YRC Freight Employee Reviews

Found 900 reviews matching the search See all 919 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every day expect harassment!
Truck Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKOctober 17, 2018
This place is a running joke and so is the union that is supposed to protect you from harrasment!if you are a decent mechanic I would advise to stay away!don't waste your time with this company and their worthless managment that don't know how to talk and treat people with degnity and respect!they will threaten and harrass you till no end!some co-workers are cut throat while they smile and lie to your face!managment is worse!!
Pros
Paid lunch that you are harassed while on it.
Cons
Managment!, cant just do your job!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
teamsters local 745
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXOctober 17, 2018
teamsters 745 is the only reason i stayed yrc it self made promises it didnt keep and layed us all off right before my driver training date and i very much wanted to drive for yellow 100% insurance was the main reason
Pros
teamsters
Cons
lay off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production Standard in a Union Environment
Office Manager (Current Employee) –  Tracy, CAOctober 15, 2018
When there is no production standard for union workers it makes it challenging to meet production goals on the management side. Labor does not have expectations in a contract to perform their job. The management side runs by production goals. The two do not come together for a team effort.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive working environment
Regional Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZOctober 14, 2018
YRC was a very structured organization. A typical work day would consist of working sales leads, Implementing pricing programs for continuing and new customers. As well, building the business and relationships were key components of the day-to-day operation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No
Dock Worker (Former Employee) –  Sauk Village, ILOctober 11, 2018
i Started off Enjoying the job Then Management Strating getting A Nasty Attitude and Disresectful iWAS A Temp Hire and When it was Time for Me to Go Full Time Superviser got Rid of you.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a diferent place to work
Night Custodian (Former Employee) –  Aurora, COOctober 10, 2018
the job was challenging due to the amount of work that was needed to get done and the lack of fund to fix that which was broken. There were a mix bag of people that work there.
Pros
freedum to do what i needed to
Cons
political incorrect
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Casual Dock Worker (Current Employee) –  Carlisle, PAOctober 7, 2018
I still work at this location, great job due to the flexibility and helpful managers. I would recommend this job to anyone who wants a fun interactive job.
Pros
fun, low stress
Cons
not enough hours at times
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Truck driver local
P/D DRIVER (Current Employee) –  Pico Rivera, CAOctober 6, 2018
Nice people
Nice routes
Good benefits
Long term career
Good dispatch
Free safty vest
Nice location off freeway
New pay scale coming in jan.
Union back up
Pros
Overtime on sat
Cons
Need new trucks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yellow is a Union company and they provide excellence benefits and pay. (*Teamsters Union)
(OTR) over the road driver. (Former Employee) –  Marietta, GAOctober 5, 2018
I was an (OTR) over the road driver. I drove all 48 states.
we had lay downs , bid runs and extra runs. it is all based on how long you where with the company.
Pros
Good money
Cons
Gone from home for long periods of time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst part time dock worker job a complete waste of time
Part Time Employee (Former Employee) –  MichiganOctober 3, 2018
Part time Dock workers are treated like dirt yrc is one of the lowest paying docks poor training about the only training you get is a few videos and 5 minutes on the dock iam a veteran dock worker for many years and i have never seen a dock run so poorly and unsafe if you are looking for part time job i suggest fedex yrc is a waste of time.
Pros
None
Cons
Where to begin
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Overland Park, KSSeptember 25, 2018
Good company with a lot of upside potential, still working their way out of past decisions that cost market share and wallet, strong new leadership that has strong potential for future. Needs young new smart talent willing to take some hits along the way.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the work.
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Aurora, CO 80011September 23, 2018
This was a union job, Got along with all the other mechanics. Benefits were good, Got a little tense sometimes. Hardest part was the heat in summer and cold in winter.
Pros
Health insurance paid in full.
Cons
No pension
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to get work experience
Driver (Current Employee) –  Memphis, TNSeptember 16, 2018
I learned a lot about handling freight, taking care of my customers and communicating with management. I met some very interesting people. I have enjoyed my time at YRC now it’s time to move on.
Pros
Get the work experience
Cons
Move onto better paying job
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I have ever worked
Dock Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 11, 2018
They lie to you about your schedule and change it on you when the see fit regardless of your life. The branch manager is horrible and the worst manager that I have ever worked for in my life. This place will be out of business with in five years and is being run into the ground by the management and the union.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Customer Support Analyst IV (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHSeptember 6, 2018
Poor management, lousy management, horrible management, worthless management, dishonest management, stupid management and all around horrendous management.
Pros
nothing
Cons
see above
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stuck on night shifts
Dock Worker (Former Employee) –  Portland, ORSeptember 5, 2018
You will be stuck on night shifts until the majority of the senior union workers retire.

Most co workers are fine but there are a few narcissists on some shifts, that if you are paired with, you will have to deal with since they view nearly everyone else as useless.

The direct management is ok once you get to know them, all but one of the uppers will condescend to you and give you a fake front.

People come and go often here, they try to hold you to scans per hour to be hired permanently, But once on, you will see that many workers do the bare minimum and there are ways to cheat the scan system so that it looks like you are doing far more than you are.
Pros
It's a stable job
Cons
Hostile narcissists on some crews
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 2, 2018
Great company to work for. company paid insurance. a lot of paid time off.... I would recommend this company to any mechanic.... it is a low stress and relaxed work inviorment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
Docker worker (Former Employee) –  Maybrook, NYAugust 30, 2018
It was a good job just the on call thing sucks and they will fire u before ur probation is so they don't have to put u in the union it happened to my cousin
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place of employment
City Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Pico Rivera, CAAugust 28, 2018
Responsible for planning, organizing, directing, controlling, and overseeing the daily operation
of the terminal. This includes: shipping, receiving, inventory, hiring, managing of personnel and dispatchers, responding to high volume of email correspondence and telephone inquiries about shipment status. Providing excellent customer service and establish partnership with our clients. Implement strategies, policies, and procedures to reduce supply costs while ensuring best possible quality.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDAugust 27, 2018
Learned most of my management skills at this job. Great managers taught the business well. Worked in all weather conditions and became a great manager because of it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at YRC Freight. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 919 reviews
5213
4214
3240
2131
1121

See reviews about

3.0Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.0Culture

Ratings from women

2.0InHerSight Score

1.8Personal Development

2.4Career Opportunities

2.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight