ZEISS Group Employee Reviews

Found 128 reviews matching the search See all 244 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Industry Leader
Field Service Engineer (Former Employee) –  Thornwood, NYSeptember 12, 2018
Zeiss has been an industry leader in the field of microscopy and always will be. The have a great research team and are always one step ahead of the competition.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Florence, KYAugust 13, 2018
good place to work i loved the people and the managers paid great as long as you was there everday you had your job if i could go back i would and it was very easy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company with excellent people working there
Product Specialist, Advanced Imaging Microscopy (Former Employee) –  Thornwood, NYAugust 9, 2018
I think Zeiss USA was a great company, based around technology and helping customers do great work in the lab and the clinic. I enjoyed the people and the work, but in the end it was not what I wanted to do with my career.
Pros
Travel, good people
Cons
Salary was tied to commissions and that was hard for applications specialists such as me.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management ruins company
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dublin, CA 94568August 8, 2018
worked very hard and long hours, however if you complain about management they get rid of you. they have half of the employees working there as temporary status, this way if they don't agree with your opinion, your gone.
Pros
good money
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average work
MANAGER OF ORDER ADMINISTRATION (Current Employee) –  Dublin, CAAugust 3, 2018
Was going through a transition and was not a healthy environment and management was not clear on direction.


People were leaving and direction unclear
Pros
Cloase to home
Cons
Management was not supported
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clincal Applications Specialist
Clinical Applications Specialist contractor (Former Employee) –  Dublin, CAJuly 18, 2018
I enjoyed the mixture of remote work as well as traveling for the on site trainings. I was able to make my own schedule for the on site trainings. I had an abundance of company meetings that focused on continuing education.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Accounts Payable Specialist Lead (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 19, 2018
Zeiss has a great benefits and compensation package. A typical day at Zeiss go by very fast as we process a high amount of invoices. The management team keeps an open door policy.
Pros
Enjoyable place to work
Cons
Could provide more training when starting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard then work harder
Senior Enterprise account manager (Former Employee) –  Dublin, CAJune 13, 2018
People that work get more work while people that don't work get excuses made for them by management. You can go here and skate and not pull your weight and you will do fine.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Director of Manufacturing (Former Employee) –  Maple Grove, MNMay 22, 2018
There are many meetings, the company has great benefits. It is a place where there should be opportunities to advance for the right person. Focused on strong company culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable company, job security, lower wages
Enterprise Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Dublin, CAMay 16, 2018
Stable company, job security, lower wages. Good work environment with ample room for growth. German headquarters with offices throughout the world. good place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Lot of Disappointed Employees
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Maple Grove, MNMay 16, 2018
Zeiss local management is able to blame all problems on the German HQ so it completely lacks accountability. They emphasize the brand and quality but if the Company is not putting the necessary priority (money) into roles and processes that will provide real customer support and sustainable growth it will continue to make empty promises.

The company was doing very well and growing but without putting more into realistic staffing in key roles, Field Service, IT, Data Mgmt, Logistics, Finance, employees are set up to fail. They say customer service is the focus but clearly that is not true for upper management. They also think they are treating employees well but when you do not acknowledge and support the necessary changes you are patronizing and treating employees as numbers only.
Pros
Depends on your role
Cons
Understaffed where it matters
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with great employees
Accounting Intern (Former Employee) –  Maple Grove, MNMay 14, 2018
My work experience at Carl Zeiss was very beneficial to my education. In my first summer working there, my skills involving Excel improved through the ongoing help of my coworkers. Carl Zeiss provided a productive and open workplace where I felt comfortable and welcome each and every day.
Pros
Donuts provided on pay day.
Cons
Short breaks provided for interns.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expectation were very high
Design Lead (Current Employee) –  Novi, MIMay 14, 2018
The amount of hours required tonwork far exceeded a normal work week. Being salary you would think between 40-50 but the expectation was much higher and it definitely cut into family time. People were still waiting to hear if raises were coming 7 months after they are usually awarded. As of today nobody has received word of increases
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Way too many hours expected of employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Workplace
CMM Operator/Calypso Programmer (Current Employee) –  Novi, MI 48377May 1, 2018
The company itself is good. Pays well and gives employees good benefits. I am a contracted employee however and don't receive either. This is only a part time job for me while I advance in other places.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people great job
Assembler - electro mechanical devices (Former Employee) –  Dublin, CAApril 19, 2018
If I had a chance to go back I would go in a hart beat.Great work life balance.great Co workers every one worked together as a team.I learned a lot of Sub. ASSY. work I learn a hole lot more there.The place is just a great place to work.
Pros
Good food, Good weekly meetings.
Cons
No bennies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun job with lots of travel
Field Service Engineer (Former Employee) –  Maple Grove, MNMarch 28, 2018
it was a fun job with constant travel. the pay was good, but traveling constantly costs more also. i love traveling but i lived in hotels 4-6 nights a week. My schedule changed constantly and i never knew from one week to the next where i would be going.
Pros
travel
Cons
travel all alone
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good German company to work for US divisions still lack employee focus.
Sr. Sales Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Dublin, CAMarch 19, 2018
A typical day is fast paced putting out fires trying to focus on customer satisfaction.
The opportunity to learn is available but the management rarely helps employees to progress in their career.
Talk about job/life balance abounds but this hasn't reached to the US divisions yet.
The most enjoyable part of the job is how the products touch and change peoples lives in a positive way.
Pros
Best products in the medical field
Cons
lack of employee care.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not Ok with this.
Technical Support Representative I (Current Employee) –  Dublin, CAMarch 2, 2018
I am not comfortable with writing a review of my current employer.
We have strict policy on speaking negative or positive about the company publicly.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
xxxx
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away if you can
Worker (Current Employee) –  NYFebruary 28, 2018
Tough company to work for, only the executives are paid and taken care of. Everyone else is just pawn in there game. But if you need experience, they take almost anyone
Pros
not much
Cons
over bearing hours, low wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Systems Engineer (Former Employee) –  Chester, VAJanuary 30, 2018
Systems Engineer
Project management, Design, installation and maintenance for anti-reflective coating optical labs.
• Designed and implemented the procedures for a fully functional A/R coating process through organizing and scheduling contractor’s meetings prior to the onsite assessment and design of class 10 clean room optical labs in a national arena.
• Performed final equipment installation, start-up and training; completing a turn key operation crucial to deadline demands for our partner lab’s client base.
• Maintained, troubleshot and repaired equipment associated with the anti-reflective coating process via onsite and help-desk scenarios.
• Modified software parameters to maximize efficiency of the coating process, while minimizing product loss.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ZEISS Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 244 reviews
568
477
365
219
115

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture