Youngstown State University Employee Reviews

4.3
Overall rating
Based on 129 reviews
Ratings breakdown
563
446
317
22
11
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 128 reviews matching the search See all 129 reviews
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for students!
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHJuly 8, 2018
The CSP is decked out with all kinds of teaching material to help students learn concepts easily. Being a tutor not only helps struggling students, but helps reinforce material to the tutor as well! In addition, it's on campus, so getting to class on time after a session is super easy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee) –  Youngstown, OHJune 20, 2018
Worked as a Graduate Assistant and enjoyed the role.
The most enjoyable part of the job was that I got to help other students that were struggling with the material.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work while being a student
Design Engineer (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHJune 18, 2018
I liked it while being a student but other wise I don't think I'd work for them, they don't pay much and are very unorganized. the professors there are pretty decent.
Pros
relaxed, good professors
Cons
administration
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mainly assists with teaching
Full time student (Former Employee) –  Ward BeecherJune 13, 2018
I worked as a test proctor and assistant with grading and teaching, nothing more. The atmosphere is as it should be, a place of learning. Nothing was hard
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Part time Instructor (Current Employee) –  Youngstown, OHMay 23, 2018
Great place to work. The university always has serving the students and community in their academic lens. Many opportunities for students of any age at YSU.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place for students
Student Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHMay 6, 2018
free food sometimes after events, The entire staff is lovely. Work here. The banana does not go far from the tree. Pay is minimum wage and the staff is literally the best in the world.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching Assistant
Teacher's Assistant - Exercise Physiology (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHApril 6, 2018
As a teaching assistant at YSU, I was in charge of the exercise physiology laboratory. This job was different than many I've ever had before. Instead of working with people directly, I was in charge of creating user manuals, fixing/maintaining lab equipment, updating inventory every semester, and reviewing documents to be published (such as the ACSM). It was a great experience and I highly recommend YSU for employment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lending a Helping Hand
Teachers Assitant (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHMarch 29, 2018
Astronomy can be difficult material to comprehend but being able to help students break down the content into understandable measures to the point where they no longer needed my help made it a great learning experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was taught skills vital to my job and future jobs
YSU Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHMarch 19, 2018
YSU was a great opportunity that I loved very much and it helped me become the person I am today, IU would highly recommend it. They work with you as a student to make sure your education comes first.
Pros
works with students, teaches great skills
Cons
Low pay, low hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Math Instructor (Current Employee) –  Youngstown, OhioMarch 8, 2018
I love teaching at the University. I am always surrounded by supportive, professional people who help me in my personal development.

The culture at the University is terrific. Other teachers, administrators, and others are always willing to help.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
progress with a faster pace.
GRADUATE RESEARCH ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Youngstown, OHFebruary 23, 2018
Lot to learn from everyone, as specially from the guide regarding new techniques and methods for the research project. Come across different faculties and gain as much as experience available.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Counseling Trainee Youngstown (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHFebruary 20, 2018
My typical day was nice. I enjoyed the supervisors. I enjoyed my cohort. I appreciated the technology available to us. Overall I would recommend this job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Appropriate for student work
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHFebruary 17, 2018
Bein that my experience was for a student job, I can say that the university works well to ensure that all students are able to effectively balance their work and academic lives.
Pros
Flexible scheduling
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never Stop Learning
Visiting Professor (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHFebruary 15, 2018
Youngstown State University is a great place to work to share the experience you have learned with those studying to become the workforce. As an instructor, you have freedom to create the class experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assisted in parties and events for the president
Building Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHFebruary 11, 2018
I assisted in parties that the president had either at his house or at the louge for football games.We were responsible for making sure people were comfortable and talking to guests.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate Assistant
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHFebruary 6, 2018
Worked as assistant to professor in exchange for tuition reimbursement and a stipend. Mostly assisted with research projects. Also helped plan events with other Grad assistants.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for a student worker
Information Technology Intern (Current Employee) –  Youngstown, OHFebruary 5, 2018
It was easy to schedule hours because it worked around my class schedule. I was able to network with a lot of people and learn a lot of different skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great atmosphere willing to work around my schoolschedule
Chef (Former Employee) –  Youngstown, OHFebruary 4, 2018
no typical days
Learned how to work with and manage others
Management was excellent
Fluent culture
Hardest part heavy production days
working with other most enjoyable
Pros
30 minute lunchbreak
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm environment
Mathematics Tutor (Current Employee) –  Youngstown, OHJanuary 28, 2018
Part time job while attending school. The position mainly serves as a way to make money so I can pay bills while attending classes. My coworkers are great but it doesn't provide the experience I need for my major in Mechanical Engineering.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool and fun environment to work.
TEACHING ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Youngstown, OHJanuary 24, 2018
Being an international students, Youngstown State university made me feel at home. With the graduate teaching assistantship, I have developed individually and professionally.
Pros
graduate assistantship, that paid my school fees, rent, bills and also shopping.
Cons
none.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Youngstown State University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

3.2InHerSight Score

3.4Personal Development

3.1Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Youngstown State University Reviews by Location