19, 2018
Current management is awful and makes working there miserable. Nothing is ever good enough and they bombard you with a workload that is unrealistic and unmanageable even to the most veteran employees.
Cons
Management, overworked, nothing is ever good enough, treat employees poorly
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but tiring place to work at
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Chino, CASeptember 12, 2018
- 13 - 15 hour shifts 6 days a week was the hardest part to get used to
- I learned that coworkers can be cruel
-Management was unorganized and used favoritism
- The most enjoyable parts were the breaks when I could listen to music
Pros
vending machines and cold water in the warehouse
Cons
bad management, horrible coworkers, imbalanced hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many changes at Executive Level
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Tustin, CASeptember 10, 2018
It takes too long for people to be held accountable for their actions. Because no one ever admits to being wrong.
Recent technology upgrades should help the long term prospects for Young's Market Company, but the ERP changeover was a nightmare.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Tustin, CASeptember 9, 2018
Employees must be flexible and open minded. Must be able to shift schedule needs to fit business demands. Employees should invest in themselves in order to advance and keep up with current company business practices. Most enjoyable part is working with great people and the established feeling of a family environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive rewarding
wharehouse worker (Former Employee) –  Morgan Hill, CAAugust 25, 2018
Learning how to run cherry pickers, forklifts ,loading waiting truck's cargo.
Putting pallets of liquor 3 story high and placing them on two rails.
Coworkers at work telling stories laughing.

Unexpected cases falling 3 story's high.
Having to mop up the mess.
Management not really caring about you at work or personal issues you might have out of work.

Hardest unloading the 40 foot trailers by hand.
The best was learning how to work all the machinery abd mastering them well.
Pros
Learning new things, working a swing shift
Cons
Cleaning up broken glass, mopping management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment to work
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJuly 19, 2018
I had on sale accounts in the Sacramento area dealing with bars,resturants and liquor stores. Youngs has great product to sale and very easy to sale. Great environment to work.
Pros
schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
where did he jobs go
SALES (Former Employee) –  Kent, WAJuly 18, 2018
the company lost some big suppliers so had to get smaller real quick.
the company had to make layoffs to some of there top performers to make room for people in the office.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very laid back
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Vero Beach, FLJuly 16, 2018
I felt somewhat laidback. We had to stock the shelves, take orders for resturaunts, work the register and learn all the prices of each item. I would sometimes work from morning till night and sometimes would receive pay raises.
Pros
Snacks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was relly nice working at young's market company
Clerk class II (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 13, 2018
i used to scan invoices all day and data enter and ten key.
i used to do anything they want me to do i used to love my job good and be in that company was like another big family
Pros
good reasonable breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pleasent place to work
District Manager-Chains SW Washington (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, WAJuly 10, 2018
Overall a great place to work, every company that I have been associated with there are things that they can do better. In my opinion to many changes in upper management philosophy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Early Hours but make your own schedule
Chain Sales Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  San Mateo, CAJune 20, 2018
Start really early in the morning and work your 8 hours. Going to different accounts that you need to go to as you learn the different schedules of Liquor Managers. You try and get your products into the stores you are selling into. You do get to get creative when making displays and work overtime when needed. My management was positive and willing to help when needed. Had a good experience with Youngs Market.
Pros
Free Lunches and perks
Cons
Early Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Young's Market Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 196 reviews
566
445
358
215
112

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

2.3InHerSight Score

2.3Personal Development

2.2Career Opportunities

2.5Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight